Doctor Who - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Doctor Who Reviews

Page 1 of 31
½ March 9, 2019
Paul McGann was awesome, everything else was just plain bad.
February 14, 2019
Enjoyable film. Would have liked to see more of McGann as The Doctor but it was not so.
January 11, 2019
A decent if a somewhat tepid Doctor Who movie. Made for the small screen, Paul McGann makes for an excellent Doctor in a fun yet underwhelming story.
½ December 15, 2018
It was quite ridiculous at times, & most of the acting was subpar at best, BUT...it wasn't NEARLY as bad as SFDebris painted it!
December 12, 2018
3 stars but only for Paul McGann; the rest of it was awful.
November 2, 2017
1996 revival of Dr. Who made for Fox TV guaranteed another nine years of hiatus for the series. Did try hard to stay true to the original series much more than the new series which started in 2005.
October 25, 2017
My favorite Doctor is best in The Night of the Doctor and his height in the Big Finish audios.
½ June 23, 2017
While not a great movie, it certainly isn't a bad one, imo. The special effects are still passable and the story itself has aged well enough. I mean, it's nothing to write home about, but I could think of much worse ways to end Sylvester McCoy's legacy, and though Paul McGann's time as The Doctor is short, I still appreciate him more than I do some of his other incarnations (coughTroughtoncough). It's nothing I would recommend: it's purely average. On the other hand, I can think of worse ways to spend my time. I can also think of other representations of Doctor Who that I would more than hesitate to recommend in this movie's place.
May 13, 2016
While it's by no means incredible, Doctor Who: The Movie can be accepted by fans as a continuation of the series after it was cancelled in 1989, and since the film's release, McGann has made himself a fan favourite, especially in his Big Finish audios. And Eric Roberts does an excellent, though frankly ridiculous, performance as The Master.
½ May 1, 2016
The horror. The horror.

Doctor Who's classic run is the greatest thing that ever happened to TV. I love the writings of Robert Holmes and Malcolm Hulke, the character acting of Michael Wisher, Patrick Troughton, Nicholas Courtney etc. And Paul McGann is a fantastic actor. He's a perfect Doctor. The team behind this was awful though. Eric Roberts as the Master was awful, down there with Jesse Eisenberg's Lex Luthor as all-time weakest villains. The writing discarded the point of Doctor Who. The direction lacked atmosphere, there was no wit in the script. This was a travesty, a series of cliches, horrid supports, and the only reason this gets a half star is because they succeeded at finding such a great lead.
½ February 12, 2016
This movie was cheesy and generic. But still (kinda) liked it because it's part of Doctor Who canon.
½ January 30, 2016
not a bad Dr Who movie.
December 26, 2015
After Doctor Who went into the dark in 1989, an attempt to reboot it in 1996 came to this movie. Honestly, the story isn't that bad and Paul McGann gives a great performance as the Doctor. However, the supporting actors have nothing to do. The villainous Master is simply an American whose special talent is his accent, his servant is a generic street thug who changes his mind later, and the Doctor's companion is no better than Amy Pond in 2010.
But, in all things, everything else is fine. The special effects may not be that great but it is a TV movie, so we can forget about them. Overall, I felt that a lot of effort went into making this, and I was actually surprised by how far they came to making a further series of Doctor Who, even though that didn't actually happen until 2005.
Overall, even though this film didn't start anything new, it is a fun failed revamp to what Doctor Who could possibly be, and shows us exactly what Doctor Who is meant to be.
December 23, 2015
Whoever wrote the synopsis obviously knows nothing about Dr Who. Paul McGann is the 8th, not the 7th. Also, what is all this about accidentally time travelling and having to reform?
November 3, 2015
Although not the best of Doctor Who, the T.V movie is still honourable to fans of the original series. Thumbs up to Paul McGann starring as the Doctor. He did a terrific job!
October 29, 2015
I love it just because it's doctor who!!!!!!!!
½ October 24, 2015
My only real "guilty pleasure".
Super Reviewer
½ July 18, 2015
Totally unnecessary. This made for TV Doctor Who film was very cringe worthy, it was fun at times but generally predictable and filled with punchable characters and overused Jellybaby jokes.
½ June 10, 2015
It's really bad, even if you're a doctor who fanboy/girl. (D)
June 6, 2015
Pretty clear how his failed to revive the show.
Page 1 of 31