Calvary - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Calvary Reviews

Page 1 of 42
March 17, 2019
I really love this this film. It's funny, inventive and really dark and goddamn depressing.
I really need to re-watch this.
8.75/10
December 2, 2018
Simple, smart, well acted: put it on your "to watch" list!
½ May 30, 2018
good story and cast with a nice flow to it
½ March 26, 2018
Though its slow pace and disjointed story threatens to bore, Calvary presents its cynical view of religion with skillful precision.
½ March 18, 2018
This film is billed as a dark comedy, something which is reenforced when you see that Chris O'Dowd and Dylan Moran are in it. Well, it's not a comedy, it isn't funny, and it's not watchable. My wife asked me to turn it off halfway through. I was OK with that.
½ February 20, 2018
A film with a towering performance by Brendan Gleeson searching to understand his parishioners and his calling. The countryside and coast of County Sligo dominate and add to its haunting quality.
½ October 25, 2017
A really good view of a village full of interesting lives, none of them good, and they do feel like stereotypes. A great performance by Gleeson makes this very watchable. It's not quite The Guard, but an able replacement.
Super Reviewer
August 28, 2017
For a Catholic priest in modern day small town Ireland life is no imagined bed of roses. The locals, some friendly and some not to the Church in general, are not the simpletons of days past, bestowing respect and awe simply for form's sake, oh no. They're a cynical lot and proud to let our priest know about it. And he's got a daughter from before playing at suicide. And there's somebody out to kill him. What's a priest to do? Gleeson, like a laborer with a too heavy load trudging uphill, let's us know with grunts and grimace's. By the time we reach the top of the hill, we are at home in the confessional with him. A superior work by a old hand at it.
August 22, 2017
A rather sombre film that attempts to tackle a subject that is painful to a lot of people by injecting a dose of dark humour into it, and with Gleeson putting in another fantastic performance, practically carrying the entire thing on his own, it almost manages to pull it off. Unfortunately, it spends too much time aimlessly beating around the bush and by the end, you can't help but feel that it didn't have much to say and should have delved deeper considering the topic that is presented.
May 6, 2017
great acting, but i hated the storyline....trying to be thought provoking, I guess, but plot did not make sense. I kept waiting for sense to kick in, but the characters were not realistic. Felt like a waste of a couple of hours.
½ May 4, 2017
Amazing movie, though it also left me feeling a bit sad. I very much identified with Fr. James, because I also know what it feels like to have a firm but weary faith when you're surrounded with constant reminders that your culture views it with complete contempt.
May 1, 2017
Grade - C+
'Calvary' is ultimately a disappointing venture, but not one without its merits. The film does allow for an amazing performance from Brendan Gleeson, and it was a much more serious film than I was expecting going in.
½ April 2, 2017
What an interesting film, not quite sure of what I made of it, but it's certainly conforms to a stereotypically Irish caricature: sad, funny, happy, drunk and tragic .... but the caricatures are varied in unexpected ways, just as life throws up surprising and unexpected twists, which then become suddenly normal, so does this movie. not sure I'd watch it twice, but if I did it would be for the dialogue of confession and counsel between priest, and, not penitent, but sexually frustrated bowl headed misfit... Glad I saw it...
March 22, 2017
This is the story of Father James (played brilliantly by Brendan Gleeson) who during a morning confessional a member of the Parish tells him that on Sunday next week he will kill him. The rest of the film really looks at him coming tom terms with things.
½ February 19, 2017
More of a who's going to do it than a who done it
February 10, 2017
Amazing! Excellent storyline. Highly recommend. I'd say more but I don't want to spoil anything.
January 7, 2017
Father James receives a threat from a member of his parish during a confession. He will be murdered within a week to atone for the evils that other priests have done.

During that time Father James tries to right the wrongs of his parish members, in hopes of leaving the world in peace. All the while we are left trying to work out who it is that will be killing him.

Quite a lovely tale really, with interesting flawed characters just trying to make it in a world that is much too cruel and corrupt.

The final revelation is really quite sad, but only because we become so entangled in the lives of these people in the small Irish town.

The acting is superb, and the comedy is dark....very dark.
December 26, 2016
crisan spune ca este exceptional (25 dec 2016)
December 25, 2016
A well crafted Irish film. A priest is threatened with death in the confessional. Brilliant performance by Brendan Leeson.
½ November 18, 2016
I am seriously surprised to discover that apart from Brendan Glesson, also his son Domnhall appeared in this movie (discover him if you can, but it's totally unrecognizable!).
So, it seems that Martin is not the only one in the McDonagh family able of making great movies (and also very bad to be honest). Glad to have watched this very nice movie yesterday night, an in between a black comedy and a drama, perfectly mixed together.
Page 1 of 42