Eye of the Tiger - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Eye of the Tiger Reviews

Page 2 of 3
½ October 18, 2009
Out of prison for a crime he didn't commit, a man returns home and seeks vengenace on a biker gang (another one led by Will Smith) after his home is murderously violated. Hit Survivor song of the same title proves a winner again in film.
½ September 3, 2009
Determined as hell to keep Survivor's Eye of the Tiger still in the minds of people everywhere in the 80's, someone must've concocted the idea of making a movie entitled Eye of the Tiger which has ZERO meaning towards the film, yet they are able to use the Survivor song as many times as they want to within it. Disregarding this potential and retarded fact, the movie itself is actually a decent watch. Gary Busey plays Buck, a former Vietnam vet/prison inmate who has finally been released and heads back to his town home town to be with his wife and 3-year-old daughter (hmm, not sure how that happens since he serves 10 years in maximum security). Buck soon realizes that the town is overrun with crazed motorcyclists who run drugs throughout the surrounding desert borders. To make matters worse, the Sheriff (Seymour Cassel in a rather villainous role) helps the bikers and takes bribes. When Buck chases them off before they can rape a girl, the gang sets their sights on him and destroy his home and family, leaving him to seek vengeance, vigilante style! The movie is standard meat and potatoes action fare, and it pretty much gets the job done. Gary Busey is always fun to watch, as are Cassel and Yaphet Kotto who plays Busey's best friend. There's a lot of good material missing from this film, like the established bond Busey shares with a fellow released inmate or the incident that had Busey wrongfully sentences to jail, that I would have liked to have actually seen rather than been told. The action and violence is decent, though there are some surprises that I enjoyed and didn't see coming like a particularly bloody decapitation, or an interrogation involving dynamite, Vaseline, and the anus. All in all, Eye of the Tiger is a fairly good movie. I would have liked it to have a better name though.
August 26, 2009
There are so many great things in this movie, I don't know where to start. Busey's bingo hall speech, the stick of dynamite up the a-hole, Yaphet Kotto as the Red Baron, Seymour Cassel's haircut, the Cubans, the Jimmy Buffet sheriff. . . the list goes on. The crazy Busey factor starts low but ends sky high.

"I'm praying for vengeance, Father!"
½ August 19, 2009
A low budget baked potato buttered in idiocy and covered with awesome chives. Busey gives a toothy performance playing both a vietnam veteran and an ex-con fresh out of prison (double the hardass, double the fun) looking for some motherfucking vengeance. Why you ask? A goddamn filthy dirtbike gang not only put his young daughter in the hospital (to be watched carefully by a creepy bald guy in a jumpsuit) but they apparently bike fucked his wife to death. I still don't really understand how she died. It's a complete clusterfuck for sure, inconsistencies and general holes could be easily pointed at the low budget. But why even think about that kind of shit when Yaphet Kotto is throwing grenades at the dirtbike gang from an airplane. If you named a movie after a song, expect to hear said song at least three times. That sort of thing would bug me if it was any other song but EOTT is one of the raddest fucking songs of all time, take out that lame eighties score and just play Eye of the Tiger on a loop. I didn't even mention Busey's badass James Bond truck with machine guns and mortars that he unleashes on the dirtbike gang's hideout. You get about twenty minutes of gratuitous explosions, fine by me, and Busey knees the weaselly corrupt cop played by Seymour Cassel in his traitor balls which is a oh-yeah fistpump moment. He then meets the leader of the gang Blade and they have it out with fists, you feel every single fucking punch. Busey also impresses with an empassioned monologue in a bingo hall calling out all those pussies who let the dirtbikers have their way with the town he loved oh so much. It's all kinds of terrible but I enjoyed every minute.
May 10, 2009
gary busey's rules! in this made-by-made-for old white people action flick, gary busy bores the hell out of audiences as he interrupts bingo games and poses as a doctor to find his daughter. i must admit i was kinda creeped out when he gave the comatose little girl a kiss on the cheek. why am i still watching this movie!? he just killed a guy in the hospital.
January 16, 2009
It sucks. The screenplay is swiss cheese. Sound editing is wretched. But Busey never looked better.
December 14, 2008
Fantastic action film with badass bikers, motorcycllist wire decapitation and a compound battle finale where barrels and tents explode all over the place.
½ June 12, 2008
Nasty bikers terrorise a backwater town until Busey unleashes terrible fiery destruction upon them, using mortars, an armoured car and Yaphet Kotto to batter them into submission. I'm sure this film was born out of the scenes of violence engendered in Richard Sarafian's head when he heard the song by Survivor...
½ April 1, 2008
Im giving this movie -corny as it was -3 1/2 stars for gore lol. All in all, it was a pretty good formula movie, methought lol
March 28, 2008
Pretty cool flick. Can't believe I overlooked it until now! Its a little too downbeat to praise as a goofy camp classic, but its still a fun way to spend 92 minutes. Yaphet Kotto rules in it.
March 24, 2008
Two stars for extreme silliness. Thats the good part.
March 20, 2008
I can only say one word to describe this film: Wretched. Bad writing and worse acting plague this entire movie. I like my Gary Busey non coherent and deranged.
½ March 18, 2008
I didn't like this film.
January 22, 2008
are you saying the eye of the tiger movie is an 18
January 17, 2008
I have this at home on VHS and its actually pretty good. Im a huge fan of any 80's action or Vietnam themed movies because usually they are action packed and this is up there with them, if a little cheesy. But the common theme of revenge is universally appealing so its great to see Vietnam vet Gary Busey snap and go nuts on a gang of drug dealing bikers when they murder his wife. Yaphet Kotto (The Running Man) plays his friend who helps him in his war against the bikers.
December 15, 2007
Gary Busey stars in this film. That's pretty much all I should need to say. Busey plays a Vietnam vet who just got out of jail after being framed by the sheriff. Think you know what's coming? Yep, revenge film. Oh, but early in the film Busey stops a bike gang that rides dirtbikes and runs drugs from raping a girl. Then the sheriff tries to get him in trouble for acting outside the law. Yep, this is a vigilante justice film now and Charles Bronson would be proud. At one point, Busey sets up piano wire or something across the street and the bikers ride into it and it slices one biker's head off. The blood in this film is also bright red and looks like paint. Did I mention Busey drives a Dodge Ram Charger? And it's jet black with steel plated windows, mortars that shoot out of the bed, and 4 assault rifles mounted on the bed that he shoots from the cab? Yaphet Kotto is also in this movie and he flies a crop duster and drops grenades on a desert compound the bikers have while listening to James Brown. Yeah, this movie is pretty much awesome.
December 13, 2007
anything with gary busey is a must see. the ridiculous plot of this movie makes you laugh all the way through the bloody action.
½ December 2, 2007
gary busey is the man. yaphet kotto is the man. this movie is the man.
½ November 12, 2007
nicely vicious mid 80s actioner. typical of the low rent market that could get as savage as it wanted. A rare lead role for Busey as a hero and he is very convincing. the use of the survivor song is painfully corny
October 22, 2007
this is a very good action movie n the stuff one man will do to save his daughter i love it ive watched it over n over again i found it very heart felt a man saving his daughter n revenge on the death of his wife the song eye of the tiger was made for this movie not rockie as they say rockie jus made the song more popular
Page 2 of 3