Bridge of Dragons - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bridge of Dragons Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 13, 2014
Sadly, there's a severe lack of dragons in this. Once past that fact, this is a wonderful mix of genres: Fantasy kingdoms & princesses, post-apocalyptic future, material arts choreography, elements of Aladdin and Robin Hood, etc. Headlining: Dolph "He-Man" Lundgren vs Cary-Hiroyuki "Shang Tsung" Tagawa. I can't think of anything that could be more Rob-baity for me. For all those alone an instant positive review. On the negative, it is of course on the cheap side, the action isn't thrilling, and there's not enough cool world building. But, hey, at least they made a movie no one else is making.
½ December 18, 2013
Actually called Bride of Dragons....Bridge of Dragons has nothing to do with the movie. It might be a misspelling on the picture....There is NO BRIDGE in the movie. There is a bride and IMDB quotes it as Bride of Dragons
Super Reviewer
May 21, 2013
This odd action flick isn't too bad in spots but its still horrendously bad in the acting and action department and yet another very poor film from an increasingly desperate seeming Dolph Lundgren. Here Dolph faces off against cult character actor Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa which is a big plus as Cary is a good baddie and has unique characteristics just like our beloved Lance Henriksen. Cary actually looks the part for 'M. Bison' in 'SFII' if you ask me, he would of been perfect for the role and you can see why in this film.

Its a weird flick set in an odd future where the baddies dress in Nazi uniforms (lol! unintended I'm sure), there is a king and Princess and everything has a 'Mad Max' feel to it. The action sequences are terrible as usual with some of the worst extras I've seen, but there are some nice martial arts moves from Cary, Shane (warrior princess) and Dolph. The film does have a slight Japanese/Chinese manga/martial arts movie feel running through at times which does save it ever so slightly but the dodgy chopper sequences ruin any chance of redemption.
½ April 13, 2013
I'd actually say that Patrick Swayze's "Steel Dawn" is the superior post-apocalyptic film when compared to this Dolph Lundgren vehicle. To begin with, the film hardly seems post-apocalyptic and more seems like a bunch of gunfights between men in dirty fatigues on abandoned A-Team sets. The silly start involves Dolpg protecting princess Valerie Chow villainous warlord Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa. There were some attempts to include Hong Kong style martial arts, but they're rather poorly done. The film's director actually actually ended up direction three Power Ranger films after this, which give you an indication as to the quality of fight scenes here. It's all just pretty bad. For cheapie post-apocalyptic trash, stick with something like "The Blood of Heroes" or even Italian garbage like "Endgame."
February 19, 2013
Hell yeah this is terrible, but it's still Dolph. I still think if they gave him a decent script, decent cast around him, and a decent budget, Dolph could have had Jason Statham's action career. I watched it for 2 reasons and 2 reasons only, Rocky IV and Masters of the Universe.
December 27, 2012
Although succuming to many issues you might expect from a film like this, since Bridge of Dragons was filmed on a great location and there is an excessively large amount of half-decent action, it rises above Dolph Lundgren standards and turns into an enjoyable B-movie action flick.
The plot has been used many times before, such as in the earlier Dolph Lundgren film Red Scorpion, but this time around theres little boredom and rather a large amount of action, which by direct-to-video standards is fairly decent.
Also, Dolph Lundgren gave a half decent performance so that added a bit to the film too.
So in the end, Bridge of Dragons is one of the better direct-to-video action flicks from Dolph Lundgren's career and it was worth checking out.
July 27, 2011
BRIDGE OF DRAGONS (1999)
½ May 14, 2011
This looks like they got some internet nerd writing the scenario for this; nazi helmets and asian chicks. But then they would have been tits and sex in it. They don't give any backstory and the title doesn't make any sense.

For the rest it's an generic action movie.
March 24, 2011
This film has got great action to be enjoyed from. I guess the ending fight scene should have been extended.
February 27, 2011
good to see 8 out of 10
½ December 12, 2010
78% Stunt men take a mean beating and the wire work is excellent. Cary Hiroyuki Tagawa always makes a great villian. Just to let you know how evil Hiroyuki Tagawa's army is, nazi uniforms are worn by his soldiers and 666 is printed on the sides of the vehicles.
August 21, 2010
What a unique little action movie. It‚??s from the 90‚??s but with style and charm from the 80‚??s. There are tons of people firing from the hip, explosions and everything else.

What makes this one better than Lundgren‚??s other action films such as Sweepers or Red Scorpion is the story. The movie is a classic ‚??evil man wants to marry the princess and take over the throne‚?? type story like Robin Hood.

