Eat Pray Love - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Eat Pray Love Reviews

Page 1 of 292
May 19, 2019
Awesome movie. Deserves a better rating.
½ April 28, 2019
Boring, very good actors, but smply boring. No great leap of life in this because it doesn't seem as though there was much to lose.
½ February 19, 2019
Made me vomit in my mouth multiple times through out the movie. .
½ January 25, 2019
sorry I slept in the cinema while watching this movie so I don't have anything to say.
November 7, 2018
I never really understood Julia Roberts dead pan (obviously she wasn't acting) of the troubled lady in this movie/story. Nevermind the fact that the actual tale never really occurred and was actually a 200,000$ vacation advance from the publisher the to writer (so she could visit Italy, India, and Indonesia for 2 years).

Well the movie (and It took sometime for me to realize this) was about a person trying commit suicide (Kavorkianize themselves). It's a profound fact that the countries with the highest standard of living, have the highest level of suicide.

The main character realized that she wasn't happy, but didn't realize that nothing on this Earth could ever make her happy. In fact, she even tried to visit the real-life equivalent of a master Yoda, but had no luck. Her life was saved by sex in a swampy forest (how's that?). Apparently you have to fall to the lowest possible level of living, where mosquitos and ticks are higher on Predator scale then humans, before some people can get happy.

It's just like that Woody Allen movie Sleeper, where the Scientists say that all the things we thought were good for you (health food) were actually found to be bad for you in the future.

Anyway, the good news is the character probably died of some tropical disease (I think that was going be the sequel) or was eaten by cannibals, and achieved spiritual bliss. Or maybe not, because I heard heaven is pretty nice, and her character (since she couldn't find happiness with the best of this world, would probably be unhappy their too, although there is a hell so she could there if she wanted too be happy).

Anyway, horrible depressing movie, with little redeeming qualities. We all need to realize we need to appreciate what we've got and we should work to stay happy, wealthy and healthy. Because no doubt this character will need a whole lot of public assistance in a hospital before succumbing to some tropical disease.
October 19, 2018
honestly i thought brian griffin did this movie. not surprised it turned out bad
August 3, 2018
I found it too long and all I ever see in Julia Roberts is her teeth... It seemed frustrating and I wasn't sure what she was really looking foe?
June 10, 2018
Voilà un film comme je les aime. Elizabeth Gilbert, la trentaine, plaque tout ce qu'elle a, comprenant mari, maison et confort, pour vivre une vie heureuse. Si cela doit passer par le divorce, dix kilos à prendre en se vengeant sur la bouffe et des milliers de kilomètres à parcourir pour s'éloigner d'amant et mari, soit !



Liz fonce en Italie, en Inde, et à Bali, respectivement pour manger, prier, et aimer...



Ce film n'est pas passé inaperçu, loin de là. Démoli par la presse et moyennement apprécié par le spectateur, il a pourtant tout de la recette-clichée censée séduire le public lambda. À savoir paysages de carte postale, rencontre de jeunes hommes italiens beaux, ténébreux et séducteurs, et de balinais avec un sourire de la taille d'une banane, les chicots tout pourris et un nombre d'années au compteur qui ferait pâlir le plus vieux des chinois.

Pourtant, le concept et les questionnements qui sont soulevés dans cette adaptation du livre Mange, Prie, Aime d'Elizabeth Gilbert (une autobiographie donc) se révèlent très intéressants. La romancière narratrice (dans le livre comme dans le film) raconte son voyage initiatique dans ces trois destinations de rêve, à la recherche du bonheur.
Elle s'offre donc le plaisir de prendre 3, 4, 5 ou 6 kilos s'il le faut pour se récompenser, en Italie, d'avoir réussi à quitter une vie confortable mais qui ne la rendait plus heureuse.



En Inde, elle part prier des heures durant pour retrouver sa spiritualité, et rencontre évidemment une jeune fille soumise au mariage forcé. La beauté de cette rencontre réside dans le fait que Liz n'essayera pas de sauver l'Indienne de son sort, mais qu'au contraire, elle percevra une forme de sagesse dans cette résilience à subir le sort que le destin nous réserve.
Une leçon de plus à tirer de son parcours !
Enfin, à Bali, elle trouve l'amour, qui s'avère d'abord très difficile à accepter, puis fougueux et passionnel, et enfin source de bonheur. Javier Bardem endosse encore le rôle du bel homme intrépide et spontané qui pousse au vice. Mais ce rôle lui va si bien que Liz tombe dans ses bras, sans qu'il soit le premier à la courtiser, et donc sans tomber dans le cliché de la roue de secours.



