Captain America: The Winter Soldier - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Captain America: The Winter Soldier Reviews

Page 2 of 15
April 22, 2014
A substantial disappointment after 2011's better-than-expected Captain America: The First Avenger...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 11, 2014
The movie doesn't use any time in establishing an identity, because it is obsessed with the thrill.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 18, 2014
If only the film's level of visual creativity could have been applied to the story, it might feel like a standalone success instead of merely another link in the chain.
March 30, 2014
I'm not saying that Captain America 2 is crap. But I don't see how anyone can claim that it is much better than a Very Special Episode of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.
April 1, 2014
At almost two-and-a-half hours, it's easily an hour too long...Too much of the first two hours, unfortunately, is dedicated to action scenes that are merely gunplay.
April 3, 2014
"Captain America" is everything a big budget superhero film should be - except inspired.
April 3, 2014
The signal-to-noise ratio on "The Winter Soldier" is all messed up, and the net effect is self-canceling. I enjoyed the movie while I was watching it, or I thought I did, but all that's left is an irritating buzz.
April 3, 2014
There are too many complicated relationships and back stories of which to keep track.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
April 4, 2014
The conspiracy plays out like the screenwriters read The Huffington Post after The PATRIOT Act but didn't know that TV's "Person of Interest" was already doing this.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/10
June 29, 2020
The Winter Soldier is an exciting thrill ride. It's as action-packed as The Avengers and just as fun.
July 16, 2020
Captain America: The Winter Soldier is a more grounded affair instead of something fantastical.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 16, 2019
I left the theater wanting to dropkick people and throw circular disks of patriotism at inequality.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
August 6, 2019
Actually, considering the character-based focus, reliance on a larger fictional world and jaw-dropping visuals, Winter Soldier feels like exactly what Marvel has made for generations: a truly great comic book.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
June 17, 2019
Redford's still got it and Mackie shines, but this is Evans' show: melancholy, emotive and unfailingly heroic, he grounds the spectacle with humanity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 5, 2019
It is rare to see a major tent-pole blockbuster like this one embrace such topical themes while remaining so light on its feet.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 10, 2019
The story gives a nod to his past but also boldly moves the story forward. I feel that there's truly something huge at stake here, not just for Captain America, but for everyone in the Marvel Cinematic Universe.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 31, 2019
The Winter Soldier is not just a good film. It's a great one.
December 7, 2018
There's a real resonance with everything that happens here, and all scenes and elements are essential to the story it's trying to tell. I have no real critique ...
Full Review | Original Score: 9.25/10
July 31, 2019
An exciting film that expertly uses modern moviemaking techniques, yet relatively minimal CGI, to meld aspects of the best classic espionage thrillers of the '70s and the fast-paced action of the current superhero flicks.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 1, 2018
Anyone doubting that Captain America is too silly or jingoistic a character for the times we live in will probably be silenced when they see this picture.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Page 2 of 15