Cloak and Dagger - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cloak and Dagger Reviews

Page 1 of 15
February 27, 2019
The truth is it is pretty dated and, unless you are a fan of 80's films or just like movies in general, I can't recommend it.  The actors are really good and the filming is solid but it is VERY 80's in it's look & feel and that is very apparent throughout. I'm not saying it's bad, just dated and completely unbelievable.  Think more Roger Moore than Daniel Craig.http://latetothegame.blog/2019/01/26/key-movies-of-my-life-cloak-dagger-1984-2
½ January 7, 2018
What elevates this otherwise mediocre Alfred Hitchcock send up is the chemistry between Coleman and Thomas as a loving recent widower father struggling to raise his young over imaginative son mourning the loss of his mother. Coleman's performance especially makes this well worth watching..
January 6, 2018
In what was probably a harmless fun movie at the time, now appears horrifying and inappropriate for audiences today. Henry Thomas stars as the kid active in his fantasies about a Secret Agent Man, he is caught up in a real-life mystery involving a murder and the secret of why he was murdered lies in a video game cartridge. Innocent enough, but man it sure is dark, has multiple fatalities, and has a certain amount of nastiness to it. Don't show this to your kids today!
November 19, 2017
A boy play gets a secret game cartridge of "Cloak & Dagger" as he imagines his father as the real Jack Black, his favorite character. Then he gets to play Cloak and Dagger for real.
November 30, 2016
I somehow missed this 80's gem as a kid, and it's a shame as i think i really would've liked it then. It's actually pretty mature for a kids movie which I found refreshing. i have always liked Dabney Coleman and he has dual roles here. Henry Thomas is the lead, playing a kid obsessed with spies and videogames. There is a strong Atari presence in this film. Richard Franklin does a decent enough job directing, he also directed "Psycho 2" and F/X 2", both of which I re-watched in the last couple years. This one is for 80's fans only.
September 20, 2016
I really enjoyed this film as a kid. Wanted my own spy who showed up for adventures from time to time. One of the few movies from my childhood that is exactly how I remembered it being.
½ September 6, 2016
This movie is awesome! I can't believe I waited so long to watch it.
½ August 22, 2016
Cloak and Dagger proves to be nothing special, and falls victim to the usual genre cliches.
July 28, 2016
Pre-teen ends up with a valuable Atari Cloak & Dagger game cartridge with top secret info and must evade some dangerous individuals who will stop at nothing to retrieve it with the help of an imaginary federal super agent Jack Flack. His friend, Kim, and a bit of a sluggish start were slight detractors but this film is successful in straddling a difficult line in being entertaining for both kids and adults. Got better as it went along.
July 2, 2016
Ugh.... So bad. Script needs A LOT of touching up, and almost all the characters are insufferable; ignorant adults don't listen, aggravating children who are CONSTANTLY NOT THINKING. Plot unbelievable, and overly gruesome. Rather graphic and disturbing scenes with dead people in trunks.
Some suspenseful moments, but on the whole, I wish I had my hour and half back.
February 15, 2016
Cloak and Daggers was a childhood favourite of mine so going back and revisiting it I wasn't sure if I would feel the same way about it... turns out I like it even more! I still associate with the main character and playing a game in real life but as an adult I appreciate the coming of age storyline even more. I still love the video game, RPG, make believe, and childhood imagination aspects of the film... perhaps even more than I did when I was a kid... perhaps.
If you like video games, RPGs, James Bond films, and a coming of age story as much as I do, Clock and Dagger is your perfect kinda film.
January 6, 2016
This movie is awesome!
December 15, 2015
Remember liking this as a kid, but it doesn't hold up well.
½ September 13, 2015
Loved this ingenious story.
September 8, 2015
A fun, even if rather dated, adventure thriller that places a boy Davey with a fascination for spy espionage and an imaginary friend Jack Flack, a professional spy, who lands himself in a real game of cat and mouse when he attains a video game cartridge containing high profile government information from a murdered doctor, leading to being chased by the men after the cart. As common for a lot of films prior to the PG-13, there's a lot of stuff ranging between light fun and dark with violence that could pass for a mature film, which is odd for a film that seems intended for family audiences. The film has good performances from Dabney Coleman doubling as Davey's father and the fictional Jack Flack. Henry Thomas as Davey isn't just starpower in this film either, he has a good emotional acting range and these extreme circumstances push him into a frightening reality that makes us fear for his character and want him to rise to courage in dealing with the enemy as he matures from his make-belief spy adventure games to the reality of tragic circumstances, but also understanding his strength and determination to protect what and who he can. While as stated, perhaps a bit bordering on a bit of a darkish thriller, it is a fun adventure film with a mature edge to it that pays off. It's a fun little thriller-mystery-adventure film that's good for 80's standards.
May 12, 2015
A surprisingly violent children's movie that is more entertaining if you envision it as a Total Recall-style scenario.
January 31, 2015
One of the most bizarre B-movies I have ever seen and that is saying something. The longer the film goes on, the more insane it gets.
August 23, 2014
Really?! Crazy movie! At the same time funny, disturbing, and just truly awful.
August 22, 2014
good movie the description reads like it was written by someone who didnt watch the movie. top movie
August 16, 2014
(First and only viewing - In my early twenties)
Page 1 of 15