Captivity - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Captivity Reviews

Page 1 of 399
May 5, 2019
I was able to guess all the important facts of this movie. Some aspects were just gross and morbid. I usually check these numbers out more carefully. I use them as a guideline. Wasted 80 minutes I'll never get back. I wouldn't recommend.
½ December 29, 2018
One of the worst films of all time. I cannot stand torture porn but given the subject and the way it is handled I can make exceptions. However this is just an excuse to gross out the audience. There are those who will call Captivity misogynist, and I can't argue with the label. However, I think it lets the film off too lightly - this movie is hateful to everything and everyone, not just women. It is contemptuous of its characters and its audience. If there is another challenger for worst entry of 2007, I don't want to see it. Captivity might be bearable if it was well acted and told an interesting story, but it's not either. The performances by Elisha Cuthbert and Daniel Gillies are so over-the-top that they would be at home in a straight porn movie. The screenplay has three levels: dumb, dumber, and dumbest. (Torture porn has never been so unappealing. Give this a miss).
½ November 25, 2018
Watch the original Saw instead for a more intelligent experience.
October 1, 2017
i love elisha cuthbert
September 14, 2017
U wanna ripoff saw and hostel? Fine go ahead. Just don't expect anyone to care. If u wanna ripoff other horror films, can they at least be decent and not crap like the two mentioned. There are a few scenes where it genuinely feels like Cuthbert and Gillies are rehearsing their lines instead of reciting them. Complete lack of chemistry between the two and at least one gaping plot hole for good measure.
July 23, 2017
Not bad, starts off with a little torture, a little plot twist, nothing too crazy. It kept my attention the whole time. Elisha Cuthbert is hotness.
May 28, 2016
I thought for sure a bunch of film students made this film. It's terribly amateurish, follows no coherent plot, and seems to be the purest "torture porn" film Hollywood has ever produced... Surprise, surprise, this was made by filmmaking veterans! ... What the heck? So... Apparently this film is also completely different in Spain. We got some weirdo gore'd up version, because Americans are sick freaks. Well, we are.

Anyway, slap on a highly feminist ending and we have redeemed the whole movie, right? We'll roll with that.

Special Note: The inclusion of the Suzy dog is truly the only thing in this film that actually bugged me. The rest of it I thought was film students thinking they were shocking. But blowing away a dog with a shotgun for the lolz? We have a problem. Fear not, that wasn't the case... But we did get a terrible continuity issue between two notes explaining what happened.

Before Seeing: This movie will BLOW... but I am a male... I hate my Y chromosome.
May 11, 2016
I Loved Elisha Cuthbert In This Movie Because She Was So So Hot And Sexy?xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx??????????????????????????
July 27, 2015
Not Bad, Not Great, Just Kinda There
Super Reviewer
½ July 11, 2015
Like others have said, it has a "Saw-like" feel. Not overly shocking, except for one scene that I will be happy to never watch again.
June 30, 2015
Bad movie. It's plot is a tired retread of constant other kidnapping torture porn films, some of its imagery is so brutal and and gruesome, it would make Jigsaw grimace, and the performances are pretty bland, especially Cuthbert's.
June 26, 2015
Good... But it could've been better. It was made to look scary but it really wasn't. I do like the story line though. Great idea.
March 28, 2015
Would a woman who is being held captive by a sadistic kidnapper have sex with a fellow captive when she knows she has been watched on camera every minute of her captivity? A certain logic that the plot misses. This is compensated by a decent, original twist in the plot involving her fellow captive and his brother. Other than that it is a very average horror flick in the style of the latter Saw movies, but not as prepostorous as those were. It lacks psychological intense. Towards the end the plot is bereft of any original ideas.
March 8, 2015
It's not awesome, but it's better than the critics' reviews make it seem.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
A thriller in my taste , love this type of movies. Its about a woman waking up trapped in a cellar and there are some torture things going on there etc. A bit like saw but this movie isnt so violence as it sounds and more thriller style.. Anyway i enjoyed it and Elisha Cuthbert are always nice :) *Worth seeing*
½ October 29, 2014
There is no horror, there is no suspense, and there is nothing to say about psychopaths or their victims. There is only sleaze, nastiness, and sadism.
May 31, 2014
is it bad that i only want to see this for Elisha Cuthbert?
May 14, 2014
Expected more. Very low budget even though it has Elisha Cuthbert.
March 17, 2014
Might or might not go see it.
½ December 11, 2013
A really bad movie with absolutely horrible acting
Page 1 of 399