Dogma - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dogma Reviews

Page 1 of 955
½ March 30, 2020
This is an excellent movie with great writing and really moves the View Askewniverse into a bigger budget world and niche.
½ May 4, 2019
If you are destined to offend someone, make sure your are funny. I laughed at the first scene with George Carlin introducing surfer Jesus but never again. What a self indulgent bottle of pig swill.
April 29, 2019
One of my favorite movies and I think Alan Rickman's best performance I normally don't watch anything with Jay and silent Bob or written by Kevin Smith but somehow I actually went ahead and watched it and it was so good I like summa Hayek and Chris rock are usually don't like Ben Affleck Matt Damon has done a few good ones
March 16, 2019
A very funny religious satire that pokes fun at religion and yet also respects religion as well. Matt Damon and Ben Affleck do well in the comedy and I wish they would do another Kevin Smith film soon because I enjoyed seeing Ben Affleck in Mallrats as well.
November 25, 2018
"Buddy Jesus" isn't as good as "Fig Jesus"
November 16, 2018
I haven't seen it in almost 20 years and it's still as fresh as once it came out. Well almost. Linda Fiorenting plays our heroin the many times great grand niece of Jesus Christ and must prevent our bad angels from getting home. Easier said than done one would think. Its fun, fast and easily able to get got up in.With at the time when the Catholic church had no tolerance for such blasphemy or language. Watch it and enjoy it's great for an easy watch
Super Reviewer
½ September 11, 2018
I didn't know it at the time, but watching Mallrats on VHS as a kid was my first foray into View Askew, but it wasn't until Dogma that I realised there was something bigger and better I could latch on to with Kevin Smith at the helm.
September 10, 2018
Great cast, great writing and a lot of good views on christian beliefs. While its easy to just focus on the antics of Jay and Silent bob, the main cast pulls off great dialogue that makes the viewer re-watch different scenes
August 30, 2018
Dogma is again Kevin Smith at his wittiest. This film will probably offend the theist but it's quite funny when it should be and doesn't hold back. In fact the ending is almost borderline crazy. Featuring a host of cameos as expected in Smith's films Dogma is a ripe comedy from the last months of the 90s. If you like comedy films which hold no punches then Dogma should be on your watch list.
August 10, 2018
Dogma is again Kevin Smith at his wittiest. This film will probably offend the theist but it's quite funny when it should be and doesn't hold back. In fact the ending is almost borderline crazy. Featuring a host of cameos as expected in Smith's films Dogma is a ripe comedy from the last months of the 90s. If you like comedy films which hold no punches then Dogma should be on your watch list.
July 24, 2018
Smith's humor is pretty puerile in this one, which seems to be exacerbated by the fact that he feels he has to make up for being pro-God. A pretty interesting look at a comedy directed by a guy with lots of questions and thoughts on religion that seem at odds on the surface but are really the musings of a true believer.
July 13, 2018
A great cast, some genuinely funny moments, and some genuinely distasteful and stupid moments. It's very silly with a weak plot twist, but at least it holds the viewer's attention. It probably read much better as a script than how it was presented on the screen.
July 11, 2018
Dogma is again Kevin Smith at his wittiest. This film will probably offend the theist but it's quite funny when it should be and doesn't hold back. In fact the ending is almost borderline crazy. Featuring a host of cameos as expected in Smith's films Dogma is a ripe comedy from the last months of the 90s. If you like comedy films which hold no punches then Dogma should be on your watch list. (Smith's take on religion and God).
June 30, 2018
By far the best Kevin Smith movie .
June 17, 2018
I got really bored with this movie
Nothing to save...
March 13, 2018
4/5. Dogma has some flaws, but it's very funny and thought-provoking. I haven't ever seen a movie like it and probably never will again.
March 6, 2018
While it may lack the visual kick in the teeth that another director might've brought, Kevin Smith's wit and eager spirit does this challenging and ballsy film more favors than harm.
Super Reviewer
½ February 13, 2018
Clever and smart Kevin smith film. This is easily one of the better jay and silent bob adventures. One of my cult favorites and something that has stood the test of time. The writing is fun and the cast of talented actors treat the material with class, even when there is a steaming poo monster. This was the last truly great Smith film, it has ambition and strong writing. This film did quite well at the box office but that was mainly due to fans of the world Smith had created, if you're looking for a film that stands on its own, this is one of those. My best way of describing this film is a stoner comedy mixed with high concept religious beliefs. You know they are going to provoke audiences when the title card explains they aren't attempting to offend. Crazy religious people. 13/02/2018.
½ January 7, 2018
Decent writing, decent story, great jokes.
October 8, 2017
Don't know which View Askewniverse movie I prefer more, this one or Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back. This movie does a pretty good job of depicting Catholic religion in a humorous manner. Don't know why it was called blasphemy with Kevin Smith even being given a death threat twice. He did insert a disclaimer at the beginning of the movie saying that the movie isn't meant to be taken seriously. I, once again, found myself laughing a lot throughout this movie, perhaps even more than Clerks and Chasing Amy. How can a movie make fun of religion and respect it at the same time? I'm going to be honest with you: I think this was the first movie where I was rooting for almost everyone. I want the abortion clinic worker who's the last scion to stop Bartleby and Loki yet I still want them to succeed in their task to get back home in spite of the consequences that are bound to happen. Jay and Silent Bob steal the show yet again. I'm surprised I haven't stumbled into any theories that Dogma is just a fictional movie set within the View Askewniverse, since J&SB Strike Back has a scene where Matt casually mentions the movie to Ben as if it were fictional. An original, hilarious and secretly (and cleverly) provocative, Dogma is not as sinful as the Catholic Church makes it out to be. Only Mallrats - and, to some extent, Clerks II - left to go.
Page 1 of 955