Dr. Strangelove Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dr. Strangelove Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb Reviews

Page 1 of 5
July 6, 2010
To me, Dr. Strangelove is an evil thing about an evil thing; you will have to make up your own mind about it.
December 9, 2014
...a decidedly underwhelming entry within Kubrick's increasingly spotty body of work...
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 5, 2020
It was a most uncomfortable experience. It was about as funny as a creeping case of cancer... Despite this carping I must admit that Dr. Strangelove was a memorable film, one worth seeing and one which took courage to make and even to exhibit.
October 16, 2019
It struck me at the tine and it strikes me now that Dr. Strangelove is a brilliant and edifying, even a moral, movie.
May 8, 2019
Brilliant, bold, very funny, and terrifyingly plausible beneath its surface absurdities. (4k restoration and new short film)
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 3, 2007
[A] supremely ironic comedy on the possibility of nuclear annihilation.
May 15, 2019
Though the principals in the race to Armageddon may have changed since Kubrick's time, his film is still as effective a piece of satire as ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 2, 2018
Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb is the funniest and most serious American movie in a long time.
August 5, 2020
Stanley Kubrick's classic black comedy, Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb, remains a genius political satire.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 7, 2019
The satire and its execution, from George C. Scott to Peter Sellers in his three roles, is first and foremost what makes things work.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 25, 2016
The pre-eminent satire of cold-war paranoia, Dr. Strangelove is a hilarious and harrowing fable of systemised madness.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 7, 2019
...his film is a protest against the dehumanization which makes it possible for some strategists to mention "acceptable" casualties of tens of millions in the first few hours of a nuclear "victory."
January 31, 2019
Kubrick has shown before that he is a director of rare gifts. Dr. Strangelove brings them into full realization.
January 30, 2018
Mr. Kubrick is a bold man: he has taken a whole complex of America's basic assumptions by the shoulders and given them a rough shaking.
June 30, 2016
'Dr. Strangelove' may have worked as a serious thriller, but Kubrick knew better.
August 7, 2014
Of the many films considered great satire, only Dr. Strangelove holds up as a masterpiece with none of its bite removed.
Full Review | Original Score: A
January 28, 2014
Because of its uncanny insight and frighteningly prescient satirical edge, Dr. Strangelove is a document of its time and also timeless. It held onto its relevancy by being bitter, cynical, and thinking absolutely the worst of people.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 8, 2013
One of the best, and funniest, screenplays ever written...
June 16, 2009
Dr. Strangelove's status as the movie that confirmed both Stanley Kubrick's reputation and the arrival of beat-sick irreverence can no longer be retracted.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 18, 2009
It's easily one of the director's best films of his somewhat controversial career.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Page 1 of 5