Cold War (Zimna wojna) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cold War (Zimna wojna) Reviews

Page 2 of 6
March 8, 2019
A well made reflection of the aspirations of post war Poland, as embodied in the leading characters. The conflict between the need for stability, the yearning for freedom, the fear of tyranny and the realization of failure. All expressed in the tumultuous relationship between a peasant girl and a pre-war intellectual. The conflict seen here is a metaphor for the issues that not only plagued the Warsaw pact countries, but are intrinsic in the conflict between populism and the intellectual paradigms governing the current EU. The resolution presented marks a foreboding future for the issues plaguing Europe since the end really of the First World War.
March 8, 2019
"Cold War" the playful Polish film Pawel is beautiful, with a clear technique, a convincing script and good performances, the film is one of the best films of the year. "Cold War" tells a love story between two post-World War II Poles, their encounters in opposing situations, their forbidden passion, misfits, romances and separations that revolve in a period of almost 20 years aligned with Pawel's great technique are the ingredients perfect for making a great movie.

A photographic dedication that uses black in white with full cinematic notion, is like watching a movie from the 1940s, the use of film filming contributes even more to its rustic and playful beauty at the same time. A firm plot that is based on a great editing and editing that make the film not be heavy, although the same is repetitive, you do not feel its weight, but may lose some interest in the course of the work. And that was the great sin for me, the non-use of external script resources to branch out the plot, which develops in a medium way its characters.

The duo of actors are very well in the film, just like their director of photography, director and composer who do an excellent job that together make up a different, daring, delicate and cruel film. A cinematographic delight..
March 6, 2019
A few years ago Pawel Pawlikowski made "Ida", a very well recived film, and I still find it hard to believe that I didn't dug it that much.

This time we follow a couple. He is a musician, often in charge of big setups. She is a singer. They fall in love and move around Europe during the late 40's until the 60's. They end relationships, get back together and does this for a long time.

A film with som very sweet shots - some shots are breathtaking and clever. The music are at times very pretty and the performances are solid.
Sadly it fails to engange me - just like "Ida" failed.

So a beautiful film, unique film, but the narrative fails here for me so it never made me that interested.

6 out of 10 choirs.
½ March 3, 2019
Beautifully filmed b/w romance movie. Great cinematography and acting. I thought the last 1/3 of the movie was a bit repetitive feeling but the rest made up for it.
March 3, 2019
beautiful love story and chart the history of the divided post war europe.
March 2, 2019
The film was beautiful, though the choice of framing annoying...however, the film itself was an utter bore. Worth watching but the narrative could have been relayed using a couple dozen still photographs.
March 2, 2019
Oscars are over. Why can't this film be bought or rented yet?
½ March 1, 2019
Iā(TM)m not sure I got this one.
March 1, 2019
Cold War told everything what needed to be said about this time period in a very beautiful way. But its message is still relevant and heartbreaking: we cannot leave our home country without feeling guilt and remorse, because WE have to make it a better place.
February 24, 2019
This was a really good film. I call it a cross between A Star Is Born, West Side Story set in Cold War Europe.
February 24, 2019
85/100

Hmm ... I don't watch romantic movies, but I liked this one.
Let's start with the biggest white ball: music and cinematography. I never realized how beautiful the black and white films are. I do not know if this movie was shot more nicely than Roma ... I think I like more Cold War. Helps (in my opinion) the aspect ratio of 4:3. The songs are great. I think I'm going to listen to the soundtrack again.
Another white ball is acting. Am I the only one that thinks Joanna Kulig looks like Jennifer Lawrence?
And now comes the bad part ... I did not really care about the characters, I do not know why. There are some moments when I should feel sad but ... I could not. I think I would have given it a 95/100 if I had been interested ... I think it's my problem, I do not know.

In conclusion, I am surprised that this film is not as hyped as Roma. Good acting, good cinematography, good songs but I could not feel anything ...
February 23, 2019
Subtitles!! Didn't know it was not in English. They should inform people of this.
February 23, 2019
Lustrously lensed in monochrome and intimately framed in a boxy academy ratio, Pawel Pawlikowski dedicates to his parents this romance of a pair of ill-starred Iron Curtain-era musician lovers that spans continents and decades and to the accompaniment of era-defining music.
February 22, 2019
The movie is very well-directed, the cinematography is impressive, and some of the performances are good, but I never really felt the romance between the two main characters and I couldn't really get engaged with the story to care. Not a bad movie, I just don't think it was for my taste.
February 20, 2019
This is a beautifully filmed love story that is never sentimental. I was left wondering if the toxic political climate of the late forties and fifties, that deeply affected life (and art) behind the Iron Curtain, the overarching evilness of the Stalin regime, and the way people either acquiesced or sought to escape its influence, had a chilling or a fanning effect on the love story. Sometimes when lovers are separated, they become convinced that this is the person they need in their life to be happy. In this, the two never compromised. And that is a bitter fact to accept. My father would have been so deeply interested in and moved by this story. He lived in Poland for two years in the mid-sixties (the Kennedy era) and it wasn't an easy time to live there. You couldn't leave, unless you were a guest, like he was. Despite the hardships, people were so welcoming. I wonder if any hearts were broken, when he left for America.
JC
Super Reviewer
½ February 18, 2019
Little slow getting started but when it gets going Cold War brutally follows the battles between two lovers in Eastern Europe in the 1950's up to 1964. An art house film with Oscar potential. (2-16-19)
February 17, 2019
Beautifully shot and acted, this movie mesmerizes from start to finish. With all the trappings of an arthouse film, it manages to be accessible to a wider audience, and it brings closer a setting that is less familiar to an American audience - a cold war Poland.
½ February 17, 2019
interesting more as a period piece, but ploddingly slow, and in the end, it disappointed. I usually agree completely with RT but this time, not so much.
February 17, 2019
Quite disappointing. The characters are remote from the audience and remote to each other. Zero development anon motives are given for their actions, other than lust. It would have benefited from less "art" and more communication. The two main characters were unlikable and never grew over the 15 or so years this "love" story took place. The first 30 minutes or so were promising with the hopeful performers trying out for a spot in a cultural troupe. If only we would have been able to gain some insights. The cinematography was good, and the cultural performances were authentic. Otherwise, there was no point in watching this.
February 17, 2019
Beautiful but a bit overworked cinematography that makes Poland look like France and vice versa. I sense some western propaganda too. The jazz scenes are great though. AS many have said here it's not a love story worth living.
Page 2 of 6