Brooklyn - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Brooklyn Reviews

Page 1 of 14
July 6, 2016
The lack of dramatic tension is startling.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 10, 2016
Brooklyn lacks any real conflict. The ingredients are what make it atractive, however, outstanding manufacturing and notable acting work by the it's leads are not enough to save it from Crowley's bland directorial work. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 2, 2015
Brooklyn passes in front of the eyes, yanks hard on the heartstrings, sings a few lines of 'Danny Boy,' and then falls out of the mind an hour later.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 4, 2015
One can't help but...imagine the more resonant and insightful film it might have been if it had aimed to elicit more than longing sighs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 26, 2015
Zzzzzzz. Wonderful performances but do we really care about a teenager from Ireland trying to decide between guys, one on one continent, the other on another?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 14, 2016
There's nothing [characterization] here for me
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 28, 2017
Brooklyn arrives duly hyped, and disappoints just as reliably.
April 28, 2016
The movie lacks any semblance of a dramatic pulse.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 27, 2020
Saoirse Ronan's stellar acting will transport you to the 50's and will make you fall in love with this beautiful love story. [Full review in Spanish]
January 10, 2020
A low-key tribute to the better angels of American nature.
October 21, 2019
Full disclosure: I did not expect to cry so much during Brooklyn - the journey of one woman learning to navigate her place in the world.
November 18, 2019
Brooklyn is sublime viewing; beautiful to look at and lovely to watch, with [Saoirse] Ronan presenting her most mature role to date.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 8, 2019
Brooklyn actually harks back to the kind of escapist entertainment cinema offered in the 1950s. It's all rather lovely, if completely unchallenging.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 19, 2019
Brooklyn is a beautiful film, in both presentation, with its lush cinematography, and delicate execution.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 17, 2019
It is a very sweet, lovely movie that I highly recommend.
Full Review | Original Score: A
January 16, 2019
It's a lovely piece of cinema, and one of the best movies of 2015 to date.
August 27, 2018
As Eilis Lacey, Saoirse Ronan carries this film so splendidly that in any year that was not so utterly Brie Larson's, it would be a crime not to give her every award; you can practically see her eyes changing colors with her moods.
August 27, 2018
a feast for the eyes
August 22, 2018
It's the ultimate love story, where a young woman finds that she must choose between two men and two very different lives. It's a film about identity and family obligation - and it's truly timeless.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 3, 2017
It's this fact that makes Brooklyn so relevant. As our country debates whether to allow refugees in, we need to reflect upon our own histories and recognize so many common dreams and goals. We're all Eilis.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
Page 1 of 14