Tim Burton's Corpse Bride - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tim Burton's Corpse Bride Reviews

Page 1 of 1313
½ March 30, 2019
This is around the 5th time Ive seen Corpse Bride and I could say that I proffer it even more then the last time I watched it.

Corpse Bride is directed by Tim Burton one of my personal all time favourite directors. Corpse Bride stars Johnny Depp as Victor Van Dort and Helena Bonham Carter as the Corpse Bride.

The voice acting was steady and I found that the voice actors fit the characters they were portraying. The voice cast also has such actors as Christopher Lee as the Pastor and Emily Watson as Victoria Everglot. There was a couple times the voice acting didnt work but for most of the film the voice actors gave a good performance.

The characters were fun and interesting to watch each with there own personality. I especially liked Victor and how he is always jumpy and scared of what comes next.

The cinematography I found worked with the film and helped with the style of the film.

The animation in the film is stop motion which I personally love. The animation is smooth and has a unique style to it. The animation also fits the characters very well.

There is two settings for the film one a bleak colourless world and the other a colourful and vibrant world for the undead. I personally proffer the bleak world because of the atmosphere it gives off.

The style in my opinion is exemplary and has some of my favourite character designs from any animated film I have seen up to this point. I also very much like the colour design from the black grey and blue to the bright green and psychedelic pink.

Good and steady dialogue that fits the characters very nicely. Even though my favourite scenes are the ones with very little to none dialogue I still very much like the scenes that are dialogue heavy.

Steady editing with some very interesting edits.

The film involves two types of music from the background sound track to the musical soundtrack. I personally proffer the background soundtrack composed by Danny Elfman. The songs in the film arent bad but there not always on point.

Weird and Unique story about a man (Victor) marring a corpse Bride by accident. The story is steady and always keeps me interested in the characters and whats about to happen next.

The film also has some comedy that personally makes me laugh now and again.

The film also at points has a very strong atmosphere especially a scene where it involves Victor talking to Victoria when the Corpse Bride shows up at the window.

The film is also very enjoyable and entertaining to watch.

There are a couple things I personally dont like but they dont take away from the film to much.

Over all I give it a 7/10
February 9, 2019
'Tim Burton's Corpse Bride' delves deep into the social constraints of the 19th century, and is overly concerned with death, yet still has the ability to connect with children - this is a family movie in a class of its own!
That said, I would not recommend this to very young children, as some scenes may prove frightening; nonetheless 'Tim Burton's Corpse Bride' gives a positive outlook on the afterlife, presenting it as a much more upbeat and optimistic version of 'the land of the living'. As well as this, some of the key moments of the plot are sung, and others are easily missed, so this film requires a little concentration in order to understand the story.
Nonetheless, those over the age of nine should find this an enjoyable story, but this is far from just a children's movie; 'Tim Burton's Corpse Bride' should entertain both children and adults.
The story is somewhat touching, and highly original; this is not only a visual treat but a heartfelt and whimsical piece of art. This is like nothing you've never seen before! Story aside, the visual execution of the stop-motion animation makes it a classic alone. Hours of dedication can be felt in every scene, and the rarity of such films makes it even more special.
Everything you would expect from a Tim Burton film, and more!
January 31, 2019
The best animated movie ever made!
January 26, 2019
I took this movie personally because Victor looks like someone I know.
January 26, 2019
Absolutely beautiful film! I like this movie way more than Nightmare before Christmas, the characters are so amazing and the music is breathtaking. The animation is also very amazing and fluent. I enjoyed all of the songs I think my favorite songs are tears to shed and remains of the day. This is my all time favorite animated film ever. The ending made me cry so much and it was so beautiful! Definitely see this masterpiece!
½ November 30, 2018
Great movie with amazing stop motion! Some of the songs aren't very memorable, but are still amazing. The ending was kind of confusing though
November 12, 2018
So it's not as ground breaking as Nightmare Before Christmas but it's still AMAZING. The music, the characters, the plot, the acting were all fabulous. It is a movie I have seen many times and will continue to return to. A Great Tim Burton - Danny Elfman - Johnny Depp - Helena Bonham Carter collaboration. A Must See
½ November 1, 2018
This is really a humorous movie about the corpse. ?The director uses his great imagination to exchange people's impression of the Netherland and the place where people lives. It's ironic, that criticized people in the 19th century are over maze for money and reputation.
October 15, 2018
Cute original tale that is classic Tim Burton.
October 10, 2018
This movie has a amazing cast of characters. The soundtrack is really beautiful and memorable. I loved how all the animation looked very smooth and life like. The songs were very nice especially tear to shed. It is one of my favorite animated films along with nightmare before Christmas, and the lion king, beauty and the beast (1991). This film is extremely underrated and I wish more people would watch it and talk about it. The story itself is very beautiful and interesting. The ending of the movie was very beautiful and I loved Emily's dress. I loved the ending and how Emily went to heaven. Victor ends up marrying Victoria who I think was a very cute,pretty character. I really love this film and I watch it all the time. 5/5 for me!!!!!
½ October 5, 2018
One of my all time favorite animated movies
½ October 3, 2018
Corpse Bride needed more memorable musical numbers, but other than that, this is a superb, very charming and pretty melancholic fantasy romance with a well utilized killer premise and a highly memorable titular character. Above all else, its atmosphere is fabulous, the time period and setting are brought to life beautifully thanks to a great attention to detail and its gorgeous animation features a very interesting bluish color palette. It's a beautiful fairy tale that ranks among Tim Burton's finest works.
September 14, 2018
Muy bienas las peliculas de Tim Burton
August 24, 2018
this movie blew me away with the amazing story lines and witty characters. Definitely a must see. 10/10, Amazing Job Tim Burton.
August 9, 2018
Charming, but ultimately a bland story.
½ August 8, 2018
The characters and writing were spectacularly done. The music and voice acting were amazing. The animation was spectacular just like in every other stop motion movie ever.
July 21, 2018
I wouldn't say it's quite as exceptional as Nightmare Before Christmas, but Burton has what it takes to create something that's dark, yet beautiful at the same time. Maybe not a classic to me, but still a great original flick.
½ May 8, 2018
The color is grayscale which makes it kind of hard to watch for me since I like seeing color, but it fits the mood right. I can already tell the clay nation and models are a step above Nightmare Before Christmas. They look very crisp. The animation is wonderful.

What awfully dreadful situation Victor and Victoria are. To be forced to marry is fucked up. It wouldn't be so bad if there parents weren't schmucks, because they seem to be attracted to one another. I mean I would be. Victoria is really cute and lady like.

I think it's ironic how the afterlife is more colorful than real life. Who knew the dead were more civilized and had more reasoning than the living. I hope they really fucked up that one Barkis guy in that closet. I really like how it ended.

It's kind of sad once you start to think that the corpse bride never really had a fair life. How she never was really married and in love. I'm glad she found peace at the end and moved on to the next life. Beautiful how she turned into butterflies.
michael e.
Super Reviewer
March 29, 2018
Burton is a master when it comes to doing films that involve stop motion, such as his short story Vincent, which would've been on here except its just a short film but not a theatrical released film. Anyway, Corpse Bride has some spectacular visuals, characters, and songs, Danny Elfman does his usual great job as the composer for this film, and for the voice of Bonejangles, and all the other actors do fantastic jobs, Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Joanna Lumley, Emily Watson, Christopher Lee, Michael Gough, they all do fantastic jobs and for a film only 72 minutes, it does a good job at pacing and telling its story.
February 18, 2018
The main fault of the movie is to come after "The Nightmare before Christmas".
Page 1 of 1313