Cop Out - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cop Out Reviews

Page 1 of 386
½ April 26, 2019
Im not sure why this movie have such poor reviews. I enjoyed it
February 27, 2019
I've read that Bruce Willis and Kevin Smith went after each other during the production of this film and honestly it kind of shows in the final product.

I am a huge fan of Bruce Willis, but he's kind of God-Awful in this film and Tracy Morgan's character in this film comes across as a blubbering sixth grader who happened to stumble into a career as a police officer. The plot is possibly the biggest casualty out of all of this, as I was watching it I kept saying to myself...this police officer is risking his ENTIRE career so he can get back a baseball card?! Like what?! Makes absolutely no sense whatsoever and on top of that you have the character "Poh Boy" who is supposed to be this drug kingpin and mastermind, yet everyone on the planet seems to know exactly where he lives.

To me, the best part of this movie was Sean William Scott whose over the top character was the only one that actually seemed to make sense in this film. Even then, they found a way to completely mess his character up, if you've seen it then you'll know what I mean.

All in all, I didn't really enjoy this movie, if it came on my tv during the day, I highly doubt I would sit there and put myself through it again.
½ February 25, 2019
My 2 and a half stars are all for Tracy Morgan, who basically carried this movie. Anytime I laughed, it was all because of Tracy. Bruce Willis phoned it in. Bland lifeless performance.
December 13, 2018
Bordering on exhaustion.
½ November 18, 2018
Not for kids, to much miners, for black people to much poor of nypd.
½ November 7, 2018
This film was unwatchable.
October 28, 2018
Misguided buddy cop comedy-drama with bottom-of-the barrel humor (in one scene the cops even punch a small child!); hard to watch a talented crew seamlessly go down the drain.
½ October 16, 2018
Copout had everything going for it- a buddy cop duo consisting of Tracy Morgan and Bruce Willis. Directed by the talented Kevin Smith and basically asking Willis to reprise his Die Hard role for comedic purposes it is shocking to see the film being so lackluster. Copout lacks a coherent story, its pacing is atrocious and even the chemistry between Willis and Morgan is pretty much nonexistent. There were high hopes because Kevin Smith is a good filmmaker especially in the comedy genre and both Bruce Willis and Tracy Morgan are good at comedy (Check out Willis in Death becomes her), but alas, that is not to be. Copout is mediocre and best left on the counter top. (Horrible misstep by all involved).
October 7, 2018
By-the-numbers buddy/cop film is overlong.
August 23, 2018
Copout is a massive disappointment. Maybe the expectations were too high but the film lacks a coherent story, its pacing is atrocious and even the chemistry between Willis and Morgan is pretty much nonexistent. There were high hopes because Kevin Smith is a good filmmaker especially in the comedy genre and both Bruce Willis and Tracy Morgan are good at comedy (Check out Willis in Death becomes her). This was a stab at the buddy cop genre and a play on Willis's iconic Die Hard role but the film fails miserably.
June 25, 2018
Copout is a massive disappointment. Maybe the expectations were too high but the film lacks a coherent story, its pacing is atrocious and even the chemistry between Willis and Morgan is pretty much nonexistent. There were high hopes because Kevin Smith is a good filmmaker especially in the comedy genre and both Bruce Willis and Tracy Morgan are good at comedy (Check out Willis in Death becomes her). This was a stab at the buddy cop genre and a play on Willis's iconic Die Hard role but the film fails miserably.
½ June 18, 2018
I'm from Kevin's generation. Not just chronologically, but also inspirationally. Fletch is one of my favorite comedies. As is Stakeout. As is Lethal Weapon. All elements clearly and intentionally paid homage (as Tracy Morgan humorously mispronounces at the beginning of the movie). It was Kevin's not-so-subtle message (along with the cheap synthesizer and Fletch song at the ending fade) that he was about to show a film that had not one ounce of originality, but was meant to be an enjoyable popcorn film for fans of his, fans like him and those who just wanted to be entertained.

I had NO expectations coming into this movie as critics and viewers alike ripped it apart. From a critical perspective, it's only slightly above average. However, from the INTENT of the film, it was perfect. The movie was fun, enjoyable and made me happy to see the genre revisited. Thanks Kevin!
January 9, 2018
Loved this movie, don't see how anyone couldn't like it.
October 29, 2017
Cop Out was lazy as hell.
Super Reviewer
½ September 24, 2017
I watched this on first release and I joined in on the panning of this buddy cop film. Morgan is quite the scene stealer and the characters are quite likable, the villain was an odd choice though. There was a bit of hatred between Willis and Smith behind the scenes which didn't assist the filmmaking process, I can't really fault Willis because his acting isn't anything different here to earlier films. The film has grown on me over time and it hasn't got that boring mismatch that I watched all those years ago. This was essentially remade as Once upon a time in Venice, once again starring Willis and directed by the writers of this, they had Willis issues as well. Good for a night in but not a classic or the worst film out there, I wish Smith had injected some of his humour into the film though. 24-09-2017.
August 20, 2017
I thought this movie was hilarious...don't know why no one else did.
July 7, 2017
It's Kevin Smith so I must.
June 26, 2017
will wait for dvd. and dreik it looks funny so:0P
May 10, 2017
The president is black. Yeah Tracy, that was 7 years ago! I can see this as nothing but, uhh, oh, uhh, oh, oh, derp, deeerrp! #%,\ YOU!
March 2, 2017
Complete and utter pig spunk. It had all the hallmarks of a good cop/buddy flick. An interracial partnership, the feuding with a their peers, Maverick behaviour, the police chief on their back and the subplot ofl broken marriages and relationship problems. The script itself is absolutely horrific and it fails to deliver even one good gag. Maybe if Smith wrote the script it might have been better and to be fair he had fuck all to work with.
Page 1 of 386