Cherrybomb - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cherrybomb Reviews

Page 1 of 8
March 24, 2015
Cherrybomb Is A Wonderfully Satisfying Movie, With Top-Notch Actors This Movie Is Spectacular And Fresh.
½ June 9, 2014
The movie was okay but wouldn't be interested in watching it again. Some annoying characters.
½ December 25, 2013
Ugly girl, hot guys!
August 22, 2013
I think I can safely skip this one.
½ July 27, 2013
wow. that was boring. watched it all the way fro rupert and robert though :|
½ July 27, 2013
wow. that was boring. watched it all the way fro rupert and robert though :|
May 28, 2013
It was an amazing movie, with a well-chosen cast full of adrenaline! I would definately recommend it to every teen.
February 27, 2013
Outstanding narrative and acting from everyone 5/5
January 22, 2013
I saw this film and was highly disappointed as I was recommended to watch it . this film is the same all of the way through 2 boys constantly fighting over a girls who seems like she doesn't give a crap about them, so you as a viewer or I should I say think well she is a slut looking for some attention from some desperate lads. Even though Luke is kind of hot (which was the best thing of this film) his story was the most feeling his dad going crazy as he is a druggie and feeling he is the worst father and Luke will do better without him. The party in the 'Titanic' what a name to call sports and leisure centre you instantly know this is going to crash and sink , party starts of fun drinking , drugs and when its all over DEATH. the end you don't know whether they get sent down , set free or what .... I'm sorry this was just a waste of my night , it just wasn't interesting enough for me but i suppose we are all different :D
November 20, 2012
: cherry cherry boom boom.
November 19, 2012
After watching the trailer for "Cherrybomb", I had great expectations about this one. It looked dark and raw and sexy. But I was a bit disappointed. Not that it was not interesting to watch, but it felt like something was missing, something was not enough.

The storyline goes like this: Two 16-year-olds, best friends, fall for the new girl in town. She leads them both on and they compete over her, trying to impress her. The three fall into a twirl of alcohol, drugs, sex and violence.

The two friends are portrayed by Rupert Grint and Robert Sheehan. They were both excellent. Sheehan is always a joy to watch, there is a great career ahead of him. And Grint was a very pleasant surprise, basically supporting most of the film with his performance. Kimberley Nixon though, the girl that pulls the strings, did not stand up to the part for me. It didn't seem believable that she could affect them that much, I couldn't see "that something" in her.

Another reviewer compared this trio with the Effy/Freddie/Cook story in "Skins". I agree to the similarity and it is an excellent argument why "Cherrybomb" was not enough. Effy was a character you loved to hate. You could see why she had them crazy over her. The love/hate friendship between Freddie and Cook was very touching. And it was much more raw and violent, really leaved you with a wow/punch-in-the-stomach kind of feel. "Cherrybomb" tried for this feel too and didn't quite get there...

The cinematography was interesting, I liked the dark colors and it got across the feeling of despair and confusion of adolescence. But still I expected more, it was a bit superficial, not strong enough, not daring enough perhaps, to shock you, to really get to you.

Kudos for the ending and the soundtrack. Could have been better, but it's still worth watching.
September 29, 2012
Grint and Sheehan both play really strong characters, brilliant film!
September 8, 2012
Had its moments but nothing amazing. Good performanes from Grint, Sheehan and Nixon, plus good chemistry between the leads helps, but generally a fairly standard run-of-the-mill teenage angst in harsh urban environment story. Nixon's character is fairly unlikable but luckily Sheehan's ability to make fairly horrendous characters likable helps enormously. Grint's fairly good in his first decent post-potter role but it did weird me out somewhat seeing little Ronnie Weasley having sex!
July 6, 2012
Irish teens on the road to love and rebellion. Nothing too extraordinary or shocking.
July 1, 2012
This was just awful. So disappointing. Robert Sheehan is fantastic and, to be fair, all of the acting is good, even James some-eedjit-has-cut-my-niece's-hair Nesbitt, but the story is rubbish. I like Kimberley Nixon but she just had zero charisma in this, which makes the boys' pursuit of her completely unbelievable. Absolutely no chemistry between her and Rupert either.

It starts of with a teaser of what's going to happen at the end, with Rupert all battered and bloody. This is, at best misleading, and at worst gives false promises of some actual drama to the audience.

Don't bother watching this, rubbish.
June 23, 2012
reminds me of an era once gone.
June 22, 2012
Good film with a weird start that makes sense at the end. Where Police are interviewing two people at the start for murder it then tells the story how they got there.
June 17, 2012
When will I get to see this movie! I want it NOW!
June 16, 2012
Not bad, predictable storyline, bad ending.
½ June 16, 2012
Oh God, The Accents...
Page 1 of 8