Cheaper by the Dozen - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cheaper by the Dozen Reviews

Page 1 of 47
January 4, 2018
A sweet family friendly tale, based on a true story.
November 6, 2016
A great movie soured by an unexpected and abrupt ending.
November 3, 2016
Some of the info on the page about this movie is wrong. It was released in 1950 not 2003. This film is entertaining to watch. be prepared to cry at the end .
Super Reviewer
December 26, 2014
The original "Cheaper by the Dozen" is based on the autobiography of the real Gilbreth clan, who lived in early 20th century New England. The film is queerly obsessed with the olden days, and how great they were. Headed by patriarch Frank (Webb) the family of twelve moves to another state, gets a big house, and shenanigans ensue. Tonsils are removed, makeup and heels are denigrated, there's a school dance, and a dog somehow takes residence in the home. Webb's character is supposed to be wacky yet strict, but he comes off as a loudmouth sexist. His often slut shames his daughter (Crain) who is just trying to be a normal teenage girl. He talks a lot about the virtues of marriage, the inefficiency of others, and his own warped, often outdated views, on a plethora of other subjects. I understand that this may have been the tone of family life in the twenties, but language such as this has no bearing on a family film in the early fifties. Frank is always trying to show how efficient he can make certain processes, but in the midst of it he often talks down to people and basically insults everyone's intelligence. It's a film that tries to be sweet natured, but Webb's dialogue comes off like a mean girl lecturing on morality. It comes off as fake and twisted, tarnishing any family value it tries to exact.
December 25, 2014
My dad loved the dance music when Frank is dancing with his daughter. I do, too, but it's hard to come by it. The scene near the end where the little son blurts out in grief that 'our daddy is dead!" is pure genius; I'll bet there wasn't a dry eye in the house.
½ May 19, 2013
Already seen loved it then good family fun bit dated for this generation more the pity
½ April 19, 2013
Extremely memorable family comedy. I really can't get it out of my head. Perhaps, it's because Clifton Webb reminds me so much of my grandfather.
March 7, 2013
Pretty true to the book, which I loved as a kid. I'm not interested in seeing the remake, though.
½ March 1, 2013
i prefer it with steve martin but both are good
February 3, 2013
A surprisingly dull tale which comes across as a sequence of scenes and doesn't really have a plot. The performances here are quite good and there are flashes of effective humour, but this is an otherwise forgettable offering.

It was followed by 'Belles on Their Toes' in 1952 and remade, in-name only, in 2003.
½ January 28, 2013
Great flick..Fun for all ages...
January 10, 2013
A great movie... inspired me to have a big family... not with 12 kids though!
½ December 30, 2012
Cheaper by the Dozen is an entertaining film. It is based on the real-life story of the Gilbreth family. Clifton Webb and Myrna Loy give excellent performances. The screenplay is well written. Walter Lang did a great job directing this movie. I enjoyed watching this motion picture because of the humor and drama. Cheaper by the Dozen is a must see.
December 27, 2012
Im not interested in the storyline.
November 22, 2012
still the best version of this story
November 11, 2012
great film, I want it on dvd, it was better than what I expected, it's completely different story to the 2003 remake, I loved it, it was a great film, Clifton Webb played a good part
October 26, 2012
quite a laugh, worth getting on
October 19, 2012
I would love to see this version...
October 1, 2012
While the book is better, the Gilbreth's have changed my life. Since reading the book I've forever thought about time efficiency while doing everything especially in the tub.
Page 1 of 47