Dead Alive - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dead Alive Reviews

Page 1 of 3
December 7, 2017
It never decides whether to make you tremble with laughter or fear, and has outstayed its welcome long before the last limb has been severed and entrail spilled.
November 7, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 3, 2004
| Original Score: 2/5
May 20, 2003
Because all of this looks blatantly unreal, and because the timing of the shock effects is so haphazard, Dead Alive isn't especially scary or repulsive. Nor is it very funny.
March 19, 2003
I wish I could say that I loved it, but at the risk of offending every fanboy out there, I'm afraid I have a red caro-syrup covered bone to pick with it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 4, 2019
Whether you're laughing too hard or whether you're just plain disgusted, Dead Alive will have you doubled over in one way or another.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 19, 2016
A plasmafest.
April 1, 2020
I feel like Dead Alive is telling the definitive anti-co-dependency tale.
October 4, 2019
The film was capable enough to treat the zombie genre with humor as well as respect. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 20, 2011
Lionsgate's visceral, albeit barebones Blu-ray package lets viewers really sink their teeth into Dead Alive.
October 19, 2016
This horrendously funny gross-out shocker from Lord of the Rings and King Kong director Peter Jackson is a brilliant black comedy and the ultimate gore movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 27, 2002
One of the true classics of splatterdom. Sickeningly wonderful.
| Original Score: 4.5/5
July 22, 2008
The best to date from Kiwi gore specialist Peter Jackson.
December 5, 2007
| Original Score: 4/5
October 19, 2016
Ordinarily I don't care for this kind of thing at all, but something must be said for Jackson's endless reserves of giddy energy, which are clearly meant to be silly.
October 17, 2007
Rarely has the urge to expectorate one's lunch been a feeling so sublime.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 1, 2000
Before he discovered Kate Winslet in Heavenly Creatures, Peter Jackson's work looked more like it came from Troma.
| Original Score: 3/5
June 24, 2006
The finale, in which Lionel reduces a horde of flesh-eaters to a mulch of blood, flesh and offal with the aid of a flymo, is probably the goriest scene ever.
June 7, 2018
ozus@sover.net
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 28, 2002
It was hysterically funny at times, but the urge to laugh had to compete with the urge to vomit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 3