L'ensemble est saucissonné d'interrogations existentielles d'une pertinence qui apporte crédibilité et profondeur à cette histoire semée d'obstacles. Ce petit plus contourne donc allègrement pleurnicheries et lamentations pathétiques que l'on retrouve habituellement dans les mélodrames et autres comédies romantiques où « bouhouuu c'est trop dur la vie et hop ! du jour au lendemain j'ai une blonde au bras qui veut se marier » (cf : moult comédies-navet de cet acabit).

Pour finir, Julia Roberts, alias Liz, joue comme si elle ne jouait pas. Comme si elle vivait cette aventure, souriant à pleines dents et acceptant le sort de son personnage comme s'il ne s'agissait pas d'un scénario fictif ni de l'aventure d'une autre, mais bien de la sienne.
C'est d'ailleurs dans ces comédies humaines et simplement sentimentales que l'on apprécie le naturel d'un acteur peu fardé, qui ne cabotine pas et se contente de vivre sans jouer. Simplement vivre.



C'est d'ailleurs la ritournelle de Mange, Prie, Aime. Que vaut une vie de confort et de facilité lorsque l'on recherche le rudimentaire et l'adrénaline ?

Mange, Prie, Aime, propose une ambiance très variable selon les états d'âme de notre personnage qui n'est ni un héros, ni un anti-héros, simplement un être humain qui se cherche dans ce monde de fou, tantôt bercée par Eddie Vedder, Neil Young ou Marvin Gay, Liz nous entraîne dans une odyssée universelle et parfois réjouissante qui convainc même de se pencher sur le livre !



Bref, un film à voir absolument !



