The Exorcism of Emily Rose - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Exorcism of Emily Rose Reviews

Page 1 of 692
February 24, 2019
Great performances. Doesn't quite hit the high notes it hopes for, but still gets creepy AF due to its reliance on performance and lack of special effects.
February 17, 2019
Hands down the best exorcism, movie since the Exorcist!
February 2, 2019
I originally saw this in theaters back in 2005. It was a scary then as it is now in 2019. A great Court case horror movie. Kind of rare and it's the genre.looking back and looking into the Wikipedia about the original real life story, I am not sure what was facts and what was fiction. Was she possessed? Was she a psychotic? We may never know... Dun dun dun!
November 22, 2018
I was so excited to watch this after waiting so long to see it and was so disappointed to find it was 90% courtroom drama and 10% horror. The best part was the 10 minutes where they were remembering the exorcism.
Super Reviewer
October 7, 2018
Though it has some flaws, and isn't as good as the 1973 hit THE EXORCIST, nevertheless it works thanks to hair-raising scenes, an intriguing script, and a terrifying performance from Jennifer Carpenter! I loved it :D
September 25, 2018
The exorcism of Emily Rose is as much a courtroom drama as it is horror, in fact one could argue that this is primarily a courthouse film with bits of horror thrown in. Which isn't to say this film is not scary- some scenes are genuinely unsettling, and all the credit should go to Jennifer Carpentar who plays the possessed Emily Rose as good as any since Linda Blair. To its credit the acting is also quite good and with thespians such as Laura Linney and Tom Wilkinson it better be. The pacing is good and the back and forth scenes between the exorcism and the court is swift and without any jagged effects. This is a good film to watch but beware- it isn't strictly horror. (Genuinely scary film).
½ September 25, 2018
In the end, Emily Rose is one that inspires many people and makes one's mindset of open-mind to view things not just one perspective, especially when Emily Rose is faced with two choices of why she is possessed by a devil when she is a kind person, all the answers finally revealed and everyone who witnessed the event could understand it even though it was difficult at first. While the actors and actresses showed their performance with respective portions, the kudos for Jennifer Carpenter even the director-admits he was frightened in the audition. Is this a movie that inspires the 3 AM challenge? Probably.
July 25, 2018
The exorcism of Emily Rose is categorized as a horror film but in my opinion, it is more of a courtroom drama, with bits of horror thrown in. Which isn't to say this film is not scary- some scenes are genuinely unsettling, and all the credit should go to Jennifer Carpentar who plays the possessed Emily Rose as good as any since Linda Blair. To its credit the acting is also quite good and with thespians such as Laura Linney and Tom Wilkinson it better be. The pacing is good and the back and forth scenes between the exorcism and the court is swift and without any jagged effects. This is a good film to watch but beware- it isn't strictly horror.
½ July 21, 2018
More courtroom drama than a horror. There is some intrigue to the courtroom stuff but it all surrounds bland characters.
July 20, 2018
It kept me interested, however I wasn't really impressed. Few moment's in the film that left me scratching my head. There was a few decent scares, but overall the film didn't really work for me.
½ July 19, 2018
Truly terrifying and scary, plus a very interesting court case.
½ July 15, 2018
Wish it wasn't PG-13
½ December 16, 2017
Puntaje Original: 4.5

Una trama prometedora que se vio afectada por la necesidad de querer plasmar una oda religiosa.
December 5, 2017
Derrickson's film is based on the real life exorcism of Anneliese Michel, and that's half its problem. The film reimagines the neglectful, superstitious and science-fearing individuals (who were in fact responsible for the girl's death) as the victim, rather than Michel/Emily herself. The script attempts to atone for this crime by reimagining Emily as a hero, instead. It fails, and you end up feeling as tainted for watching it as Dickinson is for making it. On the other hand, Linney and Wilkinson really are very good, and Carpenter is sensational in a performance that is much less aided by effects than one comes to expect. The film strives to be both court-room-drama and horror-film, and fails to satisfy in either capacity. Parts of the story that allude to the incompatibility of superstition and evidence based justice systems are interesting at times, but the way the case wraps up is so unfeasable one finds it hard to consider the film a serious exploration of that theme. Most disappointing is the film's failure to explain why the demon chose to possess her. I had wanted to watch this for so very long. I wish I hadn't.
October 29, 2017
4/5. The Exorcism of Emily Rose is an interesting twist on a possession movie, in that it is more of a legal thriller that takes place after the spooky stuff. The story is very interesting and does a good job of presenting both sides of the case. It could use a few more scares, but Jennifer Carpenter gives a haunting performance as the titular Emily Rose.
½ October 3, 2017
Despite this "movie" being a few years old, I am only just seeing it now on Syfy. To even call this a movie is like calling a leaking septic tank a garden. Even commercials for feminine hygiene products are more exciting than this "movie". I think I've been more entertained by finding dog feces on the bottom of my shoes.
½ October 3, 2017
I'm split on this movie to be honest. I think it is fairly accurate in the fact that if this TRUE story happened in todays world, this would have been fairly accurate in the fact that in the U.S her death would have surely gone through the courts. I truly believe in the story of Annaliese M. the German girl which this movie it is based on. Annaliese's possession was very well documented with the technology that was available at
the time, and the audio is the ONLY sounds in hundreds that I have heard,that sound genuine to me tbh. Google it! Scary inhuman sounds & pics.
Acting is good, and I respect the fact that they were going for the 50/50 scenario half possession vs laws & courts etc... rather than trying to top the masterpiece known as The Exorcist which thousands have tried and failed. So good movie but a bit too practical to be memorable, but good acting and logic make it a single view.
September 23, 2017
When I watched it initially, as a teenager, I remembered enjoying it a bit more....first time watching since its release....not at all what I remembered
July 14, 2017
NOT a horror movie, but solid.
½ July 6, 2017
Despite of its long duration, this suspense movie is well-told with a disturbing performance from Carpenter.
Page 1 of 692