Capricorn One - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Capricorn One Reviews

Page 1 of 20
March 8, 2019
truth in plain sight about the Apollo moon landings
January 27, 2019
The best thrilling movie ever made!
½ January 1, 2019
About 3/4 of the way through this very entertaining conspiracy thriller, I posited that there could only be two possible endings: 1) the conspiracy is exposed; or 2) the conspirators win. Since this was the 1970s, I expected the bleakest outcome (e.g., The Parallax View, 1974, if I am remembering correctly). However, bleak didn't always win (see All the President's Men, 1976,for example) - but just demonstrating that the conspiracy is out there was probably enough to fit the zeitgeist. In Capricorn One, we are shown how the moon landing could have been faked - except the script shows us a future mission to Mars instead (and Kubrick has nothing to do with it!). The astronauts (James Brolin, Sam Waterston, and O. J. Simpson) are kept in the dark until the very last moment when they are pulled from the rocket and transported to a secret military base that has been rigged up to look like the surface of Mars; they are told that their families will be harmed unless they cooperate and stage the Mars landing for the TV cameras. Although the plan for rescuing them from the capsule when it lands in the sea after the mission is carefully explained to them (by boss/friend/bad guy Hal Holbrook), it doesn't take long before they realise that they really aren't going to be allowed to live... Elliott Gould plays the clichéd alcoholic but intrepid reporter who stumbles onto the conspiracy (with help from Karen Black and Telly Savalas). Writer-Director Peter Hyams throws everything at the audience (stunts with cars, helicopters, airplanes), including all the usual conspiracy thriller elements, and comes up with fun popcorn fare.
½ December 31, 2018
This is an okay film that is highly responsible for all of these ding-a-lings who think the moon landing was faked. The movie isn't well paced and the script has some holes in it. Telly Savalas comes in at the end to add some much needed comedy relief.
September 2, 2018
Not great but good enough to watch.
½ June 18, 2017
Though this conspiracy thriller film isn't the best from the genre from the seventies (of which there were many) it still has enough going for it to make it an entertaining and engrossing watch. The cast is solid, I like the plot (even though it doesn't end in the most satisfying of ways), the script is decent, the score by Jerry Goldsmith is great and the action is well directed. Not the best effort by Peter Hyams but it does provide more evidence that he is capable of directing any kind of genre in a more than competent way.
½ September 16, 2016
With a largely good script, and decent performances from much of the cast the atmosphere is made suitably tense, keeping you gripped throughout. The ending is a little sudden and feels almost thrown away. Nevertheless, it's still a movie worth your time.
September 7, 2016
Even though the dialogue is creaky at times, this is an enjoyable and exciting bit of fluff. Lighter than other '70s conspiracy thrillers such as The Parallax View, but still keeps you gripped until the end.
July 15, 2016
Well, it has a great helicopter chase.
½ May 28, 2016
better than expected!
½ April 25, 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed this one, solid performances by a veteran cast, only the ending rings false.
October 26, 2015
Very entertaining film. Makes you wonder if this is what occurred during the moon landing?
September 9, 2015
This thriller gains point for it's boldness, uniqueness and provocative story. It looses points on almost everything else. However, it gets the message across and deserved to be mentioned as a part of the conspiracy world bible.
½ August 23, 2015
A good movie for the first hour but then it self destructs with glaring plot holes and conveniences.
April 23, 2015
I loved this movie. It had a fantastic ending. Everybody I know got the chills at the end of the movie. I can't think of another movie that I can say that for.
½ February 2, 2015
Ah, the cynical 1970s. The United States had lost the war in Vietnam and the American president resigned due to a two-bit burglary carried out by his aides at the Watergate hotel. This film is a byproduct of that period. A faked Mars landing is carried out. Due to a problem with the life support systems (due to the contractor cutting costs to maximize profits) the astronauts would die in space if they were sent out but the President is looking to trim the fat from his budget and if Mission Control scrubs the manned Mars flight, NASA may loose its funding. So the whole thing is faked and our three heroes (James Brolin, O.J. Simpson, and Sam Waterson) are convinced to go along with the ploy when their families are threatened. But when the remote-control module returns from Mars, it disintegrates in the atmosphere and Hal Holbrook and his shadowy masters do not want to explain to the President and Congress why the three heroic astronauts are still alive so they have to die. The three men escape into the desert chased by unmarked helicopter gunships. It hard to watch O.J. in a heroic role but the rest of the cast is pretty good. Elliot Gould plays a heroic reporter (Woodward and Bernstein were still heroes and Fox News hadn't reared its ugly head) who uncovers the truth, Brenda Vaccaro play's Brolin's character's wife, and look for Karen Black and Telly Savalas in bit roles. The film looks good, is exciting, and is well photographed. Unfortunately it fed conspiracy theorists who believe that we never landed anyone on the moon and encouraged writers to write books documenting the "moon-landing hoax." I guess if they hadn't written about that, they would have written books about the Bermuda Triangle. Ah, the cynical 1970s.
October 16, 2014
Great Sci Fi Movie about a Fake Mars Landing..Very Cool for it's Day James Brolin, O.J. Simpson star
½ September 11, 2014
A cracking piece of 70s paranoia film-making that offers a believable take on faking a Mars landing. Worth hunting down.
August 30, 2014
A boring film that isn't any fun. It has it's moments (very few) and will only be fun to absolute sci-fi-ish films and O.J. Simpson. Maybe not the ladder. 4/10 BAD
August 29, 2014
I can imagine conspiracy nuts going crazy over this film. It's a little overlong but it's a decently paced thriller with some good turns of the plot and entertaining dialogue, especially from Gould and Savalas.
Page 1 of 20