Close Encounters of the Third Kind - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Close Encounters of the Third Kind Reviews

Page 1 of 249
May 21, 2019
I loved the movie. One of Spielberg's best movies and there are a lot...
May 5, 2019
One of Spielberg's earlier films. It's not your typical alien invasion movie, it's a much more pleasant sci-fi watch. With a memorable performance by Richard Dreyfuss, this is a good and classic film. The special effects are impressive, especially for the time, and the pic also dives into a strong theme of obsession. Though some scenes can be long, around the end, this is another Spielberg classic and one to see for any science-fiction lover. Recommended!!
March 8, 2019
This movie is a classic and was a huge part to the growth of imagination as a child and in to being an adult.
March 2, 2019
Roy Neary, an electric lineman, watches how his quiet and ordinary daily life turns upside down after a close encounter with a UFO.

40 years after the film's release, the only thing that's aged is me.This film simply combines all the assets of Spielberg's early work perfectly. And John Williams' melody went down in pop culture history. Close Encounters of the Third Kind is deeply humane sci-fi exploring male obsession, cosmic mysticism, and music.
½ March 2, 2019
good movie nothing really like it
February 21, 2019
The first act is great in slowly building up an inscrutable mystery while filling the screen with beautiful and striking imagery with a unique and clever use of light and sound. Things then sag a bit in the middle when the action becomes mundane and the pace too slow. The family development and interaction that Spielberg usually does so well, to give as a feel for their lives and a sense of place, is sorely lacking. As a result, while the frustration we feel as Dreyfuss' protagonist himself becomes inscrutable is probably deliberate and therefore effective, without that backbone of the family for him to play off it isn')t as engaging or emotional as it could be. The payoff is worth the wait, however, in a magical finale with more dazzling brilliance.
December 23, 2018
My all time favorite film since the first time I saw it in '77.
December 15, 2018
An astonishing achievement in cinematography for director Steven Spielberg, "Close Encounters" is an ambitiously absorbing, thought-provoking sci-fi film that was awarded eight Oscar nominations despite slow pacing and a mind-boggling conclusion.
December 6, 2018
Im not sure why this film got such high ratings. Im thinking at the time when it came out this was original. However there are so many better alien movies today and this film dragged on. It was boring and def couldve been editted down, there was a full 20 minutes of ppl open mouthed gazing that couldve been cut out-we get it ppl are in awe. Also the special effects are mostly dated. The plot line (what there was) was illogical and paper thin. Btw the woman who always left her kid unattended and the guy leaving his wife n kids without even telling them for probably years and kissing that weirdo lady yea ok.
November 22, 2018
I know for a fact that I(TM)m in the minority, but I honestly found it hard to lock into this film. The performances are wonderful, and the beats of this film are memorable. But the plot as a cohesive unit is somewhat dry, and the ending seemed needed, yet weak. The score is beautiful, however, and overall it is a memorable film.
November 21, 2018
There is a lot to like about this movie. Even today. But now that I'm older and seeing it again, I can't help but feel like the ending is wrong. SPOILERS he gets on the spaceship and leaving behind his wife and kids. Who knows how long he'll be gone. Maybe as long as the pilots who disappeared in 1945 and just returned at the end of the movie. The older me. The me who is a father sees that as really irresponsible and make me like the movie less. So only 3 stars as a result for an otherwise great film.
November 21, 2018
great sci-fi thriller.
November 18, 2018
Just a bunch of scenes put together to ship a movie that would have been a success anyway, because of excellent "foundation". Dumb the behavior of the main character, non sense the aliens actions, failed the attempt to scare the audience. A B movie at most.
November 17, 2018
this drama deserves the emotions it goes through..

Close Encounters Of The Third Kind

Spielberg's head scratching sci-fi milestone accounts in the most humane emotion over this two hours of Williams's symphony. Driven by an obsessive vision, the characters float around an honest mundane life in this Spielberg's sci-fi. Not for a split second, he gives away his true intentions of the tone of the feature. It is as much as a family movie, as it is about mankind exploring beyond the boundaries. Your usual household activities, government policies, the means of communication, thirst for knowledge and a self driven persona that it brings out, all these elements polishes this drama into an honest one. The ingenious procedure of Spielberg's fiddling with the props and utilizing the entire frame for the narration, amps up this visual galore that makes you think more than twice.

