Career Girls - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Career Girls Reviews

Page 1 of 4
May 17, 2015
The late Katrin Cartlidge plays a very major role in bringing what appears to be a character study of two old college friends attempting to reconnect to be a very sharp and observant commentary on human nature.
October 6, 2014
A few people I know have labelled this film 'depressing'. A few of the others (those with a human heart and not a metal one) have called it a masterpiece. And I second that.

As a massive fan of Mike Leigh's work I was going to either like this film or love it, and 'Career Girls' turned out to be one of the films that I never tire of watching over and over.

The late, great Katrin Cartlidge puts in a truly inspiring performance that lets you briefly witness the insecure character of the usually abrasive woman she's playing.

Anyone who's been to college or university will love the nostalgic elements to this, and some, like me, will love the soundtrack (The Cure are featured prominently).

Career Girls isn't just a college kids movie though. It's a heartfelt and extremely well-observed look at the joy and pain of relationships and life itself. A triumph.
November 10, 2013
very, very funny and yet, poignant too. great performances from the two actresses playing the protagonists. very bittersweet, brilliant actually.

not sure it'd be appreciated by younger (read: 20s) females , or dudes. a rather "reminisce about the days,reflect about life" kinda movie.
September 11, 2013
I'm a big fan of Mike Leigh's dramas, and although there were bits that I didn't appreciate much, such as that weird, rambling Ricky, I really enjoyed a lot of it. I preferred the girls as mature women in the current day to their younger selves in the Eighties.
½ August 10, 2013
Just didn't get where the entertainment value was supposed to come from with this! It follows a couple of girls as they reunite after their uni days, rekindling the memories of their times together, and encountering numerous familiar faces from their past. It just had the feel of a documentary as opposed to a comedy and the concept was just a bit dull. Nothing wrong with the acting as this was portrayed pretty well, but this doesn't make a film alone. I'm surprised by the reviews this has got, and the high praise it has received from critics and the general audiences who've endured it, as I was literally falling asleep through parts of this (maybe I missed the good bits). It's very difficult to relate to as although I've been to uni, only life inside the house was depicted in the movie, and having never been part of an all-girl house it's not something I can understand. I just couldn't sit through this one again as I wasn't engrossed at any point, only impressed by the strength of the actors portrayal of slightly simple personalities. I can see why I'd never heard of this film before, and part of me wishes I'd not been nosey and found this amongst my mothers DVD collection. The other part of me is reflective in realising that I now that my mother and me have very opposing tastes, and I won't be keen to try any more of her cinematic favourites!
½ July 11, 2013
Develops into an insightful meditation on the nature of friendship, as well as a peek into the psyches of two people who think they've dealt with the past but have actually only pushed it aside.
October 24, 2012
Another fine cracker from Mike Leigh
½ July 20, 2012
Once you get past the overbearing OTT ham acting of the pair as students then it becomes a very enjoyable movie. It's quite surprising how you become so attached to the characters in such a short time really.
½ May 26, 2012
Boring and British...not a good combination.
½ April 27, 2012
Another dependable from Mike Leigh. His characters are never fully real, in that they are charicatures of real people in real situations. They are always recognizable as are the very ordinary lives in which they live. Leighs gift is that he is able to use his over the top characters and his very affectionate humour to tug at the humanity within us and bring out our empathy. This is a story of friendship, how it survives over time even when people change dramatically and how some people fall by the wayside and don't fair so well. Such is life and Mike Leigh does life in a very tender and funny way.
½ January 14, 2012
Z pozornie banalnego pomys┼,u (spotkanie wsp├│┼,lokatorek po latach) - wielkie kino. Dla tych, co lubi─... ┼>mia─ si─(TM) ogl─...daj─...c bardzo smutne historie. Pisanie o absolutnie unikalnej jako┼>ci aktorstwa w filmach Mike'a Leigh chyba nie ma sensu (musia┼,abym si─(TM) nieustaj─...co powtarza─).
December 24, 2011
Such a cunning little altruistic parasite this guy [Leigh] is. I start the film saying to myself: "The music is awful, the characters are way over the top - no way I'm gonna like this." But damn if he doesn't find a way to make me eat my words.
December 17, 2011
When a movie's only problem is being too realistic you have a winner on your hands. The characters lives' don't change overnight, there isn't a big happy ending and the outlook is somewhat bleak. Mike Leigh has a true slice of life picture on his hands here.
June 22, 2011
Really funny, really moving and great performances! Loved it! xc
January 21, 2011
I continue to enjoy my run through Mike Leigh's films. This one's use of flashback is particularly effective, as is Katrin Catlidge's performance (didn't realise she had passed away; very sad). Lynda Steadman, on the other hand, is a bit too mechanical and forced. As par for the course in Leigh's films, there's no plot, but you still get the requisite climactic scene, which is quite sobering in this instance. Quite a good film.
December 19, 2010
Det h├Ąr ├Ąr nog min absoluta Leigh-favorit, tillsammans med Naked. S├ą j├Ąvla tragiskt bara att Katrin Cartlidge har g├ątt bort.
½ November 17, 2010
What a nice movie...a simple story with great performances and direction...watch it
November 9, 2010
Another fine cracker from Mike Leigh
½ July 13, 2010
This has become a favorite. The leads are fantastic, amazing to watch and the comparison of the younger and older characters is just right. Some rough scenes where people aren't nice to each other, but ultimately a very affirming movie about the power of friendship and growing into ones self.
Page 1 of 4