Children Underground - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Children Underground Reviews

Page 1 of 5
April 26, 2017
Sad and shocking. Very cool documentary
January 2, 2016
This would bring tears to a glass eye. A very, very sad situation for the children profiled here. Living in a subway station and huffing paint fumes all day. I can't even imagine living that kind of existence.
April 15, 2014
An estimated 20,000 children are living homeless in Bucharest due in part to the illegalization of contraceptives and abortions. These are a few of their unbelievable stories.
August 13, 2013
One of the best (and saddest) documentaries I've ever seen.
July 26, 2013
This powerful film documents the life of homeless children and will leave you reevaluating your perception of homelessness, drug use, and mental illness. At times, the movie is almost too intense to watch, as children are neglected, disregarded, and abused. However, when the camera finds these kids years later and more grown up, you empathize with their lost and broken mental state in a way I've never felt so acutely. It is easy to disregard our societal 'others' as insane or simply bad. Children Underground left me questioning this understanding and trying to place the homeless, insane, and criminal we all try to ignore in the light of their past experiences and our shared humanity.
December 12, 2012
This documentary is absolutely gut wrenching. It is amazing what people can walk by and ignore. It is amazing how people can beat children in such an inhumane way. This film seriously broke my heart.
November 3, 2012
Eye-opening, distressing & very difficult to watch.
August 20, 2012
A bit repetitive, but very disturbing.
July 30, 2012
provocative, bone-chilling and captivating.
½ June 18, 2012
Scary/Sad docu abt homeless children
½ April 4, 2012
Powerful. Evocative. Unimaginable.
February 11, 2012
This was a great and heartbreaking story.
Super Reviewer
½ January 6, 2012
Tremendously depressing story about young kids in Bucharest who spend their lives engaged in violence with one another and getting high on homemade goop. See it when you need to be saddened.
October 29, 2011
It's a well done documentary, but where's the line between being a documentary and exploitation of a situation?
August 25, 2011
This is not a Ken Burns documentary with flowing music and quaint personal narratives to soften the blow. Children Underground is a raw, unpolished look at very young children fending for themselves in an underground station and why they prefer that life to their homes and to the orphanages and institutions that they left behind.
July 27, 2011
This documentary takes a look at the lives of several Romanian children who live on the street. Some suffer mental illness and most come from broken homes.
½ April 2, 2011
kisah budak jalanan yg hampir mengingatkan koi pada movie daun di atas bantal karya garin nugroho ...
bezanya children underground tak ada skrip.

selain tu , koi mula melihat romania selepas era Ceausescu dari sisi lain yg berbeza.

tak macam movie2 dari romania yg koi pernah tgk sebelum ni, semuanya tengok kejatuhan rejim komunis Ceausescu sebagai positif untuk rakyat romania

tapi cerita ni macam melihat sisi buruk romania tanpa komunisme.zaman commy, anak jalanan langsung tak wujud.
½ January 27, 2011
no more docs about impoverished children around the world for me for awhile. this one did me in.
the filmmakers held onto their cameras (as opposed to setting them down and intervening in the subjects' lives) much longer than i could have. as a reward for their efforts, they capture some jaw-dropping footage.
December 3, 2010
Emotionally, this is a tough film to watch but it(TM)s well worth the sacrifice to learn about the fate of so many children in Romania.
October 28, 2010
This movie reconfirmed in my heart why I one day want to do documentaries about mission work... preferably while I do mission work.
Page 1 of 5