Captain Eo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Captain Eo Reviews

Page 1 of 8
January 14, 2020
A relic from the best years of Disneyland!
December 30, 2018
Of course this is not the best short of Disney, but it is very good, the actors were very good (you can see this perfectly in the scene of the final dance) and the soundtrack was very good. Highly recommend.
August 16, 2018
An Great Film with an good effects
With amazing cast and good song
And good story
Capitan EO is an great film is VERY recommended to Watch
October 8, 2017
I totally love this 3-D movie, I really like Michael Jackson is being Captain EO as Main character, before moonwalker as himself, but This is one is my favorite michael jackson movie of all time in Disney Park. actually I love message to Disney Park would like to thank u to Bring Captain EO Back to life in Epcot at Walt Disney World in Florida :D

Michael Jackson, I love all your songs so much and all your movies so much, I hope u will be missed so much
R.I.P. Michael Jackson(August 29, 1958 - June 25, 2009)
May 15, 2016
Captain Eo is Clever, Spectacular, and amazing
January 11, 2016
Best movie ive seen. If it has Michael in it, it is sure to be good. I suggest this movie for everyone to see if they want Disney, Music, Space, and cool Team working Aliens!
August 24, 2014
I remember seeing this short film as a boy, in 3D, being stunned by the magic that the king of pop was able to transmit on screen.
½ August 6, 2014
There are some weird things you can find out there on the internet. This is one of those weird things, "Captain EO" was a Disney attraction (well I guess since he died they recently re-opened the 3D attraction) that starred Michael Jackson as a Science-Fiction hero. This is weird enough, but it was directed by Francis Ford Coppola. Even weirder. There are goofy muppet-like puppets. The weirdness thickens. The music is by James Horner, while songs are provided by Jackson. Mucho Weirdo. This talent filled Disneyland Attraction is an odd little short film, I might be interested (if I ever return to Disney) to check this out (if it is still around), and see it in it's full 3-D experience. The whole thing is goofy, but it's a Disneyland thing...so who cares? Just interesting that you got the guy behind "The Godfather" behind this.
½ July 9, 2014
A slick, relevant, and enjoyable show to see if you're visiting the Epcot park. It's good since the story behind it is so fascinating and respectable.
May 17, 2014
Full of enough 80's cheesiness to make it worth going out of your way to see during your Disney vacation.
January 5, 2014
As a theme park attraction, its significance can't be understated. As an artistic entry, it leaves a lot to be desired. One of the biggest problems with this movie is the lack of color. Perhaps it goes with the theme of drabness that eventually gets danced away, but the lack of color contributed to a lack of depth, which is horrible for a 3D movie. If you see that the wait time is longer than 30 minutes, don't bother getting in line. It may have been worth it in 1986, but totally not worth it now.
September 30, 2013
So dumb, yet has the stench of the 80s to make me not completely hate it. Being fair, it was only shown at Disney Parks.
Super Reviewer
½ July 9, 2013
Amazing short 3D film which was only screened for about eight years at Epcot Centre in DisneyWorld, Florida, don't think you could see it anywhere else. Its basically 'Thriller' in space and just as cool, Jackson in one of his trademark jumpsuit style outfits, lots of buckles, belts, sparkle and this time its a nice white ensemble, much like something outta 'Star Wars'. Speaking of Star Wars Lucas was the writer for this and it does show in effects and alien designs, a cross between Muppets and cantina style aliens you may have seen in 'Jabba's' palace in 'Return of the Jedi'. There's also a nice 'Labyrinth' feel to one furry creature on Jacko's crew, its all very cute in a 'Flight of the Navigator' type way.

The special effects are basic but still kinda decent, there's a cheap but believeable look to them that only certain Hollywood effects people could pull off. Only during the 80's would you get away with this, yet its aged so well. The 3D of course is the main thing and as I remember it was brilliant!! really made you duckn dive for cover at certain times (when the alien/elephant guy throws a can at the screen, good little moment right there as I recall).

Makeup and costumes are excellent throughout as you would expect from all Jackson music videos, all the dancers look good and are on top form along with Jacko. The sets are obviously sets/soundstages but work well, nothing too original but it all looks magical enough. The makeup on Huston as 'The Supreme Leader' is really good and quite original in design, she looked like a 'Wheeler' from 'Return to Oz'.

The music isn't as memorable as 'Thriller' or anything else Jacko has done but its the sci-fi film aspect you come to see really. Its just a one off special event that looks damn good and is a great mindless mini adventure, nowadays is admittedly slightly dated but still thoroughly enjoyable. Another classic music video/mini movie from one of the greatest performers ever. Roll on the Bluray release.
June 5, 2013
The loudest movie I've ever seen!
May 24, 2013
it was good u can see it at disney world but it has the maker of star wars as a producer and that's what makes it great
February 21, 2013
I saw it in 3D, back in the day, at Disneyland or world (can't remember) It was fun, but short and kinda pointless.
February 17, 2013
The 3D effects in this short film from the 80s is still superior to any 3D that I've seen in the last couple of years.
½ February 6, 2013
This is terrible! I wish I could have that 17 minutes of my life back...
January 22, 2013
The greatest 3D short film ever!
½ January 13, 2013
Captain EO was very entertaining and awesome with 3-D. While it doesn't really stand the test of time, it was completely magical as a kid. Coppola and George Lucas were involved.
Page 1 of 8