Capital in the Twenty-First Century - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 9, 2020
If you'd like to feel more confident about economics and you don't know where to start, this film will give you lots to get you thinking.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 4, 2020
Capital in the Twenty-First Century offers a useful primer on the growth of capitalism over the last 300 years and looks at where we're going.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 5, 2020
The new doc takes Thomas Piketty's book about the history of global wealth and power, boils it in a cinematic spoon, and injects it straight into your eyeballs. It does not feel good! But feeling good is so "pre-2016" anyway.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 12, 2020
Thoroughly entertaining and informative, but really shines in its charming use of movie clips to depict historical income and class disparity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
May 12, 2020
Speaks to the collective anger we all feel at the myriad systems failing us in such a critical time of need.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 9, 2020
It's a shot in the arm, a snap to attention that articulates-if you can keep up with it-just how we got to here.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 8, 2020
It all adds up to a non-revelatory but worthwhile and surprisingly watchable blend of an economics lesson, a pop-culture cocktail, and a call to action.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 7, 2020
The film is essentially an illustrated lecture, and though the accompanying visuals are well-chosen and smoothly presented, the important thing is that what's said is compelling.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 6, 2020
Attention, social justice warriors. French economist Thomas Piketty's howl-of-rage academic treatise is now a hugely engaging documentary, eye-opening and brutally entertaining. Man the barricades!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 5, 2020
This film serves as a reminder of what lessons we have to learn from our political & economic history. It reminds us that if we don't heed the warning signs from history that led us down the wrong path, we may be doomed to go there all over again.
May 4, 2020
the insightful and entertaining way that Pemberton and company deliver this message of doom gives me hope that some influential eyes can be open to make that change. Nah, that is not going to happen.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 3, 2020
A breezy treatment of the issues raised in Piketty's book, although the pop culture references are a bit too cute.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 3, 2020
Trust me this is a movie that provokes a consistent sense of "Whoa!" By the end, you'll know with greater clarity than you did before why we're in the mess we're in.
May 1, 2020
Enlightening documentary based on prophetic, best-selling book by French economist.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 1, 2020
A smart and eye-opening look at the current worldwide financial situation from its dubious past to its shaky future.
May 1, 2020
Based on the bestselling non-fiction book by economist Thomas Piketty, this important documentary uses a playful tone to balance its complex language, but the ultimate outlook is still pretty bleak.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 1, 2020
The film remarkably manages to cover the development of capitalism from its 18th-century beginnings through the fallout of the 2008 housing crisis without slogging.
May 1, 2020
Given capitalism's abject failure in the face of a pandemic, the film helps us to grasp the origins of the problem even if its neo-Keynesian solution falls short.
May 1, 2020
Rarely has a high-level economics lecture felt as urgent or compelling as in this persuasive documentary.
May 1, 2020
Pemberton delivers his message with a canny pop sensibility, and, crucially, provides a few glimmers of hope.
Page 1 of 2