Chillerama - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Chillerama Reviews

Page 1 of 6
½ May 26, 2017
More like a send up to the works of Troma rather than drive-in B-movies. As an anthology film, the quality is obviously inconsistent and It misses the mark about as much as it hits it. The framework story is the highlight and to be honest I wish It made up the entirety of the film. Beyond that we've got two decent segments, one unbelievably misguided and borderline inept segment and one unwatchable final half segment that appears to be some dopey audience fake out joke. I wouldn't actually recommend this but the few times that it works, it can be a very funny and very gooey compilation of bad taste.
February 4, 2017
"This film will rape you with your own feces"
January 12, 2017
It's the last night of a drive-in cinema's operation, and the owner ( Cecil played by Richard Riegle) decides to showcase some never-before-seen gems. Unfortunately, during the night, the patrons turn into sex crazed zombies and overrun the place. It's up to our heroes, Toby (Corey Jones), Mayna (Kaili Thorne), and Ryan (Brendan McCreary) to fight off the zombies with the assisstance of the owner.

The movies within this movie aren't very good, but the wrap-around story is very entertaining and fun. Our 4 leads are very likable, and I appreciate that they are all super big film nerds (Though there are a few too many quotes used from famous films). Overall, Chillerama is not the greatest anthology horror film. It's very silly, goofy, ridiculous and is bogged down in way too many sex and body jokes. That said, the wrap around segment is good enough that I'd say it's worth a watch for that part alone. It also needs more breasts.
½ September 13, 2016
One the best horror comedy anthologies ever made. With the exception of Tim Sullivan's musical segment (Which is still pretty funny) it's a near perfect raunchy romp.
August 8, 2016
I really appreciate what they were going for here and I love the concept, but the end result just comes across way to ingenuine and try-hard. The constant references and line drops were getting cringeworthy. Was hard to get through.
December 18, 2015
Really, really goofy horror anthology, it's not great throughout, but it's pretty funny at times.
½ June 5, 2015
I loved what they were trying to do with this movie. I think Adam Rifkin and Adam Green had the most enjoyable segments. Joe Lynch's wrap around story was also very good.
½ April 1, 2015
I get it. They tried to make a movie that was bad, yet nostalgic to the classic raunchy-horror genre...but it's almost as if, when you do it on purpose, it just turns out bad. The script was terrible...the jokes left me saying "oh my god" after most of them...and not in a good tone. It's overall unoriginal, and not worth the sit-through, if you can actually sit-through it.
January 29, 2015
It has its moments and heir are plenty of good gags but overall fairly average. The 'wadzilla' story was by far the best. Richard Riehle is the balls. The scene where he goes mental with the shotgun quoting loads of one liners from various films is the quality. Overall wankish.
Super Reviewer
½ October 10, 2014
You know exactly what to expect when you have a horror anthology film...and that is a mixed bag. This film really is no exception. I'd say that out of the 4 shorts offered, only one of them is legitimately funny, at least in my opinion. The others vary from almost good to cringe worthy, which I will get to. But, with that said, I think the film exhibits a sheer love for horror films and its sheer insanity that is impossible to deny. That definitely elevates past what it naturally achieved on its own. Even the worst segment of the film, I Was a Teenage Werebear, exhibits an enthusiasm for outright silliness that I can't really hate it. The film employs a lot of raunchy, seriously, comedy that's certainly not for those with a weak stomach. It's not truly grotesque, but it is very juvenile. With that said, I'll review each short individually as there were only four of them in the entire movie.

Wadzilla: We start off the movie with a juvenile tribute to 50s horror films, most specifically Godzilla, as obviously implied by the title of the short. Basically, long story short, this short focuses on a giant sperm that's attacking the city. The main character takes this pill that makes him curl up in pain whenever he's aroused. Of course, when he finally lets the monster free, as literally as I can possibly be, it's revealed that his sperm has grown in size exponentially and he will continue to grow until it is destroyed, or it destroys the entire city. With a concept as silly as this, you know exactly what to expect. A lot of sperm jokes and the like. I think it certainly has its moments, like when they destroy the giant sperm, who's humping the Statue of Liberty, the entire town is covered in sperm. It is as gross, if you have a weak stomach, as you can imagine. But, by and large, the short is definitely very hit and miss. It's a great short to start off the anthology with since it is relies so heavily on the visual of a giant sperm killing people, and I think at the very least that'll grab people's attention, but it just doesn't really do enough with its concept to make it more than just a hit and miss affair. Of course, that's not exactly fair to this short since there are time constraints, but I think this could've been much better. Still think this is a very loving, but gleefully immature, tribute to monster films from times past.

I Was A Teenage Werebear: As I mentioned in the first paragraph of the review, I think this is easily the worst of all the shorts in the movie. It's just way too long for its own good, even in its final cut and it doesn't have as many laughs as any of the other shorts. This short spoofs the beach party movie genre from the 60s with a bit of a horror twist. Basically, long story short, a bear, in gay culture, is a large, hairy man who presents an image of masculinity. In fact, the most clever thing about this film is its title. Since, knowing nothing about this film prior to it, I originally thought instead of people turning into werewolves, they would turn into bears. So they gave it a little bit of a gay twist, literally. But, like I said, it's the least funny short in the entire movie. It has some good musical scenes, fitting right in with the beach party movie genre, and some good gore. But it never really comes together as a whole. It's clear that this was a blast to film, so I can't hold it that much against them, but no amount of energetic passion can save this short from being below average. You can imagine how lackluster this is when this one actually drags quite a bit.

