Bringing Down the House - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bringing Down the House Reviews

Page 1 of 328
½ May 19, 2019
The depiction of horrid racial stereotypes has no humor. It is simply awful to the point of being unwatchable.
May 14, 2019
Take user reviews with a grain of salt, certain folks with extreme political views will blindly hate on anything they're told to. This is a great documentary about the struggles of grass-roots campaigns and it gives some real insight into the current political landscape
January 15, 2019
Steve Martin is such a legend that it is strange to envision a time(such as when this film came out) when he was in a slump of some proportions. This is a comedy about a lawyer who upon a divorce finds himself in close quarters with a woman who is diametrically different to what he wants or expects. Bringing Down the House offers proof that there are times when superior performances can salvage a mediocre script. Despite working with a screenplay that would be deemed thin by some TV sit-coms, Steve Martin, Queen Latifah, and Eugene Levy combine to transform this motion picture into a rewarding movie-going experience. The chief pleasure of Bringing Down the House is watching the stars interact. The best mentality to bring to the movie is that of watching a 105-minute series of comedy sketches. This film is a must watch for fans of comedy.(Hilarious comedy starring Steve Martin and Queen Latifah).
January 27, 2018
As a kid, I used to watch this movie twice a week or more. Every now and then a few times a year, I view this movie. Never gets old.
July 27, 2017
When this movie first came out I thought it was hilarious. A bit cheesy, but hey, why not? I've always loved a little cheese when it comes to my movies.
½ November 6, 2016
Reading the reviews on here, it seems that I'm not the only one who couldn't handle this. Despite there being some genuinely good comic talent in the thing, I congratulate myself for sitting through it. It's not that the performances are bad, it's the writing. In places, it's absolutely diabolical. I mean, the jokes in this wouldn't be out of place in a film from the 1970s! They're outdated, clichéd and more than a little offensive. There are some funny moments, don't get me wrong, but, they're very few and far between, and I couldn't get over my cringe reflex being triggered so often. Sometimes, the cringe reflex is triggered in a good way. Definitely not here. It really left a bitter taste
September 13, 2016
I'm not a big Steve Martin fan but Queen Latifah worked really well with him in this film. It seems a lot of people got turned off the racial jokes but I think it made the movie funnier for me. This is definitely a guilty pleasure for me.
July 20, 2016
This comedy could be offensive to both races, so if your offended by this you don't have a sense of humor. Martin and Latifah shine!
June 2, 2016
A movie that is off the he-z! A cool movie to chill out with!
March 8, 2016
Not a lot to say about this one, but it's pretty damn silly, but likeable in its own unique way. I thought the jokes went somewhat too far, but I loved the unique chemistry between the leads. I thought Steve Martin was good as always, and I thought some of his physical comedy on display was truly funny. Not much else to say...silly plot..some silly funny moments, but overall very average film.
December 16, 2015
Very funny film. Entertaining
October 2, 2015
Great cast, funny too
½ September 10, 2015
Depending on the person, this movie is either hilarious or offensive.
½ June 28, 2015
Nobody looks good here.Where the writers stuck in a 70's flashback.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
Actually a quite good comedy with Steve Martin and Eugene Levy and more.. Steve have made a few terrible unfunny ones but he manage well in this one. Story was okey aswell and worth seeing overall.
½ December 16, 2014
Good fun. I quite enjoyed this refreshing comedy. Worth a watch.
September 20, 2014
Funny. Not bad for Martin.
September 5, 2014
While there are offensive jokes on racial stereotypes taking a third of the film's atmosphere, the rest of the space is the enjoyment with a nice cast consisting Steve Martin bringing most of the hilarity and Queen Latifah doing some hilarity whilst representing the resolving heart. Also in the cast is Eugene Levy supporting the duo and Betty White in a minor role enhancing the casting choices.

Also to note is that the film started with a tribute of "You've Got Mail," and started doing a little satirizing for a bit during the exposition. This is sort of a preview of shifting tones that was done during the third branch of the screenplay. (B+)

(Full review coming soon)
August 23, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyable and charming comedy playing with racial and social stereotypes
Page 1 of 328