Cameraperson - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cameraperson Reviews

Page 1 of 6
July 17, 2020
Memories shape who we are as individuals. With that context in mind, Cameraperson becomes one individual's noble attempt to capture those unforgettable moments in her life and forever memorialize them.
July 3, 2020
Gorgeous and captivating; full of themes of war, motherhood, and oppression; this is a compelling, moving look at the creative process and the people behind the camera.
Full Review | Original Score: A
June 9, 2020
Cameraperson is one of those rare viewing experiences that may really test your patience, and only you will know if that's a good or bad thing.
April 28, 2020
This is a film I won't soon forget, and a big part of me wants other notable documentary cinematographers to make movies just like it, telling their stories in a similar fashion.
April 5, 2019
Cameraperson comes alive with possibilities in every scene, mutating and evolving from moment to moment like an engrossing conversation.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 21, 2019
This profile offers a rich kaleidoscope of people and situations...
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 6, 2018
...this is the essay film at its finest, a personalized meandering through ideas and stories, at once autobiographical and universal.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 28, 2018
It serves as a peek behind the curtain of documentary filmmaking, exposing even more than what's usually shown in the genre.
October 4, 2018
It's a fascinating glimpse into the work of the person behind the camera, composing and fretting, making sure every shot is aesthetically sensible.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 25, 2018
An autobiography of sorts, Cameraperson demands we think beyond Johnson's own extraordinary career and reflect upon our own status as observers, and the ethical and emotional responsibilities that come with it.
August 21, 2018
As a collection of memories, Cameraperson resonates with a unique kind of melancholy.
January 24, 2018
Slow, subtle, yet ultimately mesmerizing, Cameraperson is a very personal testament to one exceptional filmmaker's love affair with her profession.
October 1, 2017
A tribute to what happens in front of the camera, how it is captured, and the eternal present of cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 18, 2017
By drawing no distinction between her personal and professional lives, [Kristen] Johnson suggests that she values her work as much as her family.
August 10, 2017
Cameraperson is at its best when it captures instances of unexpected life.
June 13, 2017
The title almost invites a comma - "Camera, Person" - but it's one word, one concept indistinct from the other. The person doesn't stop where the camera starts.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 4, 2017
Johnson's Cameraperson is nothing less than a masterpiece of documentary cinema, one that welcomes the complexities and contradictions of subjectivity.
April 14, 2017
A life behind the lens is examined in "Cameraperson," a fascinating, purposely disjointed documentary from director Kirsten Johnson.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 15, 2017
testament to the richness of Johnson's extensive work and the importance of the documentary form, and in that regard it is a moving, important film in its own right, even though I constantly felt like I was being spun out of it by my desire to see more
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 25, 2017
Cameraperson shows how the act of being filmed is a negotiation, and even without the initial context the emotional crux of certain sequences is wrenching.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 6