Brooklyn - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Brooklyn Reviews

Page 1 of 88
April 13, 2019
I just spend almost two hours watching this movie, but it felt like only 15 minutes. It's entertaining till the end and I feel like I want to know and learn even more about Eilis Lacey and her life in Brooklyn.

Eilis Lacey (very well played by Saoirse Ronan) is an Irish girl who's moving away from her "Mammy" and sister Rose to live and start a new life in Brooklyn. She get's a job in a warehouse and goes to evening school to persuade her dream of becoming a bookkeeper/accountant. In between all things she meets a fellow named Tony Fiorello (Emory Cohen), and they, of course, fall in love. When Eilis decides to go home because of family trouble, they promise each other that she will come back. Once Eilis returns to Ireland, she finds out that she now could live a nice life there as well.

It was great to see Eilis evolve the way she did in Brooklyn and after meeting Tony. Saoirse did such an amazing job as Eilis, from the vulnerable moments to the moments where she is so confident it made me smile a bit. Eilis is such a sweet and relatable character, and even though she makes mistakes, she makes the right choice in the end. You can truly see how she chances throughout the movie. In the beginning she is a shy girl who doesn't really stand up for herself, she goes along with the little crowd that are the people in her villages, but then she lives in this great city with so many opportunities and people and she learns how she wants to carry herself, what she wants to be and what she wants to become. Alongside Eilis was Tony, whom's played by Emory Cohen. I've never seen anything of Emory's work before this one, but he's good and real cute. He made Tony a real gentleman, and all the good and bad qualities came with it. I fell like I did't really get to know him very well though. I know some of the basic stuff about him, but his character, how he acts and reacts, didn't have a lot of variety. Where Eilis had a lot of feelings throughout the movie, Tony only had a few. I would have loved to get to know him better. Apart from Saoirse and Emory there were a lot of smaller parts in this movie and I just wanted to point out the actress who played Rose (Eilis sister), Fiona Glascott, and the always great Domhnall Gleeson, who played Jim Farrell. Although they had small parts the were great nonetheless and I could't leave them out of this review. Jane Brennan who plays Eilis mom, did a great job as well. I'm still not entirely sure if I liked her character or not.

Although I want to know more about Eilis' her life, the storyline was great. I got just enough information about everything to put it all together, I just would've loved to know more (but don't we all when we watch a movie we like?). I loved the shots they filmed at the dining table in Eilis' house, which is filled with girly giggles and advices. Some scenes where shot as a close up which I highly appreciated as well. It suited the movie, and brought more emotions to the screen (and it just were very pretty shots).

Brooklyn's a movie filled with nice shots, great acting and a good story line. I would totally recommend it. (Still feel like I want to know more about all the characters their stories though).

I want to use my last sentence to praise the costume designers, because all the characters just look simple amazing, and I need Eilis' her closet.
February 23, 2019
She is total b@%ch and eventually choose wrong guy with a lot of uncertainties
February 9, 2019
Excellent period piece with great actors!
January 20, 2019
An endearing tale of immigration and romance.

Brooklyn (2015) is a sweet coming of age romance surrounded by the homesick feeling of leaving Ireland for America. Brooklyn handles its greater themes of love, loss, loyalty, and confidence the same as its subject matter of immigration, occupation, and infatuation with the same tender and affectionate hand. This film delivers upon its premise of accurately depicting the immigration process, while conveying the painful homesick feeling of nervousness in coming to America. Brooklyn really captures your attention and your heart with its empathetic viewpoint into the struggles of Irish immigrants.

John Crowley's direction is beautiful rendition of 1950's Brooklyn. He relies on careful wide shots of streets and small rooms with the rare close up revealing uncertainty or bravery. The old fashioned clothes, Irish accents, proper hairstyles, strict codes of conduct, and treatment of immigrants all feel realistic to the time period. The city sites of Brooklyn look colorful, but the people are the warm parts of America. While Ireland is depicted as faded out and worn in the intrusive company of others, meanwhile the landscape is lush and natural if pale in color. Brooklyn has a lot of thought put into its visual styling. Crowley did a magnificent job directing Brooklyn.

