CAM - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

CAM Reviews

Page 1 of 7
May 18, 2019
Creative and realistic use of modern cam girl industry while remaining classy, clever, suspenseful and engaging, and a great story. Loved the ending! Recommended!
April 14, 2019
Powerful film, much in Cronenberg's and Lynch style, a psychological thriller like a contemporary Dr Mabuse in which corporations, in this case tech, drive the thin line between what's real and virtual. In this world of boring and unimaginative heroes blockbusters this sort of films are a real need.
April 12, 2019
Reading the audience reviews, I can see most who watched this movie are dumb as a box of rocks. You want everything spelled out for you, and a neat little bow on this package. So fine, I'll first explain what happened, then why I loved it:
*OBVIOUS SPOILERS*
So Lola uses her social network/cam networks so much that an algorithm was able to recreate her for cam shows. Think Black Mirror. Lola thinks it's a hacker, but truly it's just a digital clone the companies composetted with her info. So she was copied, locked out, and duped by the company who runs the cam program. In the end, she beats the AI. But she's still addicted to camming. So she simply creates a new identity online, which is the whole point: she's freaked out by watching herself and the persona she created. Its, in this case, quite literal.

This premise is not only relevant and has a sexy twist on the tech horror genre, it's executed in an AMAZINGLY scary way. My skin crawled at her clone. It reminds you how much we put online, and reminds us to ask the crucial question: what if that is wesponized against you?

It's great commentary on today's like addicted tech addicted sociopaths who would literal kill themselves on screen for that number one spot. What happens if a digital ghost takes over?

There, spelled it out for the clearly dumb and confused. Re-think your low ratings. This was a clever, well executed, and SCARY flick. And it's way better than Unfriended.
April 4, 2019
A horror movie for the modern age.
March 26, 2019
Is not a good movie. They never explain who take the account of Lola and the end of the movie is really bad.
March 25, 2019
A Relentless thriller!
½ March 24, 2019
I would give a negative star if I could, it's the worst movie I have ever seen. I don't recommended
½ March 19, 2019
Cam is a sad excuse for a horror or suspense film. WIth completely lacking and unlikable characters, the only thing sparing the film from being left early is the gorgeous colours and visual aesthetics. It provided no actual suspense and the film overall was a waste of time. The concept is brilliant and very modern but the execution was just horrible! Could have been so so much better. An utter disappointment.
March 18, 2019
A subject with a great potential but overall I was disappointed. The botched eding ruined the whole thing.
March 6, 2019
Interesting Premise went horribly awry. It was entertaining for a few minutes when the mysterious copycat plot begins (wayyy too long into the film fwiw) but then the mystery/horror elements kill the movie. They never resolve the main mystery, the climax isn't very logical, and the characters motivations are generally just kind of sad. I am completely shocked this movie has a 94% tomatometer. Its a bad netflix horror thriller.
March 5, 2019
I Cam(e), I Saw, I Liked (a haiku)

Cool thriller premise
Doesn't quite land the ending
But still worth a watch
½ March 4, 2019
"Cam" is an unsettling movie right off the bat and well before the more mysterious aspects of the plot kick in. Even when this movie can be uncomfortable, it is always engaging and kept my interest. The story plays out similar to a "Black Mirror" episode so I personally kept waiting to see what was going on. It's a movie that can be a conversation starter for various topics and I think it is consistently thrilling. I thought Madeline Brewer did a very good job in the lead role and her character was complex and intriguing. The movie isn't always a pleasant watch and near the end, it becomes a bit ludicrous, but there's no denying the merit the movie has in terms of being an effective thrill ride.
½ March 2, 2019
Worst movie I have ever seen in my life and Iï¿ 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2(TM)m almost 50 please God donï¿ 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2(TM)t waste ur time with this trash. No plot, no real outcome, horrible acting, ugly actress not plausible that sheï¿ 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2(TM)s a cam girl. This movie actually hurt me physically
March 1, 2019
Really creative and kind of different, I enjoyed this of-the-moment scary horror movie about social media.
February 26, 2019
Pointless waste of time! A movie full of an unexplained mystery that makes no sense and ends with the protagonist making no connection to the journey.
February 24, 2019
Critics are mental for giving this a high score. It's cringe-worthy and I felt myself losing some brain cells while watching it.
February 23, 2019
Wow, ..
Cam world is another underworld of black mirror.
Gripping mystery.
Great climax.
½ February 17, 2019
Aunque en muchos aspectos falló para mí, y el final me pareció un poco insustancial, lo cierto es que la trama está bien estructurada y se construye muy bien; las interpretaciones son más que aceptables, y la historia y escenarios son en sí lo suficientemente interesantes.

Creo que finalmente falla en su ejecución a la hora de transmitir el mensaje que parece estar intentando lanzar, además de que no me queaba claro que tono y dirección quería llevar.

Aun así me alegro de que existan películas como estas. Más por favor.
½ February 17, 2019
A prime example why you shouldn't trust movie critics, absolutely horrible. The actor did her best but the script and the editing and overall storyline and plot, really shit.
½ February 13, 2019
This movie has too many unanswered questions, i don't understand half of the movie.
Page 1 of 7