Drillbit Taylor - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Drillbit Taylor Reviews

Page 1 of 326
½ April 12, 2019
couldn't finish this movie. dumb, predictable, the usual stereotype characters, and the bullies rule the world. not fun. not enjoyable.
March 14, 2019
Owen Wilson puts a funny performance in this movie playing a bodyguard to protect 3 high school freshman from bullies. Owen Wilson works well with these young actors. Alex Frost's performance really caught my eye and he played the bully really well and I really hope to see him as a leading man one day because he steals the show in almost every scene he is in. John Hughes had wrote the story before he passed away and it is an interesting premise for a comedy and if it had been made in the 80's it would be bigger than it is now much like his films The Breakfast Club, Sixteen Candles, and Weird Science.
January 24, 2019
Not Many Laughs In This. Pretty Damned Disappointing.
December 30, 2018
The following review is by famed critic James Berardinelli and it echoes my sentiments. The "Apatow formula" is pretty simple: raunchy comedy, likeable characters, and a dash of sweetness (but nothing too sweet). Drillbit Taylor fulfills the third characteristic but falls short in the other two. The "raunchy" element is significantly limited by the PG-13 rating. There aren't many laughs and it's tough to feel much for characters who are so artificial. Even the nerdiest nerds couldn't identify with these guys. I'll admit that the romance between Wade and Brooke (Valerie Tian) is cute, but this is the kind of subplot that the term "throwaway" was designed for. There's some satisfaction to be had when the bully gets his comeuppance, but that's because it's always enjoyable to see bad guys get their asses kicked, no matter how uninspired the movie is in which it happens.(Not as good as other of Apatow's films).
½ October 13, 2018
Exceptionally funny and a pretty decent concept. Comedy a little stale at times, but an alright storyline. 6.5/10
September 10, 2018
Slightly underrated and unexpectedly humorous. However, nasty fights and crude unwanted humor lacks direction. The charm of Owen Wilson cannot cover the fact that the characters are uneven and unmemorable.
May 21, 2018
This movie is a fun movie with relatable characters and a great performance by Owen Wilson as a bodyguard homeless person who wants money. If you haven't seen this because of the rotten score they are liars. I highly suggest this movie.
½ March 8, 2018
I've rarely laughed this hard in the movie theater. Parts of it are not original, but it goes to the next level on some things, and those work best.
½ January 27, 2018
This film is under rated. On the surface it actually appears to be a piece of sh*t film but in reality it is genius. It is a film for pure entertainment, if your drunk in bed and want a film to watch this works, if you're having a smoke with the boys and wanna watch a film this works, if you've had a long day at work and just wanna chill, this works. It requires 0 brain power to watch but that is not always a bad thing
January 15, 2018
Very familiar storyline is somewhat saved by some dumb but funny jokes. I grew up with this movie and really enjoyed it. Not the greatest comedy in the world, but it is definitely entertaining.

3/5 stars
½ January 1, 2018
Skip it. Not funny. Terrible writing.
February 23, 2017
"Drillbit Taylor" is one of those old school comedies from/for my generation (by the way kids I am talking about the 80's) that you always remember with found memories where a simple but effective story is delivered with no pretentiousness or forcing of sentiment but instead it is given to you with care and attention with the aim of making you smile, entertaining you and to get you cheering-on the loveable loser hero as he comes through in the end.

It is by no means original however that is part of it's charm, it does not ask to much of you except that you enjoy your time, which I did thoroughly and I would go so far as to say it is one of the best performances by Owen Wilson to date. I always found Wilson very hit or miss always throwing himself at roles and hoping something will stick.

"Drillbit Taylor" is, in all the right ways, "Superbad" for the young teens of the 80's. It's funny, it's likeable, it made me smile, it made me laugh and it knows exactly what it is and who it is aimed at. Most defiantly recommended.
½ December 19, 2016
Okay comedy. Wilson seems to play variations on the same characters.
December 17, 2016
this movie is retarded and im a dweeb for liking it
October 1, 2016
A lot of heart with some funny lead kids. The bully really pissed me off (in a good way) by the end.
August 14, 2016
Top class. Owen Wilson is a good egg but the guy from Pineapple Express AND tropic thunder was different class. He was funny and majestic, get this guy a tennis racket? No get him a baseball bat because he's a home run.
August 11, 2016
Nerds hire a bodyguard in this one joke comedy.
May 15, 2016
I laughed out loud once. I smiled a few times. Other than that, I was generally creeped out by the movie and its awkward violent tone. It really didn't work. Far, far, far, far away from the hilarity of Superbad. And somebody shoot that third little high schooler who tagged along IN THE FACE. I fucking hate him.
½ March 1, 2016
It's among the worst movies I have ever seen.
February 23, 2016
Grade: B
Really Good
Page 1 of 326