The Butterfly Effect - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Butterfly Effect Reviews

Page 1 of 1478
April 20, 2019
Ashton Kutcher's only great movie
March 16, 2019
captain marvel butt hurt fly effect at maximum. censorship sucks
½ March 13, 2019
Revolting. Made me wanna throw up multiple times.
February 14, 2019
I liked the concept of this movie, but it drags on as the scenarios get weirder and weirder in an almost comedic way. The acting is where this movie truly falls short. For me it was enjoyable and worth at least one watch; however, some of the scenes in this movie are just cringey to watch due to the horrible acting ability. Learn to fake cry Amy Smart!
February 14, 2019
Mind twisting movie. I loved it.
January 26, 2019
Though not exactly excited at the prospect of watching yet another Ashton Kutcher movie, my ever blossoming interest eventually won out and was presented with a genuinely engaging movie. Though eventually you realize that, throughout Kutcher's continued desire to repeated change the past is supposedly to help people for the better, rather than his real motive to assuage his own guilt at making another horrendous impact or, in effect, realize the fruits of his own selfish ambitions to begin with. To that end, Kutcher's character essentially does what he always does, which makes it that much easier not to pity or feel any actual shred of sympathy for his character. He was just that way from the start. It's not a bad movie either (I mean, I am giving it 3 stars for a reason), but it's impossible for it to have a lasting impact either, just as it's impossible to feel for the characters all that much, except for maybe a deep loathing of Tommy. Probably doesn't matter though: in twenty years, people won't even remember this movie exists.
January 24, 2019
The critics prove once again how clueless they are by giving a score of 33%
But gave The Last Jedi 91%.

Back to The Butterfly Effect, This is Ashton Kutcher's best performance in my opinion.
I have to say they knocked it out of the park with this movie, I am placing it as one of my favorites.
January 17, 2019
Movie was flawless. Nothing to bitch about, and nothing to brag, overly, about. Sometimes a movie is enjoyable and never really a bother at all.
January 15, 2019
i thought this was pretty good
½ January 14, 2019
The Butterfly Effect is definitely unfairly underrated in my opinion. It has a terrific premise and great performances as well as dramatic elements that work very well. It can also be very brutal at times as well. It's definitely Ashton Kutcher's best movie and one of my personal favorites.
½ January 11, 2019
Terrible movie littered with plot holes.
½ December 9, 2018
The Butterfly Effect is about regrets, and the closing sequences emphasize this. The film is engrossing enough to minimize such misgivings, however; few who enjoy unconventional pictures and see The Butterfly Effect will regret the experience. This is a compelling and intriguing movie that toys with the powers of choice and chance in a way that is not overused. Sure, there are plot holes (some of which are quite substantial), but most of them don't become apparent until long after the end credits have rolled and the film is being analyzed in a post-screening discussion. The ending is a cheat, and Ashton Kutcher is perhaps not the best choice for the lead role. Nevertheless, despite these flaws, this is a good film. (Nice sci-fi from the mid 00s).
½ December 2, 2018
The plot had potential. The execution is just bad
November 16, 2018
This inspiring movie makes me believe there is no use for saying "I wish..." in my life. If we all had the chance to come back to the past and change sth. in our life, that is not guaranteed to result what we desire and would have negative or positive effects on our future.
½ November 12, 2018
Should we go back in time to prevent this movie from happening? No, in my opinion this movie was very powerful and changed the way I look at things. The director's cut is hot trash but, the theatuacle version is incredible. Most don't like romances as do I but, this movie has other elements that made it right up my alley.
½ October 18, 2018
"The Butterfly Effect" is actually a time travel movie with an interesting concept, but the execution isn't very interesting. Is it complex? Yes. Is it good? Yes. Is it boring? Not really. I always feel curious about what will happen on the next scene so the movie isn't too serious but easy to keep on track. There are so many kinds of simple lessons we can take in this film. It's about moving forward, there's no way back. It's about fate, mistakes, and decisions. Ashton Kutcher is the most playable actor in this movie. Bottom line, it's an enjoyable movie but a decent one.
½ October 14, 2018
This has a strong message.
½ October 3, 2018
Really bad writing and dialogue. Corny and bad acting
½ September 30, 2018
An audience v critics movie for sure. Critics hated it, audiences loved it. It's a unusual movie but it's also a excellent thriller. Sometimes you can think back and wonder if you did things differently how it might all turn out. Kutcher's best movie performance, but that's not really saying too much. I always find him irritating but notso much in this. The amazing child actors stole the show. A dark, twisting story with an original time travel gimmick that makes for quite a gripping movie. Its rewatchable many times. I liked that this movie was not overly complicated as some time travel movies can be. Even though the film has its flaws and doesn't always make sense, it is fun to watch and entertaining. Maybe a bit rushed towards the end but a sad conclusion with Kutcher and Amy Smart (his long term love interest) passing in the street as strangers having corrected his Butterfly Effect issues.
½ September 2, 2018
Love it, gets me every time, one of my all-time favourite movies
Page 1 of 1478