Cowboys & Aliens - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cowboys & Aliens Reviews

Page 1 of 490
½ April 15, 2019
A fun romp through the old west... but there are aliens and supernatural things too. I like how the mystery with the aliens unraveled slowly.
½ April 15, 2019
I really liked this film. A bit of an odd one and there was no sequel, but perfectly enjoyable.
March 8, 2019
I never understand why there is so much hate for this movie. I loved the mix and thought it was entertaining to see cowboys with sci-fi.
½ March 3, 2019
Great Movie, doesn't take itself too seriously.
½ February 18, 2019
Come on people this is a good movie. It´┐ 1/2(TM)s a great concept cowboys and aliens and I think could have a sequel. Fun movie to watch Daniel Craig is a bad ass cowboy.
January 13, 2019
Genre mixs are something that need to be pulled off right, which isn't always the case. And for this film, I actually think that it's not too bad, the concept is actually creative, despite its very silly title. And both Harrison Ford and Daniel Craig are good in this movie, as usual, and the special effects are also amazing and epic. But the problem with this film is the pacing. It's inconsisting, the first half was actually much more entertaining than the second half, which is fueled full of CGI alien action. And it is true that the pic takes itself a little too seriously. But anyways, I'll give this film the benefit of the doubt, and if you're curious enough to watch cowboys fighting aliens, then this film is for you!
½ November 18, 2018
Odd mix that I struggled with.
October 24, 2018
Cowboys & Aliens is a disappointing film. It is about a spaceship that arrives in Arizona, 1873, to take over the Earth, starting with the Wild West region. Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford give horrible performances. The screenplay is badly written. Jon Favreau did a terrible job directing this movie. I was not impressed with this motion picture.
½ September 12, 2018
I wanted to like it more, but a good premise ultimately dropped the ball
July 9, 2018
The storyline began in a very good and engaging way until the girl miraculously wakes up to reveal she's an alien, didn't buy it and it left a lot of holes and a lot more to be desired.
July 5, 2018
Awesome movie. Strong action, perfectly acceptable cgi, and an original idea. 10 out of 10 even though no one else agrees with me.
½ June 18, 2018
Two hours of high budget and top talent backed by the biggest pillars of the industry, Cowboys and Aliens fails at nearly EVERY level. I was surprised to read Jon Favreau say, "It was very well laid out, well planned, and there were a lot of discussions with a lot of actors who called me to task on things that seemed too convenient, so we made sure we earned each step." Really? That shocks me considering this movie moves at a snail's pace, is full of the worst dialogue and embarrassingly wastes some of the strongest acting talent there is. This movie is bad. So MUCH of it is too convenient and if it was PLANNED that way, then shame on Ron Howard, Steven Spielberg, Brian Grazer, Jon Favreau, Harrison Ford, Daniel Craig, Sam Rockwell and a host of very well-known character actors who deserved better than this 2-hour monstrosity.
April 22, 2018
One of the great scifi movies out there!
½ April 10, 2018
craig and ford make powerful, understated leads in this film. a little too understated. luminaries as they are, a stinker of a script doesn't give them much to do except to growl and bark in the slightest conflict. no doubt 'cowboys and aliens'' brilliant imagination means it will be watched as long as time permits. unfortunately, the story itself is too slow, saturnine and absent-minded to deserve its title.
michael e.
Super Reviewer
½ March 29, 2018
Now this film is one of the most entertaining films Jon Favreau has directed, And I love the first Iron Man film. Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford, and Olivia Wild all do good jobs as the main characters, and the side characters are all well done too, Clancy Brown as the pastor, and Sam Rockwell as the Doctor all do fantastic jobs. The aliens in this movie have similar desires like the aliens in the terrible film "Battlefield Earth" They want gold, why I couldn't figure it out and am not sure if they mention it. The aliens look interesting, and I will say one thing right now that is a bit of a subplot with one of the aliens and Daniel Craigs character.The film starts out pretty slow but once the aliens show up, it speeds on by like nothing and is a definite thrill ride. The ending 35 minute action scene is incredible to watch and is very well done. All I have to say is, if you're squeamish or very jumpy in horror movies, don't see this, but if you aren't and want a fun action western film, check this out.

My final rating
3.5*s out of 5
March 25, 2018
I got his for Christmas, I must have been a bad boy that year.. Some thing just don't fit together like peanut butter and jelly. and this is in that category. As a fan of both Craig and Harrison you just have to ask yourself why tarnish your careers with this turd? Watch it once,and you're set
for a lifetime.
March 24, 2018
Just before the aliens first show up, a useless and forgettable character-of which there are many-who is in the middle of taking a dump, says something to the effect of "money makes you soft." On one level, this is a sly wink to the audience foreshadowing the principle motivation of the invader baddies: They, like colonizers and explorers before them, seek gold, a greed that will result in mass destruction. But on a deeper, unconscious, and Symbolic level, the line speaks to the problem with the movie itself: So much moola has been flooded into this budget that the movie buckles beneath its own massive weight. There are too many stars, too many plot lines, too many needless scenes, such that nothing carries much heft and the whole thing drags. Rather than a great accountant, what the movie needed was a solid editor, who would know that just because Sam Rockwell is a star doesn't mean he deserves so much screen time. Similarly, Daniel Craig's man-with-no-(memory-of-his-own)-name: An archetypical trope undercut by the compulsion to inflate every character here with a (hastily sketched) backstory, baggage that slows down the film to little more than a crawl for long swaths, and clearly distracted the filmmakers to the point that major lapses and holes ruin the illusion.
March 22, 2018
The premise of the story is an oxymoron. Cowboys of the Western, 1800s genre against aliens of the science fiction, future-fiction genre is the premise.
Page 1 of 490