California Typewriter - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

California Typewriter Reviews

Page 1 of 1
August 7, 2018
A very interesting film, I truly enjoyed it. Was surprised about Tom Hanks passion but not surprised about Sam Shepard.
½ March 11, 2018
While admittedly a self serving documentary about an anti-technology fad, there is enough genuine quirkiness and cross-stratus interaction to make this interesting to everyone. A little longer than needed, we're taken into the lives of various aficionados to explore a once ubiquitous thing that is today little thought about. The trivia and history tell their own story though it would have been helpful if narration pulled us along for the more psychological aspects of the subjects. Put down your smart phone for a second and realize the way it used to be.
½ March 6, 2018
The definitive look at the history of typewriters and those who adore them, collect them, restore them and more. It is and will be in the future the go-to place to learn about everything typewriter. Virtually extinct, the typewriter has a loyal, albeit small group of users who explain why they like the using the antiquated device over new technology. It's a thorough ode to a piece of machinery that's been out of sight and out of mind for most. Even if you've never used the device, you're drawn in by the energy, passion and love the interviewees have for their sacred typewriters. It's worth the trip down memory lane for some and for others it will be as informative as anything you watch. FINAL SCORE: 9.1/10
½ February 17, 2018
It dips and skims through the world of typewriters, their history, users, artists, fans and lives. It could so easily have gone wrong with self-important talking heads and smug hipsters, but somehow it managed to avoid the pitfalls. Both the staff of "California Typewriter Shop" and the typewriter part artist carried this for me, but I was totally intrigued by the concept that using typewriters is akin to the slow food movement in cooking.
January 25, 2018
A rich, thoughtful, meticulously crafted tapestry about the evolution of the beloved writing machine for purists, history buffs, collectors and others fighting to preserve or re-embrace analog life.
½ January 4, 2018
Fabulous documentary. Meditation on creativity and the world of yesterday, The words of many interviewed here resonated with me.
December 13, 2017
Loved this film! Maybe my favorite documentary of the year. The film is full of fascinating characters and very thought provoking. It leaves you with a feeling and questions about where we are all headed, what kind of world we are creating in the rush for things to be faster and easier. Just beautiful!
December 1, 2017
I'm leaving a negative review because it features Tom Hanks in the first few minutes. This led me to believe it was going to be good and perhaps a cool drama or something. Tom Hanks doesn't feature again, there is no story. It's basically a very dull documentary about typewriters - I got to about 40 minutes in. (And I only lasted that long because I thought Tom Hanks would turn upagain - he doesn't) - don't waste your time, unless you love typewriters
½ October 6, 2017
I want a red typewriter!

I still have a hybrid typewriter/word processor in my closet...if I had a place to put it I'd bring it out. As a baby boomer who actually took a typing class in college and whose Mom had a couple of old Royals in addition to an IBM Selectric, this movie touched me unexpectedly.

And it was bittersweet to see Sam Shepard.
October 1, 2017
Fantastic movie!! One of the best documentaries ever!
½ September 21, 2017
this movie was so well done and so enlightening!
½ September 11, 2017
Maybe you have to be a certain age to appreciate this film, but my husband and I loved it. It reminded us that for the writer the old familiar clacking-clack of the keys really DID take on a rhythm that sounded progress and got the creative juices flowing. Everyone coming out of the theater was talking about getting one. But it's also a meditation on the intrusiveness of technology in our lives. We can't do without technology - it brings much good in our lives - but no one needs to be "online" every minute.
September 10, 2017
This was such a well-crafted, funny, and touching story. Pure art, with a lot of heart.Who knew these celebrities collected old typewriters, and used them in their daily lives and art. What a treat to watch. Inspiring. I loved it!
September 8, 2017
(B+)
Yes, it's a documentary that romances said vintage machine. At first one presumes it's kind of a frivolous love letter by Tom Hanks and his army of fellow whiteout survivors. But then, somehow, this movie finds it's depth and purpose with John Mayer, of all people, as he articulates his newly discovered affinity. It runs a little long but this movie won me over about half way through. Not because of it's love of the analog element... but for it's affection for the creative process such vintage machinery uniquely affords. Recommended
September 3, 2017
I want a typewriter.
August 3, 2017
Phenomenal! I've been a member of Milwaukee Film for three years and this is the #2 film of all time with them for our members screening.
Page 1 of 1