Bruno - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bruno Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 28, 2016
This film handles its multi-layered theme of prejudice and oppression with sensitivity and aplomb. The humour belies the powerful message that this film throws at anyone who thinks that difference is something to be avoided. Alex D. Linz and Shirley Maclaine spark together.

If this film captures your heart, then so might Ma Vie En Rose [DVD] [1997] or Tomboy [DVD].
September 19, 2014
Pretty entertaining movie with a stupid premise I didn't expect to enjoy this movie but I ended up liking it an overall feel good movie which was entertaining
Grade B
½ August 17, 2014
(First and only viewing - In my mid-twenties)
½ May 24, 2014
I ACCIDENTLY STARTED WATCHING THIS MOVIE THINKING IT WAS THE OTHER "BRUNO". I BECAME CAPTIVATED BY THE STORY AND WATCHED THE WHOLE THING AND LOVED IT!!! IT WAS VERY FUNNY AND MEANINGFUL WITH A GREAT CAST. I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW IT GOT POOR REVIEWS BY THE CRITICS...AS YOU CAN SEE, THE MAJORITY OF AUDIENCE VIEWERS DID TOO. SCREW THE CRITICS!
February 17, 2014
I looooove this movie the boy shows his true shelf and I like that
July 27, 2013
Alex D. Linz is adorable! Interesting characters
August 2, 2012
I can understand how this movie was not popular at the time. I can understand why it's not popular now. This is an uncomfortable movie with uncomfortable subjects. Although made in 2000, it shows VERY themes: ambiguity of sex genres, morbid obesity and, above all, bullying. The scenes with the bullying made me really upset. It seemed a little exaggerated, but it happens just like that, I saw it as a teacher. The only difference is that they were going after the victims instead of the abusers... Well, I've seen that too. I think it's a movie that could be better understood today with the current "political" climate.
½ July 7, 2011
A clever and kind look at the quandry of children's view of gender appropriate behavior, tempered with an expose of the cruelty of children toward others who stray from that invisible line of acceptability.
June 29, 2011
I love this movie. Very refreshing and interesting plot. I watched it twice in a row.
December 17, 2010
My first question after watching this movie, "what happened to Kiami Davael?", her acting was refreshingly delightful. I did not care much for a boy dressed in a dress however the principle of being yourself was a good message.
December 11, 2010
One of the finest films I've ever seen! All about self acceptance and acceptance of others as who they are. Very moving work!
½ November 3, 2010
A most darling little movie, puntuated with lots mind expanding personality qwerks.
July 4, 2010
An honest movie full of quirky yet lovable characters. It also addresses heavy topics like racism and divorce without getting too serious.
June 13, 2010
luvd it and luvd d black gurl lmfao
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ February 6, 2010
Rather ridiculous comedy drama. What it's trying to say is good but it's drawn in very broad strokes.
½ January 14, 2010
Only caught the 2nd half, but I think I got enough of it.
½ January 9, 2010
i really liked this movie. it was nice and touching.
½ November 13, 2009
It was a pretty interesting movie
½ August 8, 2009
I absolutely enjoyed every minute of it.
August 5, 2009
An utterly charming movie that the whole family can see. It is about a boy who wants to wear dresses. Not because he is transgendered or wants to be a girl. It is because he views dresses as garments of power. He reasoning is that all great religious leaders wear dresses and that is why he sees dresses as being a sign of power. He also goes to a catholic school where he is the schools spelling champion and will be heading to Washington DC to participate in the spelling bee championship. Only thing is he wants to wear a dress when he goes to washington DC. Alex Linz plays the young boy named Bruno. Kathy Bates plays a wonderful, funny role as the Mother Superior of the school that Bruno goes to. Shirley McLaine takes on two roles with Dress Code. She plays Bruno's grandmother in the movie but she also makes her directing debut. I think Shirley does an outstanding job for her first time behind the camera. She certainly shows that her brother, Warren Beatty, isn't the only one in their family who knows how to direct. I highly recommend this movie to anyone.
Page 1 of 2