Hokuto no ken (Fist of the North Star) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hokuto no ken (Fist of the North Star) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
March 29, 2019
"Fist Of The North Star: The Movie" is a boring and bland piece of anime cinema. The original show "Fist Of The North Star" was much better than this. The animation is dazzling though.
½ July 31, 2015
This film is as insanely violent as it is fun and engaging. At face value, it's essentially a hyperviolent martial arts film in a Mad Max setting, and as it turns out this a great setting for a film like this. However, there's not a lot about the story that's explained after the beginning the film, and so much of the film's events don't make much sense. The characters, for the most part, tend to be more impressive because of what they do in the film than for their performances, which is good considering the English dub leaves much to be desired. Despite the mediocre English dub, there are times where the characters make a real impression. The animation, though technically outdated, is still very much a spectacle, especially when it comes to the film's many violent action scenes, themselves a kind of brutal display of energy and vitality. The violence is perhaps the film's big selling point. If it weren't for the film's extremely energetic fight scenes, this film would be truly awful, because it's those fight scenes that are invigorating as well as entertaining (unless you're the easily disturbed type). In spite of its flaws, it's a very satisfying film from beginning to end.
July 31, 2015
Ladies and gentlemen, I think I'm in love. Few movies can make me feel as energized as I did with this movie. It's a movie that keeps getting better and more exciting as it goes, you almost think this movie is one gigantic trail of death and destruction and you are made to feel privileged to sit back and watch. The narrative is fantastic, and the driving theme at the beginning really aids my immersion into the experience. The film ends spectacularly as well, and in a very special way that I would never expect a film like this to end. This movie was an amazing experience, one that made me feel extremely young and that's something I swear many films don't do for me.
April 28, 2015
Gold (if you are into this type of stuff). A weak ending is perhaps the only real flaw in an epic and stark retelling of the tv series.
February 11, 2015
I know the nostalgia in me makes this movie rate higher than it might should be... But damb. This is a great, straight-up violence animation. great limit pushing, unique heros and villains, lots and lots of gore. And that ending! Like, that ending...
½ June 27, 2014
A great film... If your thing is heads bursting into intricate fountains of blood...
½ January 1, 2014
Over the top in only all of the best ways. Plenty of exploding heads and sprays of neon red blood. The epitome of fighting anime, in my mind. Kinda long, but still very fun to watch. The movie is a bit dated, but you could call it old school and it wouldn't be too far from the truth.
November 5, 2013
The first film adaptation of the awesome anime/manga series of the same name. Even though it's a condensed version of a slight chunk from the series and there are the exclusions of important characters in the series like Toki (Raoh's biological brother who aids Kenshiro), the film is over the top, violent, and enjoyable at the same time. The English dub is alright, but the original Japanese audio is pretty entertaining to listen to if you are a hardcore fan of the series.
½ September 7, 2013
I'm not sure how to describe this movie. It left me with so many questions. The ending was... different...
August 15, 2013
This is mandatory viewing whether you like anime or not. Straightforward storyline, nonstop action and enough blood and gore to please any gorehound. Basically the entire series condensed into a two hour film. 100% entetainment value from beginning to end!
May 11, 2013
I"d say for Japanimation this is a solid 3 star effort.
½ April 22, 2013
Hilariously overboard, totally brainless violence fest.
October 7, 2012
Although the animation looks rough and is rather meager, and the english dub leaves a lot to be desired, Fist of the North Star attracts with its fascinating storyline about a post-apocalyptic universe, where people survive on the basis of the old-fashioned 'survival of the fittest' mode. The film shows a well-drafted adventure of a man named Kenshiro, as he travels through the destroyed Earth in search for his beloved fiancee, seeking both revenge and redemption. Along the road he meets a lot of thugs, most of them being his relatives or former friends. Fighting his way through, he becomes closer to gaining what's been longing for all along. Although the film's graphic violence and many brutal scenes might not appeal to the younger audience, it's an animated hit that most of the film geeks should see at least once.
June 9, 2012
weird as shit!!! I liked the live action one way more.
May 4, 2012
Classic, seen it many times b4.
April 3, 2012
Based on the animated series of the same name. produced in Japan as a comic strip (manga) then an anime series that debuted in 1984.

A movie that is no doubt showing its age by now, but at the time was somewhat cutting edge. Not at all for the weak at heart or even your average anime fan. (otaku) The film made its mark for sure and certainly should not be forgotten. The animation conisists mainly of blocky oversized men and emphasized lightning / energy effects, beyond most people's comprehension. The story fails to explain the extremeness of each charactetrs talents, and the source of their power. As with other anime, alot is left to the viewers imagination and confusing turn of events cause disinterest. If ass kicking animation is your thing, than this should really get your blood pumping. It serves up a heavy dosage of fist to face action and nonstop intensity. The major point of interest in a movie such as this should be the main characters struggle against the odds, but every encouter proves to be too short lived and simplistic to really encourage the viewer to keep watching.Old school and hardcore to the bone.

This attempts to summarize the events of the series. However, several important characters and events from the story are missing. The film goes further than the anime in terms of nsane violence and intense gore. Witness one of the most brutal and mature animations ever created. A tragic tale of human survival, dramatic and powerful. Kung Fu enthusiasts rejoice, for this is your anthem.
February 28, 2012
When a nuclear winter descends on the entire planet, the last survivors of humanity forage the globe in search of food, fuel and fisticuffs, not necessarily in that order. In fact, any yearning for the first two items on the list only seems to exist so these last men standing have a reason to throw down. With a grand total of three body types in play (child, inconceivably muscular and, in just one instance, morbidly obese) there's clearly a distinct appearance that's best suited for surviving an apocalypse, and on the surface it would appear that we're walking into a series of evenly-matched competitions. But that's when the Dragon Ball Z-styled aural superpowers kick in, and the mass of limbs begin their lazy, bloody, individual arcs through the sky. There's very little substance to this story - really, it's just a nonstop barrage of enemies against differing backdrops a'la the fighting games of the mid '90s - so it's good news that the battles are at least viscerally entertaining. Gorier than Mortal Kombat with the blood set to high, it's amusing at best if not terribly consequential.
½ January 2, 2012
Amazing movie! Great animation and a solid script help make this movie a worthy adaptation of the famed Japanese manga series. This movie is so well-made that one can see it without any prior knowledge of the series and still be enthralled with the story.
December 26, 2011
One of the greatest movies/anime ever made.
½ December 12, 2011
The outrageous violence was the only thing that kept me interested in this laughable sleeper.
Page 1 of 3