Friday Night Lights - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Friday Night Lights Reviews

Page 2 of 372
April 19, 2016
Billy Bob Thornton is excellent in this. When playing the manager of a sports team it is much easier to go down the drill instructor route and start screaming and shouting. Thornton is mostly calm and calculated but when he does dish it out he let's em have it. A terrific performance. I know nothing about American Egg Chasing but the action sequences looked great and it has a solid soundtrack.
February 22, 2016
Never before has the roller-coaster of raw emotion that is high school sports been captured so accurately on screen. The cast all gives excellent and convincing performances, the plot is realistic and often surprisingly thought-provoking. It all adds up to a heart-wrenching finish that genuinely brought tears to my eyes, something pretty rare for me. This is the greatest football movie ever made, and yes it's even better than Remember the Titans.
January 30, 2016
"I give it a 10 a fucking 10!!"
½ January 11, 2016
Well acted and emotional, FNL is the hardhitting, serious football film audiences have always wished Disney would make, but knew they couldn't. Thorton does a good acting job here, and the film accurately captures the insane pressure a non-industrial town can put on its local high-school football team. The strong southern twang in the dialogue got a bit exhausting for me though.
December 24, 2015
good movie with a nice story. lots of good montages and intense scenes. really shows the love of football. some emotional parts as well, although I thought some of the side stories were unnecessary like the crazy mom (1 viewing)
½ December 15, 2015
There's some wonderful material in the book this film is based on but the movie is mainly interested in showing football games, something Bissinger's well-written book mostly avoided in favour of much more interesting sociological analysis of small town Texas life.
November 9, 2015
Enjoyed the quasi-documentary style filming. A real slice of life.
October 10, 2015
Exciting, Well-Acted, and the drama works. Friday Night Lights will please both Football fans and drama-lovers cause this is a fantastic film that everybody SHOULD see.
September 30, 2015
I've seen probably 99% of all the sports movie ever made. This is probably the best one I've ever watched.
½ August 31, 2015
Football is a way of life in the small town of Odessa. Friday Night Lights honestly depicts the brutality, heartbreak, joy, passion and love of the game from the team players, coaches, their families and their communities.
August 23, 2015
Loved the book in hs and was excited when it hit big screen. Much inaccuracies drains all the goodness for me. Typical Hollywood would do that.
August 6, 2015
Works as a sports movie and as a drama.....you do not need to be a sports fan to enjoy this well made film.
June 12, 2015
Excellent! Peter Berg's gritty sports drama is powerfully made and features a tremendous performance from Billy Bob Thornton.
½ June 4, 2015
I have still not yet watched the ending so my rating isnt finished
½ May 22, 2015
Second time watching this. About the same as the first time. Good character development, solid cast, makes football seem like the greatest sport ever. The final showdown for the championship is portrayed just like the Superbowl. One thing I particularly like is how they go through bad times and get screwed over; it's not just another bland feel-good plotline. Definitely a good weekend movie.
½ April 19, 2015
Emotional and inspiring. Friday Night Lights is a great sports movie that has a lot to offer. Definitely one of my favorites
February 11, 2015
One of the better sports movies of our generation.
February 8, 2015
This is without a doubt in my mind the greatest sports movie ever made. I know a lot of people will say "Remember the Titans" is the best sports movie and I will agree on that, but there is something about "Friday Night Lights" that just sticks out when you watch it. It's a very emotional, engaging and very straight forward football movie that tells it for what it really is and that is why I love this movie. And it's mostly due to the fact that Billy Bob Thorton is so good as the coach of the Odessa, Texas, high school football team the Permian High Panthers. "Can you be perfect?" That's the question Billy Bob asks his players in the middle of preseason training. That they are in the business of protecting their town and that they will, WILL make the state playoffs...and win! The confidence and the pressure hits you automatically when Billy Bob delivers that speech to his team out in the football field that beautiful afternoon just before the season kicks off and all the media is their watching, studying every player because in Texas, football is life. It's more than life, it's a religion. To not be able to play football in that Texas town is the greatest sin known to man if you did not participate in that great sport that they endure so much. It's just crazy to think how much that state is obsessed with football and that it is important, no I'm sorry, it is REQUIRED that you win state and get that fancy ring that pretty much everyman in Texas wears on their finger because that team is proud and defensive of the fact that they are the perfect football team. The scene that really sticks out to me is when Bill Bob is coming out of the flee market with his wife and daughter and as they are crossing over to the parking lot towards their car they are stopped by two Texas gentlemen, both who are heavily invested in their team and literally inform Billy BoB to just go out their and get it done, and by that I mean WIN. Billy Bob then tells the two that he knows what they are saying and that he wants it just as bad as they all due, but tries to point out that the team they are up against for the championship which is the Dallas Carter football team are literally some big and tough fellas, no joke. But then the driver with the mustache and cowboys hat says to him "Yea, well...we're a pretty tough team too couch." That just says it all that they are not intimidated and will not take no for an answer so just go get it done because they then inform him when Billy Bob speaks up and says "Or else what?" They are almost dumfounded when he says that and just say back to him "Or else what? I mean, that would look pretty bad for you coach so just get it done alright?" You can see they are not a team that takes losing lightly and the pressure Billy Bob is facing with that I can only begin to imagine how extreme it must be to be the head coach of that Texas town. What really strikes me too is the score for the film, it really hits your heart listening to it as it just sounds so beautiful listening to it that you want to go out on get the soundtrack for it as it fits perfectly with the movie. I am by no means a huge sports fan, in fact I am not a sports fan at all. I am the guy that drifts while watching sports because I just can never connect with them the way I do with movies and that's okay, I've excepted that. But it doesn't mean I know a good sports movie when I see one.
