George and the Dragon (Dragon Sword) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

George and the Dragon (Dragon Sword) Reviews

Page 1 of 10
August 9, 2018
I very much enjoyed this one. The CGI isn't the best, but it still is very entertaining. It's very down to earth, accept for the dragon, but no magic, which is nice.
½ June 21, 2014
Goofy fun. Clean, silly, but doesn't take itself too seriously. Okay to watch with the family, but not made just for the kids. Not great cinema, but fun to watch.
April 20, 2014
Aside from the rubbish story and script this does have a largely famous walk on cast and a mixture of highs and lows.
½ June 1, 2013
Cute, slightly tongue-in-cheek, but clean enough for kids and parents version of the Saint George and the Dragon story. This film was certainly better than Disney's Dragonslayer that I took my son to way back when and was horrified that what was touted as a kid's movie was so grisly and the princess was eaten! They actually showed her chewed off legs! But this movie was just fun for everybody. Very Enjoyable.
½ February 24, 2013
I've seen this!! It's HORRIBLE. Tragical, really. Piper Perabo is a princess? And Val Kilmer is in it...but uncredited. He didn't want to be associated with it, I guess.
½ February 4, 2013
You've seen it all, heard it all, but at least the cast is good.
½ October 4, 2012
Couple of funny moments but with the good cast in this not good enough.
½ April 9, 2012
Starts quite interesting with charming James Purefoy, but when the princess arrives it turns pretty dull with campy dialogues and fake CGI-dragons. George the Dragon-Slayer becomes a WWF-activist and the dragon is transformed into the monster of Loch Ness.
January 18, 2012
Entertaining tale about the king's daughter and a dragon. This is basically a comedy but it does not get too carried away. I enjoyed it. This movies does not have any wizards or other such characters in it. Its basically an Old English knights and dragons type of tale. I thought it was well done and not too cheesy. Its a step above a made for TV flick.
½ December 11, 2011
I liked it. George was awesome.
December 8, 2011
Definitely was not expecting to like this film as much as I did. It's cheesy and it has its flaws, but it's quirky and fun - something the whole family can enjoy. Particularly liked the end-credits with the hilarious blooper reel.
December 2, 2011
This began incoherently; it seemed to be a series of vignettes that had little connection. As it went on, it came together pretty well. The dragons were awesome, but there was not enough of them in the movie. The acting is barely decent - Swayze overplays it hugely, Perabo looks great but lacks presence. It appears the director didn't know what effect he was looking for, campy fantasy or action with a fantasy backdrop. He wound up throwing everything at the wall and went with whatever stuck. Not great by a long stretch, but it was worth the watch by the time it ended.
October 27, 2011
lots of fun, and surprisingly heaps of stars :)
August 7, 2011
I loved this movie! It was charming and funny. I would love to see more movies like this...
July 30, 2011
i thought this was a very cute movie i loved george
June 25, 2011
As silly and poorly made as this movie was, I have to admit that I got kiddish delight out of it.
½ May 3, 2011
I think this is a fantastic movie. Its right up there with The Princess Bride and Robin Hood Men in Tights... HILARIOUS!!
July 29, 2010
A great film! Ella loved it to.
½ July 20, 2010
I enjoyed this movie very much. The acting is great and one of my favorites that I enjoy watching often. No disrespect to Mr. Swayzee, but Mr. Purejoy is the star in this wonderful saturday or sunday leasuire time classic. Michael Clarke Duncan is quite funny although he's still a heavy. Good family fare and a great cast. Kudo's on this fun.
½ July 20, 2010
[font=Comic Sans MS][size=4]This wasn't a good movie. It was cheaply made. And the acting was campy. When I saw that it didn't get very good reviews, I still gave it a try. I will have to agree with the rest. Live and learn.[/size][/font]
[font=Comic Sans MS][size=4]Donna A.[/size][/font]
Page 1 of 10