Drag Me to Hell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Drag Me to Hell Reviews

Page 1 of 14
October 30, 2019
Drag Me To Hell is pure horror heaven.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 9, 2019
There is nothing in here that resonates.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 31, 2019
It is a horror story as the most frightening cautionary tale, one that applies to all of us.
May 15, 2019
Raimi, the man behind the Evil Dead movies, has always had a twisted eye when it comes to horror. Thankfully, he brings that approach to this project - creating a film that features as many laughs as it does scary moment.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 11, 2019
Ironically, it's a masterpiece of the modern horror genre. it shows a lot of cinematic strength, and it's a surprisingly meaningful movie.
October 29, 2018
Drag Me to Hell can have you tense and on the edge of your seat before repulsing you with a gross out moment and then use that revulsion to lead into a gag inspired by the Three Stooges.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 1, 2018
The premise is old-fashioned-a gypsy curse haunts a young woman-but the execution is glorious, as funny and cockeyed as it is gasp-inducing.
May 14, 2018
When violence appears in Raimi's Drag Me to Hell, it's not meant to be real, often it's hilarious, and what Raimi tries to show is what is going on in the mind of his principal character.
February 21, 2018
Ultimately, what I find most endearing about the film is the same thing that I primarily love about the first two Evil Dead films: it's made by a guy who isn't afraid to let his warring sensibilities go up on display in a single film.
December 13, 2017
At what point does gleeful cynicism become so gleeful that it ceases to function as cynicism at all, and mutates into a blatant formalist trope of little emotional or intellectual resonance, but plenty of aesthetic...what's the word? Bliss?
September 12, 2017
If you're looking for a good contemporary scary movie to watch, avoid this one.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
June 14, 2016
Drag Me To Hell is great fun in a Haunted Mansion kind of way, a spook-house designed to make you jump with fright and squirm with tension.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 28, 2015
A bit gross, a bit silly, and entirely entertaining.
June 30, 2015
A fun, frightening blend of terrified screams and disgusted, gut-wrench laughter that aims to recapture the genre-bending spirit of Raimi's pre-Spider-Man cult favorites like Evil Dead II.
June 30, 2015
Drag Me to Hell is a lark fitting snugly between the Saw flicks and silliness like Shaun of the Dead, making the gasps and laughter feel like something earned through ingenuity. Welcome back, Mr. Raimi. We've been lurking for you.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 30, 2015
It's gleefully gruesome, dead funny and hella entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 30, 2015
At times I hated it for pushing my buttons so relentlessly and with such obvious touches, but I can't deny it: I found it entertaining as hell.
June 30, 2015
It provides enough scare-jolts to have you squirming in your seat, plus enough laughs to leave you doubled over.
Read More | Original Score: B+
June 30, 2015
It all works. A return to Raimi's roots, a return to atmospheric horror, a return to fun filmmaking. It's probably the most fun I've had sitting in a darkened theater all year.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
June 30, 2015
Hell is scary, but also wonderfully wacky.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 14