February 8, 2015
This is without a doubt in my mind the greatest sports movie ever made. I know a lot of people will say "Remember the Titans" is the best sports movie and I will agree on that, but there is something about "Friday Night Lights" that just sticks out when you watch it. It's a very emotional, engaging and very straight forward football movie that tells it for what it really is and that is why I love this movie. And it's mostly due to the fact that Billy Bob Thorton is so good as the coach of the Odessa, Texas, high school football team the Permian High Panthers. "Can you be perfect?" That's the question Billy Bob asks his players in the middle of preseason training. That they are in the business of protecting their town and that they will, WILL make the state playoffs...and win! The confidence and the pressure hits you automatically when Billy Bob delivers that speech to his team out in the football field that beautiful afternoon just before the season kicks off and all the media is their watching, studying every player because in Texas, football is life. It's more than life, it's a religion. To not be able to play football in that Texas town is the greatest sin known to man if you did not participate in that great sport that they endure so much. It's just crazy to think how much that state is obsessed with football and that it is important, no I'm sorry, it is REQUIRED that you win state and get that fancy ring that pretty much everyman in Texas wears on their finger because that team is proud and defensive of the fact that they are the perfect football team. The scene that really sticks out to me is when Bill Bob is coming out of the flee market with his wife and daughter and as they are crossing over to the parking lot towards their car they are stopped by two Texas gentlemen, both who are heavily invested in their team and literally inform Billy BoB to just go out their and get it done, and by that I mean WIN. Billy Bob then tells the two that he knows what they are saying and that he wants it just as bad as they all due, but tries to point out that the team they are up against for the championship which is the Dallas Carter football team are literally some big and tough fellas, no joke. But then the driver with the mustache and cowboys hat says to him "Yea, well...we're a pretty tough team too couch." That just says it all that they are not intimidated and will not take no for an answer so just go get it done because they then inform him when Billy Bob speaks up and says "Or else what?" They are almost dumfounded when he says that and just say back to him "Or else what? I mean, that would look pretty bad for you coach so just get it done alright?" You can see they are not a team that takes losing lightly and the pressure Billy Bob is facing with that I can only begin to imagine how extreme it must be to be the head coach of that Texas town. What really strikes me too is the score for the film, it really hits your heart listening to it as it just sounds so beautiful listening to it that you want to go out on get the soundtrack for it as it fits perfectly with the movie. I am by no means a huge sports fan, in fact I am not a sports fan at all. I am the guy that drifts while watching sports because I just can never connect with them the way I do with movies and that's okay, I've excepted that. But it doesn't mean I know a good sports movie when I see one.
February 4, 2015
'Friday Night Lights' rightly tackles a true part of US sport culture by showing the pressure placed on a high school American football team by community supporters and family members. To a less effective extent, it also emphasises how pursuing a career in the sport is the only way of escaping this economically-limited town for the majority of these boys. Consequently, the best bits aren't the clichéd on-field action or reinforcement of team spirit but rather the dynamic between a player and his parent or the coach and opinionated fans. Despite this, the film is still formulaic while the personalities of the players and coaches are too plain, making it harder to enjoy than most other sports movies. Whether it'll be the correct pick for you will depend heavily on how much you like American Football.
Page 2 of 372