Most notably, Brooklyn stars the lovely Saoirse Ronan as Eilis Lacey, who is adorable in Brooklyn. She carries the film to greatness with her natural charming Irish accent, innocent personality, and brave handling of settling into a new life. Ronan pulls off the sweet kindly nature of Eilis for Brooklyn to feel like you are following a truly sympathetic girl that must learn how the world really works. Ronan is in her comfort zone portraying deep longing for love and a forlorn homesickness for Ireland. She manages to capture the duality of Eilis in not knowing whether to return to Ireland or attempt to start a new life in America. Saoirse is so believable in her sad reflective eyes and endearing persona.

I really liked the kindly priest character Father Flood played by Jim Broadbent so affectionately. Domhnall Gleeson is very nice as the attractive Irish suitor Jim Farrell. Eileen O'Higgins is very interesting as Nancy for her brief time on screen. Emory Cohen makes for a likable love interest as Tony. Lastly, Julie Walters is hilarious as the mean and stuffy Mrs. Kehoe.

Michael Brook's score is gorgeous as you might expect from a historical drama and romance film. The score only chimes in every once in awhile, but always feels like it contributes to the moody tone or revelry. There is a magical quality to Brook's score that I feel like captures Brooklyn's atmosphere of America.

Brooklyn is simply a fantastic drama film with a lot to offer. Saoirse Ronan is the main draw as she continues to be a fascinating actress that chooses quality roles. Ronan is exquisite in Brooklyn going from uncertain immigrant girl to an self-sufficient American woman.
December 16, 2018
I saw this on Christmas of 2015. Great film. It made me think a lot because of how frustrated I was with Saoirse Ronan's character throughout most of the film. It made me consider my views and why I didn't agree with her actions. I enjoyed it.
December 16, 2018
Loved it! Beautiful storyline which gives an expressive insight into both our inner and external feelings when grappling with life-changing decisions and heartache. Wish there were more films like it.
½ November 7, 2018
Adapted from a book written by Colm Tóibín with Eilis Lacy (Saoirse Ronan) yearning for the same life as her older sister while living in a small town in Ireland, motivating her to move to Brooklyn- hence the title.
October 28, 2018
sckjhckjdhcskjdhcksjdchksjdhcskdchsjkdhckjsdhckjhckjhckjsdhcjksdhcjkdhcjksdhckjsdhcjkshckjsdhckjshckjsdhckjshcjkshckjsdhcjkshckjsdhckjshckjshckjshdckjshdcjksdhckjsdhckjshdckjshckjsdhckjsdhckjsdhckjshdckjhsckjhsdckjhsdckjhsdckjhsdckjhsdkjchsdkjchsdkjchsdkjchsdkjchsdkjhcskjdhcskjdhckjsdhckjshdckjshckjshdckjshdckjsdhckjsdhckjshdckjshdckjshdckjhskjchskjchskjdchskjhcksjhckjshdckjshdckjshdckjhsdckjhsdkcjhsdkjchsdkjchdkjchsdkjchsdkjchsdkjchKDJCHkdjchkjDHCksjdhckJDHCkjdhckjDHC
½ September 26, 2018
Overall well directed by John Crowley and well performed by its leading star, Saoirse Ronan, this drama crafts a great epoch-production and an appealing atmosphere, unfortunately, its themes are already too familiar and the premise and plot never seem to go anywhere innovative or interesting enough, offering in the end a mixture of Oscar-worthy-like-elements just for the snob eye to fully appreciate, lacking a true genuine hook for average audiences to truly appreciate.
September 21, 2018
Sentimental and relatable story about a woman trying to find her way and build a life in between two countries. Great chemistry between actors.
½ September 3, 2018
I gotta admit I never knew Saoirse (pronounced as Sur-Sha) Ronan was Irish till I watched Brooklyn. And I never recognised her talent till I saw Brooklyn. Her performance in this film was amazing, obviously deserved the Oscar nomination.

Brooklyn is about an Irish girl who leaves home to America to look for a job. But when she gets there, she finds love and a reason to stay at America. But she misses her home in Ireland, and has to decide if she wants to stay at her old home or in her new home.

