The Descent - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Descent Reviews

Page 1 of 667
April 29, 2019
one of the best horror films
April 20, 2019
One of the greatest British horrors ever made.
½ April 18, 2019
The first act was a little slow and the jump scares were really cheap, but the rest of the movie was very claustrophobic and very scary. Definitely worth a watch!
March 3, 2019
one thing I admire is the movie taking maximum dosage of blood guts gore gruesome imagery and the scares overdosing on total power which makes the movie that good for me
½ February 27, 2019
To me āJump Scaresā? are the laziest way to make horror, since this is easier than building tension with the story. And this movie uses this a little too much for my taste. However, I will forgive this since the first half of the movie builds tension very well, and by simply working as a ālost explorers vibeā?. Another positive note is the badass females, that have great character development during the movie. A final kudos for the ending, that is extremely cruel to the audience. Quite a twist.
February 24, 2019
A frightening mix of terror and suspense wound into a ball so tightly you never know when it's going to break.
February 17, 2019
Excessive gore and a setup that makes you feel as trapped as the leads make The Descent a great horror film that hits all the right points thanks to its great-developed and bonded characters, great performances from all the girls and emotionally-driven scenes that set the movie as far as possible from being bland like many movies in this genre.
February 4, 2019
a film with an interesting plot, very well directed and frightening as it should.
January 16, 2019
Focusing on the fear of claustrophobia with the simple dread of the unknown, The Descent puts likable characters in frightening situations.
January 15, 2019
Really great if you wanna jump and have a scare!!!
December 22, 2018
As a horror fanatic, this film floats at the top of my list of best scary films in recent years. The setup feels like it moves quickly and seamlessly into the main storyline, but that's because it's so beautifully shot, well-acted, and scripted so that we know and care enough about the characters to worry once they belay down into the dark cave. This character knowledge carries weight throughout the movie, as the group variously splinters and works together to escape. Shocks and jolts start before the central scare appears. And props to an all-woman cast that feels totally natural and not slapped together to achieve cheap feminist self-congratulations. Well-acted and atmospheric, I recommend this movie to anyone wanting to see a solid, scary horror movie that doesn't reinvent the genre, but definitely strays from the norm. PS: Don't bother with the sequel.
December 6, 2018
One of the most effective horror movies I've seen, very well done.
November 14, 2018
The Descent is as close to a masterpiece as they come, and in my humble opinion it certainly qualifies among the top ten finest horror film of the past twenty years or so. It is claustrophobic, visceral- there are bone splitting, blood oozing and vomit inducing scenes, certainly not for the fainthearted. But apart from all this the Descent contains something that every horror film should utilize- a good screenplay and characters one can relate to/side with. This is a tight film(literally and figuratively) and the characters are well drawn out. The acting is top notch and the fact that Neil Marshall went for quality but unknown faces works in the favor of the film. (The greatest horror film of the past 20 odd years)
October 29, 2018
The Descent, is a impressive horror joy ride offering thrills for audiences to enjoy while in the process of scaring people out of their skin !
October 18, 2018
The Decent focus on the relationship between six womens who likes extremes sensations. After an easy and funny rafting trip, their adventure into a cave will be an hardcore descent to hell.
Altought the plot can sometime feel over-dramatic and implausible, the movie is really effective for his claustrophobics effects made by tight camera shots and fluorescent low light ambiance. The last part of the movie also feature some really intense scenes and gore imagery worth the view. Certainly a minor classic of horror cinema.
September 21, 2018
A near perfect horror film that delivers every sense of fear. "The Descent" is the first film that I seen that made me afraid to go to bed... and I'm proud of it.
½ August 24, 2018
A character-driven, claustrophobic, bloody tale with strong female characters and interesting creatures? Sign me up.
½ August 16, 2018
when I consider that this was made 13 years ago, and that I already knew the twist ending and that one of my favorite horror movies in "As Above So Below" already took place in the same setting, this movie (forgiving the slow first 40ish minutes) is quite good, good job building suspense. I do this this could really benefit from a remake though. If you give the same director as The Revenant this, add say Rebecca Fergson as the lead, build around her, you could have an epic on your hands.
August 11, 2018
*spoiler Alert* Goeie fliek in die begin, maar dit was bederf deur Zombi goeters van die middel af :(
½ August 3, 2018
Fuck this fuckng movie was the most boeing bullshit ive ever seen even a documentary without sound is better than this fucking cunt ass shit
Page 1 of 667