The Diary of Anne Frankenstein: This is easily THE best short of the anthology. Of course, it's easily the most offensive out of them all, which really adds to how entertaining it actually is. One of my favorite parts of this one is after Hitler kills the entire Frank family, he instructs the soldier to take the diary, write it as Anne Frank, put a bunch of depressing stuff in the diary and that they'll make millions off it after the war is over. Nothing like poking fun at a diary that has inspired millions of people. I'm all for black comedy to be perfectly honest, so I was perfectly fine with this. But there's no denying that, for some, this is pushing the boundaries of bad taste. Particularly after Hitler creates his Jewish monster, whom he named Meshugganah. His appearance is about as stereotypically Jewish as you can imagine. Again, I found it funny, others might not. I'd suggest that this would be more of a tribute to the old Universal horror films from the early part of the decade until the 40s, but really it mostly reminds me of Young Frankenstein. That is if Young Frankenstein tried as hard as it possibly could to offend a large section of earth's population. This is ironic really, considering that Young Frankenstein is in itself a tribute to the Universal horror films. Joel David Moore, who played Hitler, absolutely stole the show with his performance. He was so gleefully over-the-top and ridiculous that it was a joy to watch him. The rest of the cast was clearly having a good time being as silly as they possibly could. Unfortunately though, this one also drags a little bit. Not as much as I Was A Teenage Werebear, but it still dragged. Thankfully it got right back on track with its finale, which was pretty incredible. I loved this one really. If the other shorts were better than they were, I'd have no problem giving this film 3 stars, it'd be mostly because of this, but this would be a considerably better movie. If you need to watch one short out of this, it should definitely be this one.

Zom-B-Movie: This is the one that really connects all the other shorts together, so it doesn't really have much to do other than that. The pulled a red herring because I thought there was gonna be another short, instead of this one, called Deathication. It was literally a bunch of a shit flying around on screen, basically the projector got fucked up by the zombies and Deathication was to be no more. Probably a good thing too, because I wasn't liking where Deathication was going. It would've been an awful way to end the film. I realize that, given the structure of the shorts themselves, that this one had to go on last, but I really think that The Diary of Anne Frankenstein should've closed out the film. I get why it didn't, again, it wouldn't have made sense given how they were structured, but you want to go out on top right? At the very least, this one has a lot of gore and ridiculously over-the-top sex. That's all I can really say about it, and it also has a lot of film references that any self-respecting film nerd will pick instantly pick up on. I'd say this was the second best short in the film almost by default. It was just a little more tightly-scripted than Wadzilla, and I think it ended up giving us more with less than Wadzilla gave us more with, well, more. Fun cast again, nothing to complain about there. And this short definitely makes want to go to a drive-in theater even more. This is something I've wanted to do for over a decade now, if I had to make a bucket list, going to a drive-in would be on that list. Good gore and decent amount of comedy.

Really, while this is a tribute to past incarnations of the horror genre, in all its forms, in many ways, this is also a tribute to the midnight community that keeps these films alive. The end of the film sees people in a theater applauding at what the madness they had just witnessed. And, I don't know, but there was something about seeing that that brought a sense of pride in me, even though I've never even been to a midnight screening, about how cool this community can be sometimes. And I liked that little nod to the community that makes these films achieve cult status. Rocky Horror Picture Show wouldn't be as big as it is today without the midnight audience. But I've already kept this review long enough. This film wouldn't have gotten this score if it wasn't for The Diary of Anne Frankenstein, even if none of the other shorts themselves were downright awful, it just wouldn't have been as 'good' without the Frankenstein short. But I think this would be an even better movie to watch with a group of friends. I think watching the film like that would be a blast. At least if you're all like-minded. Average movie at best though, not the best anthology horror film I've ever seen. Not nearly the worst either.
September 21, 2014
Enjoyable camp celebration of camp cinema at the drive-in, although way too long.
½ July 14, 2014
Tries to parody 70s anthology films but it's so unfunny, it's not worth the few genuine laughs it does have to offer. Didn't finish it.
February 2, 2014
There is one short that's worth the enjoyment to watch. "The Diary of Anne Frankenstein" mixes that old time drive-in horror film with a Mel Brooks spoof. The rest of this film is a mess
February 1, 2014
A wanna-be TROMA, crude & lewd. Funny if youre a 10 y/o boy.
½ December 23, 2013
A homage to drive-in B flicks, these films in a film were laughable and enjoyable until the last feature ruin it...
October 16, 2013
In aiming for parody they overdid the cheeseyness
½ September 8, 2013
horror comedy collection of old b movie style story's.aixed bag but still funny. 1 great story,2 good story's and 1 I couldn't get into. killer giant sperm,high school musical mixed with a werewolf film,adolf hitler vs Frankenstein and weird sexual zombies?? you read all of them right!!
September 1, 2013
The trailer looked so promising cheesy and promoted trashy fun, but the movie itself is cheap, amateurish and silly (in a bad way). What a disappointment...
½ June 17, 2013
A low budget omnibus that's an ode to even lower budget drive-in movies. It's mostly unfunny and obnoxious... but it has flashes of fun in 'Wadzilla', a tale of a monstrous rampaging sperm! and in the bizarre b&w pseudo German language 'Diary of Anne Frankenstein' !
June 17, 2013
A tribute to the drive-in B Movies. The worst Best Anthology in the movies history.
Page 1 of 6