The Bourne Supremacy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Bourne Supremacy Reviews

Page 1 of 1207
½ May 11, 2019
Following the previous installment's effective system of action-filmmaking, this time the directorial task to craft a sequel of the spy-thriller goes to Paul Greengrass, and while the films still suffers from some of the first's camera sins in regards of the action-performance, but with even more wit and exhilarating chase sensation, as well as the continuously pleasant main presence of Matt Damon, this installment delivers as much thrills and intrigues as the first one did, only with a slight improvement in the dynamic area.
½ April 24, 2019
Great car-chase, not overlong
March 19, 2019
It is similar to its predecessor with less logic, but the shear intensity on display more than make up for it. Matt Damon comes back better ever. Just like his character who is more developed and character driven. The great action on display comes along with beautiful direction, a sharp script, and a story that never stops or slows down. This is easily a great sequel to Bourne Identity.
February 2, 2019
while not as great as the first, it has a story line that continues to do the film series justice. also, Matt Damon, you are a sexy and bodacious beast
January 24, 2019
Once again, another Bourne movie....but definitely not as good as the first.
Firstly, I was a bit disappointed when I found out that THE BOURNE SUPREMACY does not follow the real story by Robert Ludlum. The director decided to take a new approach, hence a new story arc.
I also thought this movie had less suspense then the first. The first movie gripped me because we have to find out Jason Bourne's identity, and slowly realize that he has had special training in things he should not know. Doug Liman creates his movie in a certain way so that the spectators can piece the puzzle together. It was a little mysterious, I guess. This movie fails on that note, too. He wants to find his wife's killer, even though we all know it was ordered by a high-ranking person in the CIA. I didn't get the same suspenseful sensation as before because I knew who Jason Bourne was working with.
But, to end this review on a positive tone, I want to praise the director's editing. Paul Greengrass is the only person out there who knows how to use quick-cut editing to make his action scenes more brutal, realistic and fast-paced, so I was pleased with that. Matt Damon once again gives 200% in his role, and I thought that Joan Allen was superbe in this movie.
So, although I was a little disappointed, THE BOURNE SUPREMACY is still an above-average action/revenge thriller.
½ December 4, 2018
A thrilling sequels that delivers a great spy story. Just not as good as the first one because of a silly villain and not being as memorable as the first. But a great follow up.
½ July 25, 2018
The Bourne Supremacy delivers the thrills that we all loved from the original but lacks as good of a plot.
-7/10
July 12, 2018
Definitely enjoyed it more than i thought i would (again the books) but i thought it finished really abruptly and with films being heavily influenced by Greengrass since a lot of this now feels like the norm.
½ June 18, 2018
It is hard to create a sequel that is very close in quality to the first film. but this movie accomplishes that.
½ April 16, 2018
Retaining the first film's charisma and charm, while ramping up the intelligence, speed, and intensity, The Bourne Supremacy improves on nearly every aspect of the original, and introduces a far more intimidating side to the character and world alike. With directorial duties shifted from Doug Liman to Paul Greengrass, who through his deft hand at film-making (including utilization of "shaky-cam" with actual tact to convey extreme tenseness and various survival instincts kicking in) incorporates a much darker, more raw and cerebral feel to the mood and atmosphere of the film, injecting it with a new-found stamina that continues the brilliant legacy of the original, while changing the overall tone dramatically. An absolutely brilliant sequel to the original, The Bourne Supremacy yet again doesn't quite reach the high water-mark of it's utterly masterful follow-up, but it comes pretty damn close. 9.2/10




That RT critics consensus is hilarious, though. "A well-maded sequel that delivers the thrills." LMAO WHO PROOFREAD THAT ONE?
April 6, 2018
Die hard fans of "The Bourne Identity" will find this sequel satisfying, but for other movie goers, "The Bourne Supremacy" will leave them robbed of their money.
March 19, 2018
A non stop investment of action and entertainment, that is very fortunate to still have enough of the mystery and intrigue that made "the Identity" so killer awesome.
½ March 3, 2018
Fantastic sequel - still holds up today
½ February 25, 2018
Good, but not as good as the first. Didn't like the ending, since there really didn't seem to be one. Julia Stiles was the best part of the movie, and she didn't even play a big role. I don't know why this movie has been given such high ratings.
½ February 8, 2018
Less plot-centered but more unique than the first movie, this sequel has gripping action, including spectacular car chases, and moments of suspenseful intrigue.
½ December 18, 2017
Puntaje Original:6.5

Mejor que la anterior, con una trama más sólida, muy bien trabajado, con un magnífico Matt Damon que encaja muy bien con su personaje.
December 3, 2017
Well-crafted, lots of action, a few twists, and a good sequel to Identity.
½ October 11, 2017
With Bourne hell bent on finding out and destroying Treadstone for their apparent involvement in attack on Bourne and his girlfriend, this movie is a treat to watch. Intelligent plot, smart moves and breathtaking action scenes would make you feel an adrenaline rush. It's revenge time.. bring it on..
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
August 24, 2017
This Bourne adventure piales in the shadow of its predecessor for two main reasons:

1)The loss of Franka Potente as Marie, a sounding board for Bourne show his soul to, giving us insight into his motivations and trepidations. Without her, he's just another silent assassin.

2) Paul Greengrass is half the action director that Douglas Lima was, employing a supremely disorienting style of handheld cameras, confusing the audience rather than engaging them.

Despite this bad form, the highlight of the film is a high impact car chase through the busy streets of a Russian city.
½ August 19, 2017
It doesn't quite live up to the first film, but Supremacy is still an amazing film. Matt Damon and Paul Greengrass are an awesome filmmaking duo, and the film brings back everything that made Identity great and more.
Page 1 of 1207