Dr. Strangelove Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dr. Strangelove Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb Reviews

Page 1 of 5
August 5, 2020
Stanley Kubrick's classic black comedy, Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb, remains a genius political satire.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 5, 2020
It was a most uncomfortable experience. It was about as funny as a creeping case of cancer... Despite this carping I must admit that Dr. Strangelove was a memorable film, one worth seeing and one which took courage to make and even to exhibit.
October 16, 2019
It struck me at the tine and it strikes me now that Dr. Strangelove is a brilliant and edifying, even a moral, movie.
October 7, 2019
...his film is a protest against the dehumanization which makes it possible for some strategists to mention "acceptable" casualties of tens of millions in the first few hours of a nuclear "victory."
May 15, 2019
Though the principals in the race to Armageddon may have changed since Kubrick's time, his film is still as effective a piece of satire as ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 15, 2019
Age has not withered that final queasy nightmare of the mushroom clouds, set to Vera Lynn's hopeful We'll Meet Again - underscoring how the certainties of the second world war ceased to hold their meaning in the nuclear age.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 8, 2019
Brilliant, bold, very funny, and terrifyingly plausible beneath its surface absurdities. (4k restoration and new short film)
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 7, 2019
The satire and its execution, from George C. Scott to Peter Sellers in his three roles, is first and foremost what makes things work.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 22, 2019
Nothing would seen to be farther apart than nuclear war and comedy, yet Kubrick's caper eloquently tackles a Fail-Safe subject with a light touch.
January 31, 2019
Kubrick has shown before that he is a director of rare gifts. Dr. Strangelove brings them into full realization.
January 30, 2018
Mr. Kubrick is a bold man: he has taken a whole complex of America's basic assumptions by the shoulders and given them a rough shaking.
January 2, 2018
Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb is the funniest and most serious American movie in a long time.
December 19, 2017
Take away the arch tone and deadpan ridiculousness, and the scenario is all too real.
May 17, 2017
Fifty-two years on, the movie is still more hip than most of what American filmmakers - Hollywood or indie - can muster.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 25, 2016
The pre-eminent satire of cold-war paranoia, Dr. Strangelove is a hilarious and harrowing fable of systemised madness.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 14, 2016
Dr. Strangelove does what so few comedies do today: it challenges us, provokes us, unsettles us while also making us laugh.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 3, 2016
Even the ending of the Cold War couldn't dilute this uncompromising satire's immediacy, not so long as men continue to think with their missiles instead of their minds.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 30, 2016
'Dr. Strangelove' may have worked as a serious thriller, but Kubrick knew better.
January 16, 2016
A slick satire of the cold war, and one that succeeds in brilliantly lampooning the hands that guide the world.
August 7, 2014
Of the many films considered great satire, only Dr. Strangelove holds up as a masterpiece with none of its bite removed.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Page 1 of 5