Mathilde E. ...pour BienChoisirSonFilm
½ May 21, 2018
One of the worst movies ive seen. The whole plot is the girl crying about everything. When i watched the movie i felt like i was sick
January 26, 2018
If you've never left the house and spend your days reading Paolo Coelho novels, then this is right up your street. It thinks it has a message for us all. Well I have one for you too. Watch Erin Brokovich instead and see Julia Roberts putting in a proper shift.
½ December 8, 2017
Eat Pray Love, a 2010 movie directed by Ryan Murphy starring Julia Roberts. Eat Pray Love is made for the modern-day adult trying to function in a passively busy society. It's overflowing with lessons we all must learn. Early Liz Gilbert (Julia Roberts) is exactly who we are destined to become when we don't take time to discover ourselves. She represents how easy it is to get caught up in the rat race of a busy work & home life. She coasted for so long that she became deadened to joy, spirituality and love. She couldn't remember what her own goals and dreams were aside from knowing she didn't want the same things as her husband. This movie is about all that we aspire to be, the self-discovery we yearn for, and the fear we let hold us back.
In the first few scenes of the movie, the director does a great job of focusing on Liz as she goes about her daily life. She wakes up in her perfect NYC apartment, to her picture perfect husband, and her perfectly comfortable life, but there is a common theme in each of these scenes. All of which are accompanied by more than a few hints of emptiness. The apartment in which her and her husband live is lit grey & the background music is dull. Her face, and often the face of her husband, is regularly left without the slightest twinge of a genuine smile. The only sign of distress besides the subtle cues left in her grey apartment are those left loudly in the office of Liz's best friend. She expresses to her best friend her need to get out and live, to escape the numbness and lack of liveliness in her day to day. When she decides to take matters into her own hands, at the expense of her husband, Liz begins her journey.
We follow Liz's journey through Italy, India & Bali. In Italy, Liz starts off hesitant and a bit standoffish to the idea of her Italian life. Once Liz gains about 10 lbs. off of straight Italian food, an Italian vocabulary and the ability to enjoy alone time again, she realizes it's time to move forward on her journey. In India, Liz goes through a massive spiritual overtaking at a Sheyras Retreat. She goes silent for a period long enough to retrain her brain to shut off without sleeping. At the same retreat, Liz meets two important characters that show her what it's like to not have the opportunity to choose one's circumstances. This shows Liz her privilege of even having the opportunity to embark on her journey, and in turn, allows her to understand her place in the world again. From India, Liz moves into the final destination of her journey, Bali. Bali is where she begins to love again in the most sensual & romantic way possible with a man she didn't know existed.
The scene that initiates the end of the movie expectedly takes place at sunset. Signifying the end of Liz's journey. This all takes place after Liz has an epiphany and a culmination of understanding of her journey over the course of the movie. Liz decides to go to her Bali lover and announce her "special word" that in English means, "Let's crossover." The journey ends with Liz on a boat ride into the sunset, and into her new life.
Throughout the journey that takes place over the course of a year, the evolution of Liz is extraordinary. She shows true resilience as she pushes past the many struggles that accompany change including doubt, fear, loss, and confusion. This movie represents the idea that complete transformation is worth the risk. The courage Liz has to completely change her life captivates us all & her journey of self-discovery is one that inevitably lives on. Eat Pray Love teaches us that we must act against our fears, even if it isn't comfortable, because the opportunity to change is worth all the difference.
December 8, 2017
I loved this romantic film. Profound movie.
July 29, 2017
I thought the movie was great!! I haven't read the book yet but I got a lot out of this movie and experience.
½ July 14, 2017
A vile, selfish, ignorant, and miserable protagonist who gets worse as the film progresses instead of finding the enlightenment and enrichment the story supposes she's obtaining. Wretched writing that completely misses the beauty of travel, of relationships, and emotional fulfillment. Mediocre acting. Good cinematography.
Eat Pray Love is story that can only be described as a cautionary tale in how one can best ensure that they never find emotional fulfillment. Watching this movie is like reading a self-help book written by someone who has never functionally helped themselves. It's like someone trying to make a film explaining complex mathematical equations to post-grad mathematicians when they've barely passed their first algebra class. Its awfulness is beyond embarrassing.
Liz (Julia Roberts) is one of the worst film characters to darken the silver screen. To be fair, her character wouldn't appear so epically awful if she, the filmmakers, or the author of the source material were even vaguely aware of her awfulness. Instead, the film remains completely unaware of Liz's flaws. We watch as she pointlessly bungles one relationship after the next and pretends to absorb culture in extremely priviledged and not-at-all authentic vignettes around the world. Liz represents the worst of American culture: blind entitlement, dim-witted meanness, a complete detachment from the humanity around her, and an ignorance-based arrogance that literally made my skin crawl. Liz's experiences in Eat Pray Love might have been a jumping off point for a journey of discovery, but they were anything but a journey of discovery themselves. She seems to have learned nothing from her repeated mistakes, and everywhere she goes, a trail of destruction is left in her wake. Do not watch this movie. If you insist on watching it, please - for the love of all that is good - do not see it as a roadmap to enlightenment. At best, this is a cautionary tale about how a person can take all of the wrong lessons from life. If you are lost and looking for a way to find yourself, Liz is the last person you should look to as a role model.
July 12, 2017
Self indulgent book meets self-indulgent Julia Roberts (in midlife crisis) meets self indulgent elitist view of the world, makes for a miserable experience. The fact that Ryan Murphy (American Horror Story) made this boggles the mind.
June 25, 2017
It's wonderful to see the effects of traveling in a person who pursues her dreams and achieves them, amazing journey. Nice to see something familiar in a film but sometimes it's so dull and boring...
June 24, 2017
Myyyyy gooooood was that movie looong ! 3 hours for a love story ! Give just one star for Julia's performance,amazing actress !!!
April 18, 2017
Eat Pray Love is about Julia Robert's character trying to find herself but the film does remain interesting throughout its 2+ hour run time to care about her.
½ March 26, 2017
When we see the world and people to be open to perspectives other then our own. When what we see we take to heart when it takes us to oaths we have not yet travelled to. When what we see is how we got here to know people normally see life a different way then we do. When we see from the other side of the lens we see why they see it thst way. When we see that somethings we prefer seeing then others when we haven't arrived to such perspective in life yet. When we see that there is alot to see but have to take only one path to follow, we ask people whom we can't see but know is there for guidance. When we see what we must do when we are presented with what is in front of us and we don't like what we see. When we see we must leave and explorer what we don't see. When we see somethings that others dont see to appreciate whom is in front of the spotlight. When we don't see somethings but others do, to know we see are not seeing somethings through their perspectives. When somethings we don't wish to see when they want to continue seeing we don't see their point of view. When we see that we could have done things differently, but deep down we don't see ourselves with some people when our eyes are wide open and we see the vary thing why we hate seeing somethings when they remind us of the vary thing we don't want to see and left. When we see that we won't be with some people anymore to see this won't end well for some. When we see some people but don't like some of the things they like seeing. When we see somethings come to an end when we are on two different paths to see that this is not for me and leave. When we see that we want out, and see our old life back. When we see that we rather see some people then some people for advise. When somethings we see we don't like, don't know where to go, can't get what we want in a hurry. When somethings we see amuses us, when it explodes our senses. When we naturally see what we like, to want more of and surround ourselves in. When what we see we get a quick lesson in somethings we don't see at home that we see now when we see a different perspectiveÃ,  of home. When we see authencity means following everything that is small yo it's entirety. When somethings we see we know is good but don't have too much of when we see we could get fat headed and gluttonous. When somethings we don't see too often we we see we enjoy. When we see somethings are meant to be enjoyed and not let our judgments impair our sense of taste and wonder. When we see that somethings we came for was for our inner self not outside. When we see that we don't feel beautiful on the outside anymore. When somethings we see remind us of somethings we should stay away from. When somethings we see we need to take control of. When some mistakes we see we keep and build around when they are a reminder of a beautiful thing we can't let go. When we see we sre missing home to get the next best thing. When we see & hold strong on tradition in what people must do to see some people are showing signs that they are on the path to other things we see. When we see its a matter of perspective when perspective is a matter of age, sex, time, and tastes.

