Brooklyn - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Brooklyn Reviews

Page 2 of 88
April 23, 2018
BROOKLYN- 96%
Moving.
Sometimes, in very rare occasions, a movie will make you cry not from it being sad, but because it was absolutely beautiful.
Brooklyn had a story that everyone will relate to. Saoirse Ronan was astonishing. There something very special about both her look and charisma that makes her acting feel so raw and natural.
I thought Emory Cohen did a really good job. I had only seen him in the OA and was impressed with his ability to act. However, I strongly believe that Saoirse grabbed all the attention.
****SPOILERS****
When there was 10 minutes to spare, I wanted to see Tony go to Ireland and be with Eilis there. In this two hour journey, the viewers are living in two places(Irelands, and Brooklyn). Therefore, I wanted to these two places to be united so I can feel the closure of Love, Family, and Friendship all combine into a finally. However, the ending of this movie caught me by surprise and was the most beautiful ending I had seen in a while. Eilis is on the boat going back to brooklyn, when she sees a girl struggling to go to New York. It is at that moment, when you truly see that insane character development of Eilis. You also feel so proud of her, and a sense of nostalgia.
A MUST see.
Story wise and execution: 3.5/3.5
Acting: 2.5/2.5
Camera Work: 1.6/2
Sound: 1.95/2
Overall Score: 4.78/5
April 20, 2018
For me, this movie is not about how the plot gonna twist you, but it,s about what you gonna do when your mind split by two, and the end was epic.
March 28, 2018
Wonderful gentle film
½ March 28, 2018
Pitch perfect meditation on the profound sadness and challenge of the Irish emigrant experience. An inspiring and affecting poem to family, love and loss.
March 21, 2018
Heartwarming and uplifting. If you love a period drama and a good love story this is the one for you.
March 20, 2018
Very good romantic movie with the 5 stars acting of Soirse Ronan. You have to see it.
March 19, 2018
A real snooze. Snapshot: Main character leaves drama in Ireland to fall in love with an Italian stereotype in the US.
March 6, 2018
Acho que esse filme se beneficiaria de alguns minutos extras, mas fchar bem as coisas. Eu prefiro o jim, mas entendo o motivo de ela ter escolhido o tony.
½ February 27, 2018
Brooklyn is the perfect representation of immigration. It is heartwarming, moving, and above all, it isn't just another forgettable period drama
½ February 26, 2018
It was a good drama but a bit over-rated. I liked the acting and the essence of it but it had some dull moments and I found the selfish mom a little bit too annoying. Not a keeper.
½ February 10, 2018
that this is where your life is..

Brooklyn

Even though the issues interfered here is light as a chip, the suave tone of it which was set from the first frame gives it enough gravitas to meddle the emotions and feelings of the audience. Brooklyn is a light drama feature that raises some genuine family and society issues in a mild and amusing tone with enough material to feed the audience. John Crowley gets it right this time and his execution is plausible here along with Nick's tight adaptation from the novel and perfectly edited feature with reasonable runtime. And in the end, it is a captain's cruise and Saoirse Ronan sails it through each and every phase offering comfortable ride to the viewers with a great supporting cast like Domhnall. Brooklyn's short runtime, fast paced screenplay, majestic performance and a perfect execution favors in all accounting it into far better than one could have expected.
½ January 20, 2018
A spellbinding story that captures the adventurer in you and teaches it the values of home. Beautifully written and sensitively directed, the tonal shifts are seamless, delightful to watch and thought-provoking to the right audience.
January 9, 2018
Feel good movie that was unexpectedly excellent!
January 4, 2018
Excellent Movie. Haven't Watched Such An Outstanding Movie In Ages. On Top Of My List Of Great Movies.
December 28, 2017
The movie was well done, but it quickly degraded halfway through when it came to likeability.

Should be retitled to 'A Young Woman Comes to America and Makes Every Morally Wrong Choice Possible.'
½ December 18, 2017
Puntaje Original: 6.5

Buena historia, buen guión, disfrutable a un punto aceptable; indiscutiblemente Brooklyn no es una mala película, pero tampoco es una genial película que justifique su valoración.
½ December 1, 2017
My full opinion: 9.3/10.
November 30, 2017
Saoirse Ronan is wonderful, the movie has heart and soul.
November 13, 2017
An utterly beautiful film for hopeless romantics like myself. I read the book nearly two years ago before finally watching this gem tonight on my 109 inch projector screen. I enjoyed the story many times more on film because of the brilliant casting of small town Irish girl Eilis and her pairing with the sweet, innocent, blue collar Tony of Italian American background that fate brought them together. I disliked Ellis two years ago, but less so this time, for her fickleness and quickness in casting aside Tony when he was out of sight. An adulterous girl too quick in betraying her newly hubby, who pined and ached for her day and night while she frolicked with the Irish "catch" on her visit home to Ireland. This was impossibl if Elis had loved Tony totally, completely and yes, if it was indeed true love. My outrage was greatly intensified because of my utter loyalty to the sweet, simple-soul Tony. A plot just like the story in beauty and the beast. Except the role was reversed in Brooklyn. The beast was Elis and the beauty was Tony. In the end the beast Elis did return to the beauty, Tony. Elis finally woke up to the detestable back biting parochial small town Irish hometown and remembered Brooklyn was her paradise. It was Tony who made Brooklyn a paradise for her.
Page 2 of 88