Combine that old medieval story with a dystopian future like setting with helicopters and guns and tons of martial arts fighting, and you have a surprisingly good B movie where everyone performs adequately.
October 20, 2009
Isaac Florentine is the God of over the top action movies with nonsensical plots. Nothing in this movie makes any sense at all, but the non stop action is some of the most beautiful you'll ever see.
May 20, 2009
Great action movie, Lots of Action, Not a bad story also
March 13, 2009
Another unintentionally hilarious masterpiece from the Dolphanator. As my buddy Evan put it, "what is this, the futuristic '30s?" Love the symbolism of the HUGE 666 plastered all over the enemies vehicles.
½ February 21, 2009
A near perfect film, Isaac Florentine's B movie masterpiece, Bridge of Dragons, stars Dolph Lundgren, Valerie Chow, Cary Tagawa, and that dude who got caught humping that lady in the closet by Dalton in Roadhouse. If you rent this, you will most definitely NOT be disappointed. Warchyld (Lundgren) has been given the task of finding the AWOL princess Halo (played by Chow, who for some reason goes by Rachel Shane here) by the evil warlord Reuchang (Tagawa). Along the way, trained killer falls for little hottie, and realizes his benefactor isn't such a nice guy after all. Said trained killer hooks up with rebel alliance and takes down the baddie, all the while getting the girl, Dolph style. Simple plot, right? What's most important to remember while watching this movie are the little details that make it so great- it's always fun when you're viewing something,and it looks like the sets and wardrobe are just taken from a dozen different movies and mixed together. In this "alternative future" setting, the mishmash of sets and clothes works to its advantage. You got WWII era uniforms mixing with clothes taken from 'Masters of the Universe, mix in some Road Warrior stuff with modern-day US army outfits, and bam! Pure B movie hilarity. Lundgren plays this all with a straight face- the majority of the time. There are moments when I feel he's kind of nodding to the viewer and "in on the joke." Tagawa is equally classic as the bad guy, and delivers his usual great performance. He and Dolph square off for the second time here (the first being 'Showdown in Little Tokyo,' another Dolph classic), and I tell you, I'm waiting for part three anxiously. Oh yeah, did I mention the guy who gets caught humping the girl in the closet by Dalton in Road House is here, and he plays Dolph's buddy? Go ahead and rent this, you'll be so glad you did.
½ February 12, 2009
A near perfect film, Isaac Florentine's B-movie masterpiece, Bridge of Dragons, stars Dolph Lundgren, Valerie Chow, Cary Tagawa, and that dude who got caught humping that lady in the closet by Dalton in Roadhouse. If you rent this, you will most definitely NOT be disappointed.
Warchyld (Lundgren) has been given the task of finding the AWOL princess Halo (played by Chow, who for some reason goes by Rachel Shane here) by the evil warlord Reuchang (Tagawa). Along the way, trained killer falls for little hottie, and realizes his benefactor isn't such a nice guy after all. Said trained killer hooks up with rebel alliance and takes down the baddie, all the while getting the girl, Dolph style. Simple plot, right? What's most important to remember while watching this movie are the little details that make it so great- it's always fun when you're viewing something,and it looks like the sets and wardrobe are just taken from a dozen different movies and mixed together. In this "alternative future" setting, the mishmash of sets and clothes works to its advantage. You got WWII era uniforms mixing with clothes taken from 'Masters of the Universe, mix in some Road Warrior stuff with modern-day US army outfits, and bam! Pure B movie hilarity.
Lundgren plays this all with a straight face- the majority of the time. There are moments when I feel he's kind of nodding to the viewer and "in on the joke." Tagawa is equally classic as the bad guy, and delivers his usual great performance. He and Dolph square off for the second time here (the first being 'Showdown in Little Tokyo,' another Dolph classic), and I tell you, I'm waiting for part three anxiously. Oh yeah, did I mention the guy who gets caught humping the girl in the closet by Dalton in Road House is here, and he plays Dolph's buddy? Go ahead and rent this, you'll be so glad you did.
February 2, 2009
This film defies any logical rating. It plays out like a violent fairy-tale full of explosions and acrobatic deaths, with more wasted ammunition than John Woo himself could comprehend, and I won't bother trying to explain the time or place where it's set (in a place where the past and future meet, apparently). I suppose it's the ultimate B-movie, I love it.
September 24, 2008
more entertaining than expected.
August 3, 2008
Just a cool film...Dolph and Cary Tagawa team up again...
Page 1 of 2