Emory Cohen also plays a really sweet Marlon Brando-ish Italian boy that Saoirse falls in love with. He's the only American on set, which is kinda cool being the one guy that's different.

We see Domhnall Gleeson in the film as a local Irish boy trying to convince Saoirse to stay back in Ireland. I gotta admit though, Domhnall's Irish accent isn't very convincing even though he is Irish.

Brooklyn is one of the romance films that doesn't really focus on the romance. Saoirse falls in love and gets with Emory in just less than 15 minutes which is great, instead of dragging it and taking 30 minutes just to show the first date, like usual romance films.

Instead Brooklyn focuses more on the conflict and decisions that Saoirse has to face. Leaving her mother alone at home with her sister or to go to America and live her dream. Choices like these are difficult for most people and this film portrays that very well.

It's beautiful to see the character development of Saoirse, she started off as a shy girl into a confident woman. I'm awfully upset that Saoirse is not as popular as other actresses in her age group. Move away Jennifer Lawrence, Emma Watson, and the rest, Saoirse Ronan is here to take the spotlight.
August 31, 2018
Buena historia romntica novelesca de esas que van varios pasos ms all de una simple "chicflick" y acaban resultando en un muy buen filme
½ July 31, 2018
I really enjoyed this, going in I'll be honest I thought this was going to be fairly drippy and feed into the American obsession with being Irish but it mostly avoids those pitfalls. This is largely in part to the brilliant central performance by Ronan and great supporting work by all involved. She creates a rich and nuanced character here, not without fault but believable in her transition from wide eyed innocent girl to the confident woman she grows into. It's funny, moving and you enjoy spending time in this world that they've created.
½ July 17, 2018
One of the greatest films of the past 5 years in my opinion. I've watched it multiple times, which is very a-typical for a more artistic prestige film. This should seen as Ronan's quintessential performance. Even more than Lady Bird
½ July 16, 2018
A beautiful portrail of what is a life for an immigrant (in this case in the early 50's), what is to leave home, and to have the courage to move to a place that you know would made you happier and with a better life.
Saoirse Ronan's breakout movie in my opinion as she can transmit so much emotion and sutlelty at the same time. An award-nominee must see guys!

CLASSIFICATION | 8.8/10
½ July 15, 2018
Brooklyn isn't for everyone, but it is very good, serves its purpose, and is definitely going to please its target audience, middle-aged women. Saoirse Ronan delivers a performance that elevates the movie, and the central romance between her and an Italian man in New York is so fun it makes you just very happy. It's also a somewhat complicated film on immigration and dealing with loss terms, and even though Brooklyn is a fine example of exceptional modern cinema, it can be somewhat forgettable, even a few days after you watched it. Still, it's definitely worthwhile, and it will have won you over by the end.
½ June 19, 2018
Wrapping up my season of Oscar Best Pic nominees (the first time I've done that before February...ever), I finally saw a movie I've wanted to see since I saw the first trailer 4-5 months ago. Though I didn't quite make out what the plot was from trailer, the story was not what I expected and, even in my increased level of expectations after seeing the 98% score on Rotten Tomatoes, I left thinking it was even better than I thought it would be. This period piece set in 1950's Brooklyn is precious from the opening scene. The performances are authentic, especially by Saoirse Ronan, the stunning lead actress, who is also nominated for an Oscar. The story is consistent, well-written and directed to keep the attention of the audience every minute of the film. They don't make films like this very often, so it's a treat when they are made and they are this good. While it doesn't beat out "The Big Short" for me in the Best Picture category, it's very close to it and "Spotlight." Definitely worthy of the nod, your money and your time.
June 14, 2018
Brooklyn's simple, unforgettable storyline and masterful performance by Ronan will have audiences returning to it for years to come.
May 20, 2018
A really charming movie that had me emotionally invested from the beginning. It's set in the 1950s but really could be from any time period. I actually thought when the movie first started that it was closer to the 1920s. I found myself rooting hard for Eilis to choose her life in Brooklyn. Saoirse Ronan gives a great performance. I did wince when I saw Megan Draper (Jessica Pare) show up. She's only in a few scenes though. This is definitely worth seeking out.
Page 1 of 88