Driveways - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Driveways Reviews

Page 1 of 4
July 24, 2020
[This] gentle and sweetly endearing...tale of a lonely eight-year-old boy who befriends the elderly Korean War vet next door is defiantly positive; a big wet kiss on the lips of a world that normalizes cynicism and celebrates conflict.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 10, 2020
In times of cultural crisis, narratives like this remind us that change often happens locally, through the people we get to know, and learn to love, right next door.
June 23, 2020
Quite a feat for an 83-minute character study that, I assure you, is small only in size...
June 5, 2020
What resonates is the movie's understanding of how we come and go through life, of how a house becomes a home, of how even the smallest acts of kindness can open doors that never quite close.
May 28, 2020
"Driveways" is a sweet, funny and genuinely moving tale that features Dennehy at his subtle best.
Read More | Original Score: A-
May 26, 2020
The three lead actors carry the movie and do the heavy dramatic lifting gracefully; their sheer presence reaches far beyond the confines of the story.
May 21, 2020
Rewarding gem about friendship and life's changes; swearing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 20, 2020
"For a movie about isolation and the risk of reaching out, it's a generous example of how nourishing a sense of connection really is."
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 18, 2020
Driveways doesn't necessarily provide answers, but it looks to find solace in decisions, with the lives we choose to leave, and the relationships we forge.
May 16, 2020
Done so well and so delicately...unforced, beautifully performed, understated and quite lovely...I liked the feel and texture of this movie...the intimacy of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 15, 2020
Brian Dennehy delivers devastating low key turn as kind but also gruff Korean war vet, who befriends lonely boy. Hong Chau is another big plus
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 15, 2020
It is quiet and earnest and less than 90 minutes long. And if you watch it, it will make you feel better.
Full Review | Original Score: 89/100
May 15, 2020
...disarming and sincere.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
May 14, 2020
"I wish I took the time to take a good look at stuff," Del explains... He's talking about relishing what's in front of you before it's gone, a kernel of wisdom for those watching Dennehy's final, deeply moving performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 14, 2020
So while Driveways may have a simple narrative, [it holds] a profound weight [to become] a distillation of what it means to be alive, fallible, and willing to be better.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
May 14, 2020
Less is more in poignant "Driveways."
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4.0
May 14, 2020
This is one of those quiet gems where we get dropped into the lives of a handful of characters at what turns out to be a crucial turning point in all their lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 13, 2020
Driveways is a precious gem of a film.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.9/10
May 12, 2020
"Driveways" shows us the power of caring human relationships and the change love can bring, yet painfully unfurls the precariousness of life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 11, 2020
This is such a lovely, delicate, and quietly moving film.
Page 1 of 4