When somethings we see we don't like when they are fast, out of control. When somethings we see others dont see when being in some places long enough we see that they don't have that look yet. When what we see we like when we prefer the feel and look of. When we see that we must begin some places to accept and open our minds to somethings but not everything we meet. When we see that we are not wanted in some places when we are not authentic, and see we came here for the wrong reasons. When we see we prefer somethings, that we can't get lost in and focus when our mind is on other things we see. When seeing is not everything when we need to see using not our eyes but mind to focus on what we don't see. When we see we came from high places to not see the importance of low places to see that we need to be in some places more then others. When we see that we can't let go of what we left behind.

When we see life's challenges are similar at any age in life. When we see that we all crave some spotlights more than others. When we see that others were in our shoes one time or another to see what they are going through deep down. When we see life not forward but backward to know we still hold on to regrets that slow us down when moving forward. When we see we must make peace with our past. When we see somethings work better for us then others to see somethings are not for us and other things are. When we see that we are ready to see some things when we see we are beginning to see. When we see some people spend too much time not seeing and thinking to remember who we are. When we dont see wherevwe sre going to cross psths with life ordeath alongÃ,  the wsy. When we see thst there are many people like us out there searching to know who we are. When we rather see somethings but not ourselves when we let ourselves go. When we see why some people see us when we look good or want somethings else like sex or sexier. When looking is a matter of perspective when some people see on a superficial level or whats deep down. When we see we are not liked for who we are, to try harder. When we can't believe whom we see when we see them again when our door is open. When we see that some people are sweet when we get to know them. When we see we have trouble seeing when are too busy putting intoxicants in us. When we see that we are uncertsin about some people until we spend some time with them and see the world as they see it, that we enjoy. When we see that some people enjoy seeing things as much as we do to copy. When we see more and more somethings we see that some people are really sweet. When we start to see that we like people whom we can keep up with when we like taking things slowly on somethings. When somethings we see we need to help, when they are not as blessed as we are. When what we see we need to thank those in bringing us here, to take back a souvenir back home.

When we don't see that we submerge ourselves in places and people whom are like us trying to see what life's paths will take them. When we don't see ourselves in other people's shoes we see that we must settle to what we regretted. When what we see is we ran away from our past life, and people like us that we couldn't see, going through the same problems in their life to know we have another chance in another place with other people. When we see life catapults us when we take the plunge into what we are afraid of and takes us to different paths in our life that takes us to the next path after.

When seeing we are wrong to knowing some trips & decisions were a mistake to know there is no message which defeats the journey.

***************************************************************************
why focusing on building a relationship is important than fixing anything else that startles our mind. So much misery, we focus solely on the relationship, capsulizing it's beginning to end to be perfect, transferable to the next and something we can return to that reminds us of that special moment. Taking the first step to be seen from the other person's perspective. Not seeing what others see. not doing what others do. Some misery we create, must destroy then rebuild for our selfish needs to correct our mistake.
In the end we take what we say we like, but can do without and move on. Building on the marvels, having family that holds the structure, cleaning what is important.
We see why we adore the cultural ways, we get our juices going and we get the hang of it, just jumping in the arms of it.
sweetness of doing nothing, pleasures, the right way of doing things.
searching for a word.... we take the good and bad.
what we lack we find elsewhere in selfless work. from what we enjoy and used to, we must get rid of. empowering our mind. removing obstacles. some obstacles we can get rid of and live with good or bad.
March 4, 2017
I'm in love with this movie, included the failures, and the fact that it's tiny depressin'
Page 1 of 292