Dreamgirls - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dreamgirls Reviews

Page 1 of 972
February 18, 2019
A fun movie musical.
½ December 24, 2018
Jennifer's Hudson performance is the greatest thing you can watch today. Really recommended for 60's-70's music lovers.
½ November 29, 2018
This movie aims to please the majority by integrating music the majority likes, instead of using the Motown it should be using
October 16, 2018
isn't zazzy as its sharp music..

Dreamgirls

Condon's lazy musical drama might contain genuine husky moments but it surely isn't zazzy as its sharp music. Speaking of which, not all the songs are catchy or valuable enough to leave you bewildered but there are few that makes you tap your feet on the seat. The nature of fame and successful careers that it depicts through surfing the time zone, isn't as impactful as it was anticipated. But the drama in between these shots or sequences that builds up the gut-wrenching turns of the trajectory is what the entire feature thrives upon. Foxx can and does scare you with the viscous power that he oozes upon his supporting characters. But the surprising package that explodes on the screen is Hudson and her wider range performance that does make you groove and leave you shook.

Murphy's eye is often on stealing the moment which he does so easily with a sensational performance. The narration is basically a extraction of the first chapter from the textbook, all the plans and its execution is merely a rookie step. Either the writers were afraid to go bold or an attempt to make something simple and sensible didn't go as planned. And this is where Condon comes in, his execution should have elevated and instead keep things flat, even at its peak the feature wanders on mediocrity lane.

The musical sequences through which it demands your attention is actually the hard work of the actors that are giving their all in, in their portrayals. Condon's way of making a truce with the crispiest bit of the feature, is what makes the feature more forgettable; it is definitely good, but it can easily be piled upon by its competition. Dreamgirls has a structure that calculates its steps wisely, it is professional but it can be boring too.
½ September 6, 2018
Puntaje Original: 6.5

Grandes actuaciones, y una realista visión del camino a la fama.
July 26, 2018
DIRECTION AND STORY - I loved the direction the film's story took. At first, "Dreamgirls" started as a slow, boring movie with beautiful songs. By the time the characters met Eddie Murphy, the movie started to get better. Not only that, the movie got better and better as the story progresses. The story is WONDERFUL AND MAKE ME THINK IF (ASSUMING THAT I HAVE GREAT ACTING SKILLS) I ACTUALLY WOULD WANT TO BE AN ACTOR SOMEDAY. I later found out that the story is loosely based on The Supremes and that fact made the story better (in my opinion)

ACTING - Everyone was great. Jennifer Hudson and Eddie Murphy were undeniably fantastic. Also, I did not know that Beyonce could act.

SONGS / MUSICAL NUMBERS - They were so good, they made me sing. (Especially in "Listen" and "And I Am Telling You I'm Not Going." Though, admittedly, I sang thanks to the TNT Boys)

MAKE UP (COSTUMES) - Like the other aspects of the film, they were amazing. (At the film's start, I did not recognize Beyonce)

WHY 4 AND NOT 5? - Like I said, the movie started as a slow, boring movie with beautiful songs..
STILL, I LOVED IT!!!!!!! I'm glad that my idols, the TNT Boys, sang "Listen," "And I Am Telling You I'm Not Going" and "Can't Hurry Love" because some comments on Youtube videos featuring the TNT Boys singing these songs mentioned that they wanted to rewatch this movie. THOSE COMMENTS ARE THE ONLY REASONS WHY I SAW THIS FILM! Those comments lead me to a wonderful movie.
June 17, 2018
Jennifer Hudson is exactly what was promised...pure talent and excitement. The disjointed musical aspect of the film makes the rest of the cast less than expected. Like it because I love music, disappointed because I like understandable direction.
½ March 9, 2018
how Can you have a wonderful cast, art direction and increible musical performances and a strong topic such as racism in the music industry in the 60s and still make a bad movie? I know...having the worst ending ever. Dreamgirls wqs wonderful and i truLy was loving it because it was a entretaining movie that was trying to make a statement. But Jamie foxx ending didnt work for me. Basically this guy Gave it all and fid what he had to since it was very difficult to make money out of a all black group but still had the Worst enDing? I think this movie was great until the final parts when iT forgot Where it was trying to go. At the end its message is very BlanD and the best of this movie is eddie mUrphy, whose chaacter didnt mean much at the end. It Is really anNoying when a movie has So much to guve qnd still dont
August 5, 2017
At first I thought it was sorta boring as hell, but beautiful music and towards the second act, I actually began to feel engrossed in the story.
June 24, 2017
einfach nur mÃÂ 1/4ll =)
½ June 11, 2017
Music carries this film very far and that is a good thing as the story and characters are forgettable.
May 28, 2017
Just to see what all the hype was about..
April 20, 2017
Deena's beautiful, and she's always been beautiful... but I've got the voice, Curtis! I've got the voice! You can't put me in back; you just can't!
February 8, 2017
Wasn't my cup of tea.
½ January 31, 2017
Iconic music with wonderful performances from Jennifer Hudson & Eddie Murphy.
October 9, 2016
I greatly enjoyed this movie. It is incredibly well done in regards to filmmaking & talent! Well deserved Oscar winning/nominated performances from Hudson & Murphy, who've got some serious singing & acting chops!
August 24, 2016
Dreamgirls is simplistic and it sometimes drags, but it is musical film that thoroughly succeeds owing to its evident energy and so many good numbers that are not only great as songs, but also manage to move the plot forward and establish its characters while also being emotional which was a commendable feat. It also has a powerhouse performance from Jennifer Hudson, it is emotionally powerful and it is just so incredibly entertaining.
April 14, 2016
Dreamgirls is magical, soulful, sensational, heartfelt, and glittering with beauty. A Broadway musical adaptation that delivers with flying colors. The film succeeds with the help of tremendous voices as well as astounding acting capabilities. The amount of pure astonishment that fills you when Jennifer Hudson takes center stage (which she does in every scene she's in) makes you yearn for her to star in more roles. An overall musical triumph.
½ March 5, 2016
The movie improves the show. Jennifer Hudson deservedly won the Oscar for Best Supporting Actress as Effie White, in my eyes surpassing Jennifer Holiday. The story of three girls in Detroit longing to be singers. The film is based on Diana Ross and the Supremes loosely. Beautifully done in every department. Beyonce, Jamie Foxx, Danny Glover, Eddie Murphy, Anoka Noni Rose, and the reason to see the movie, Jennifer Hudson.
February 8, 2016
Good movie with a great performance from Beyonce and Jennifer Hudson.
Page 1 of 972