Closer To The Moon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Closer To The Moon Reviews

Page 1 of 1
December 10, 2018
Excellent and entertaining black comedy/drama loosely based on real events.
April 16, 2017
I thought this real-life historical drama would have been enjoyable to watch, with Vera Farmiga as the main star. But nah. It was somewhat boring.
January 27, 2017
fun but touching story. Love it!
January 23, 2017
The group of jews could not live peacefully after the war. They were heroes of the country but still jews, hence easily expendable. When several of the group just got that, they brew a plot to disparage the government at the risk of their lives. They got everything they wanted including.... but I'll leave that out of my comment, the film is worth watching. I still can't help thinking though that psychopathy is the annoying robotisation keeping the world a hellish place. Viva la revolutione!
January 23, 2017
The group of jews could not live peacefully after the war. They were heroes of the country but still jews, hence easily expendable. When several of the group just got that, they brew a plot to disparage the government at the risk of their lives. They got everything they wanted including.... but I'll leave that out of my comment, the film is worth watching. I still can't help thinking though that psychopathy is the annoying robotisation keeping the world a hellish place. Viva la revolutione!
½ October 26, 2016
It's more quirky than anything else to begin with, but that's only until you unravel what's going on with the story. Some of the broad British accents are a little off-putting too until this time. However once the drama of this Communist era heist gets going it does become engrossing.
August 14, 2016
A band of Romanian freedom fighters pull the crime of the century in this gripping heist film based on an incredible true story. Bucharest, 1959: with anti-Semitism on the rise, a group of Jewish WWII resistance members, led by a police inspector (The Imitation Game's Mark Strong) and an academic (Academy Award-nominee Vera Farmiga), reteam for an audacious act of political agitation. Posing as a movie crew, they hold up the Romanian National Bank by making it look like a film shoot. But what comes next is even more unbelievable when the group is handed down a punishment as outlandish as their crime.
December 19, 2015
Wonderful movie, wonderful script, wonderful actors - incredible story! How come it´s gotten this ratting? Somebody explain the rating to me?
October 17, 2015
Udmærket film med gode skuespillere i interessant miljø.
September 22, 2015
Although based on a true story, 'Closer to the Moon' comes across on screen as artificial and befuddling. However, quality production values make it easy on the eyes.
½ September 20, 2015
9/19/15 Netflix
A quirky, sometimes humorous and other times sad movie based on actual events. Glad I got to see it for free on Netflix but glad I did.
August 9, 2015
Masterpiece- mix of Inglorious Bastards and Black Book
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ April 27, 2015
"Closer to the Moon" starts with Virgil(Harry Lloyd, of TV's "Manhattan") watching a film shoot of a bank heist in Bucharest in 1959. This inspires him to pursue a career in filmmaking, first as an assistant, then as a cameraman. He learns what he witnessed was in fact a bank robbery when he films the five bank robbers being sentenced to death who then congratulate each other. And then he is assigned to help make a propaganda film of their crime, starring the criminals themselves.

That sequence of events begins with Max Rosenthal(Mark Strong), the local police commander, having his well-connected wife Sonia(Monica Barladeanu) being arrested on trumped up charges so he can party with his less connected friends on New Year's Eve 1958.

Enter Alice(Vera Farmiga).


Itself based on a true story, "Closer to the Moon" is in general concerned with the separation of truth from propaganda in a repressive system.(According the end note, the propaganda film of these events still exists. So maybe as a DVD extra?) Overall, this is a bittersweet movie that while it has the lighter touches of a caper story, also does not ignore the darker realities of these characters who once partisans for their country, now find themselves sidelined, with their careers in ruins. So for the first time in a long time they feel alive, and like before, ironically in the face of death.
½ February 28, 2015
Vera Farmiga and Mark Strong steal the show. Strong narrative, structure, and cinematography. Despite having enjoyed the film, it doesn't feel like it ever tries to raise the bar at any point; a tad underwhelming.
½ February 24, 2015
what a weird concept for a comedy, that's why it wasn't funny. and i was so excited to see Harry Lloyd and Joe Armstrong together again
March 9, 2014
It might make it all the way to the Oscars, next year.
Great movie!
Page 1 of 1