The stunning background score of Williams, meticulous art designing and decent visual effects decorates the tale into an alluring one. Dreyfuss is at charge in here. His obsession communicates widely but what you will take away the most, is his equation with his family and the emotions he goes through in that house. Truffant is literally the supporter and Dillion is a survivor. Tagging each other the plot tracks, this character driven tale passes on the torch with nothing kept prior than the storyline itself.

Personally, I'd prefer Dreyfuss obsessing over the uncertainty and the horror that he goes through in its initial stages over the latter stages. Just as he asks for Truffant for some answers, Spielberg makes sure that you too will leave the screen with that amount of thirst. Despite of raising general life changing questions, it delivers a much more personal bold tale of confrontation. Close Encounters Of The Third Kind is a real deal on terms of the maturity it contains, this drama deserves the emotions it goes through.
November 7, 2018
This film was great!
½ October 27, 2018
"Close Encounters of the Third Kind" proved to be a really great film. I personally had watched the theatrical version, and I didn't feel like anything was missing. By the end of the film, it felt like everything had come full circle and no questions were left unanswered. I especially enjoyed the visual effects. Given that this was made long before CGI was a constant, the innovative way that Spielberg chose to depict the UFO's was great. I appreciated that they were this almost translucent light at times, depending on how they moved in the film. I also enjoyed that he chose not to show the aliens until the end of the film. Considering he did something similar in "Jaws", I appreciate his drive to create and fuel suspense to make for a greater reveal for the audience. The music and sound design in the film also proved to be very well done. I particularly enjoyed the music that Spielberg chose to represent the aliens. I liked the way that they seemed to duel back and forth with the humans at the end in their attempt to communicate and connect with each other. I could tell that the film had a huge impact on "Arrival". Having seen "Arrival" first, there were aspects of this film that reminded me of it. Most notably was the search to uncover the alien language, as well as to use that as a way to connect with them, which was a huge part of "Arrival".
September 30, 2018
Incredible premise, however a bit slow.
September 15, 2018
Absolutely amazng movie,scary,funny,exciting.
½ September 15, 2018
Forty years later, Spielberg's examination of the events leading up to our first encounter with aliens (the third kind = actual contact beyond sightings or discovering physical traces) still retains a sense of child-like wonder at new and amazing things. In fact, the film impacted me so much when I was a child myself that I ended up taking a pilgrimage to Devils Tower, Wyoming, in the early 1990s - the butte is awesome enough on its own but its association with this film adds an extra weirdness factor that makes it even more compelling. And, yes, compelling is the operant word here, because the film depicts how, after an encounter of the first kind, a number of humans (including chiefly Richard Dreyfuss and Melinda Dillon) are drawn to this spot where it appears that the aliens will land. But the film starts a few weeks earlier and shows us how the obsession with aliens takes over the lives of these ordinary people, interspersed with shots of Professor Francois Truffaut's academic investigation into alien encounters. Of course, the special effects (coordinated by Douglas Trumbull, who had earlier done 2001: A Space Odyssey) are great (and old-school, not CGI) and the five-tone message that unlocks the ability to communicate with the aliens became seared into our brains (although the rest of John Williams' score is less memorable). Overall, the film makes you want to believe in (friendly) aliens, even though Spielberg leaves it for viewers to go deeper into the ideas and outcomes introduced here.
August 14, 2018
Il ritmo lentissimo vecchio stile rende il film poco moderno, senza riuscire a ricreare le forti emozioni che avevano sbalordito il pubblico di allora. Ovviamente tutta l'idea dietro il film ha i suoi solidi fondamenti e trasmette in molte occasioni la perfetta ricercata sensazione di mistero ed inquietudine. Quello che adesso non funziona una narrativa troppo dispersiva e a tratti noiosa, che non cattura l'occhio e l'interesse di uno spettatore moderno, abituato a risvolti narrativi pi veloci e repentini che erano sconosciuti per il pubblico di pi di quarant'anni fa.
Page 1 of 249