Castle in the Sky - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Castle in the Sky Reviews

Page 1 of 222
May 4, 2019
Interesting action movie by Miyazaki with beautiful visuals and soundtrack
May 3, 2019
I rarely watch Japanese animes because they are mostly lack of good stories, awesome animations, etc. Most of Japanese animes I saw were kind of dramas, the animations are very bad and characters are so ugly. Moreover, the stories are not that strong to be my taste. So, I always avoid Japanese animes.

I just said that I don't watch Japanese animes, it doesn't mean I don't see one. Some local TV channels in my country air Japanese animes and so, I sometimes see them and didn't like them because the stories are very bad.

Laputa: The Castle in the Sky is the first Japanese anime I watched and also it's the only one I loved. When I saw this anime on a website, the reason why I decided was two main characters were kind of cute and lovely. So, I watched it and I loved it.

The story is not so simple and not so complicated. But because of the director, it turned out to be a good one. What I love about this anime is how Sheeta and the leader of those pirates became friends.

I don't like the castle though. The castle is kind of ruined. Maybe it's because it is ruined in the story. So, the anime creators did like that. But it still works.

The anime was produced in 1986 (way before I was born) but the quality is unbelievably good. I haven't a clue before I saw it's production year. When I saw it, I can't believe it because the anime is too good.

What I love most is the end credit song. That song is so cool.

All in all, for some people, the anime might be kind of inferior to those ones produced in 20th centuries but as for me, it's the best Japanese anime I've ever seen. It's totally worth spending time.
April 26, 2019
Air pirates, army and government agents wants to abduct Sheeta, a girl with mysterious necklace with crystal pendant. She meets boy by the name of Pazu who plans to construct a plane and set off in search for the flying city of Laputa. During the movie we learn that in the past mankind mastered the technology which enabled construction of flying cities, but after an unnamed disaster survivors continued to live on the ground. The story of this anime is very easygoing and tender, but at the same time it opens up very serious issues concerning the relationship of man and civilization towards nature, while rethinking the essence of modern development and what is usually accepted as progress.

It's easy to notice similarity between the shape of the central tree that dominates Laputa, a symbol of prosperity, harmony and security, and the atomic mushroom created by the main weapon of this flying city. On the example of Laputa we can expose fundamental contradictions of imperialism / world system: Laputa is a paradise for those who live in it (in the centre of the world system), while at the same time it's bringing destruction to those who live on the ground (on the periphery of the world system). Equally important contradiction can be also seen in relation of the civilization towards the planet: while we are hypocritically promoting recycling and separating the glass, plastic and paper, at the same time corporations annually cut down between three and six billion trees, without any serious social resistance or critique.

Laputa shows that harmful effects of technology are consequences of the choice of those who control the technology to use it in this way, or to simply ignore warnings and its harmful aspects. They appropriate benefits of technology for themselves, while transferring (externalizing) harm and problems to the rest of society. Miyazaki, the master of animation who grew up in postwar Japan, is careful not to opt for one of the sides in the false dilemma "technology or nature" and uses the metaphor of Laputa to construct a positive reference point against which we can critically observe our society.

The name Laputa comes from Swift's novel Gulliver's Travels, where exists a flying island of the same name whose residents use their technology for political domination. Political will for domination through technological superiority marked not only the twentieth century, but also of the previous millennia of civilization development. Laputa sends us the message that a sustainable civilization must renounce war as a way of life, and especially imperialism as inherently destructive social form. Laputa creates a longing in us to realise a balance between nature and technology - a society that will achieve symbiotic unity of the ecosphere and the technosphere.
March 21, 2019
Probably one of the best fantasy films of the 80s/90s.
March 9, 2019
This was the movie that started it all for Studio Ghibli, and it delivers on a high note with wonderful animation,great characters, and amazing storytelling. Castle in the Sky is a special treat for everyone.
½ February 3, 2019
Compared to Miyazaki's other films, this entertaining action-adventure is half as memorable but double as fun
½ November 13, 2018
Castle in the Sky is exactly what you'd expect from a Miyazaki film. It features a bizarre storyline with surreal characters and beautiful animation. It's easy to get caught up in this world of flying cities and sky pirates and suspend your disbelief. It's a simple and magical story.
November 8, 2018
Another classic in the anime industry
½ November 6, 2018
This film was almost good.
October 27, 2018
One of my favourite movie. Beautiful story and visuals.
October 24, 2018
beautiful animation, beautiful story
July 26, 2018
Good movie.
Rating: 7.6/10.
July 10, 2018
One of the lesser films in Miyazaki's canon. Never quite comes together to become a great film, but being 'merely' a good one, it's still a few notches above so much else these days.
May 30, 2018
A young boy encounters a young girl who floats down from the sky and becomes involved with pirates, government agents and the search for a legendary floating castle. I love Miyazaki, but this is a film I like, but don't love. It's an immensely creative film and an often beautifully animated film, but it has a kind of wacky anime tone that I really dislike. It feels like a formative film that has a tone that's typical for the genre that none of his future work would have.
½ May 9, 2018
Castle in the sky tells an incredibly heart felt tale that you are sure to remember for the rest of your life.
March 25, 2018
Can I give this 10 stars? My fav. Miyazaki
½ February 22, 2018
One of Miyazaki's funniest and most entertaining films. Works with strong anti-war and peaceful leadership themes, although in the end does not quite reach the profundity achieved by some of his later films. It still stands as a beautiful experience.
February 8, 2018
Love the ambiguous but intersting opening, it leaves one guessing what is really going on. I love how different and opposite the girl and the boy are, they make a good team. They're really cute together. This is a wonderful adventure movie. That old hag is fueled by greed, brute of a woman. But that guy with shades is just as bad if not worse.

Real beautiful that cave scene. It was like they were teleported to the center of the universe. That robot sure is really powerful. Intersting to see all these different groups of people who want the crystal. It's almost as if the crystal is too powerful for anyone to own it.

Great adventure of a movie! Reminds me a lot of Indiana Jones. That was funny how all the crew members were trying to help the girl because they were all falling for her.

Wow, Laputa is even more beautiful than I anticipated. It's like an oasis. Seeing the same little cat creature that was in Nausicaa, made me gasp. You can see that greed fuels evil and vice versa when the army arrives to Laputa and they start pillaging all the treasure. I'm glad it ended the way it did. No one should have all that power. There must be a balance.

Overall, this is an epic adventure movie with a great cast of characters.
½ February 1, 2018
A fun adventure story for anyone looking for the island in the sky.
½ January 3, 2018
So beautiful. Miyazaki movies are for kids, but they are capable of melting anyone's heart. They are encouraging, they teach a lot and they are not simple in their judgments. The question of the group of pirates who become so lovable throughout the film is an example of the Japanese's ability to create characters without destiny, without being totally good or evil, only human. The story unfolds very well, although it has a few moments of slip. A wonderful film, but one that must be watched in Japanese because the American dubbing is horrible.
Page 1 of 222