Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan Reviews

Page 1 of 2550
May 22, 2019
"Borat" is super crude and profane, but it also is brilliantly satirical, very funny, and well-thought out. Sacha Baron Cohen is one of the boldest comedians and this movie is one of many examples of that. I found myself laughing pretty consistently throughout this movie and loving the social commentary on a variety of topics. This movie is over the top and will definitely be too much for a lot of people, and it doesn't really have much of a story. However, despite all of its ridiculousness, I found it to be so funny, fearless, and very entertaining through every wacky situation the main character found himself in.
May 5, 2019
Borat is a crude, offensive and tasteless piece of black comedy where a Freddie Mercury-looking Cohen offers both gross out humor and biting social commentary about idiocracy and the american culture and society.

Not the best comedy around (especially if you're not into black humor and jokes about feces), but it's surely a must see, for it is a timeless window into the both welcoming and hateful american way.

Very nice!
May 1, 2019
This film is pure comedy genius. That is all you need to know.
March 27, 2019
i make the sexy time with my mother-in-law
March 17, 2019
You simply won't be able to last 3 minutes in this movie without rolling on the floor laughing in this beyond offensive but yet beyond hilarious experience.
½ January 12, 2019
I saw this at the theather a few years ago, with a buddy. We both laughed our asses off from start to finish. And it is revelant to an extent, because I've never went beyond the chuckle at ANY other time in a movie theather.

On a first viewing, it seemed more like the story of a strange fella doing anything he can to provoke people around him. Nowadays, I see Borat more as a criticism of the american culture, and that's where the true brilliance comes from. Most of the film was NOT scripted and Sacha Baron Cohen delivered a great performance under the actual circumstances.
December 28, 2018
Though it has at least some funny sceenes (i give 10% for that), i'm far away from beeing as naive as the movie expects me to be most of the time. Maybe it's easier to find a dumb guy like borat in USA than in Kazakhstan. Greetings from Switzerland.
½ December 3, 2018
This is a hilarious movie and Sasha Baron Cohen is amazing. One of the reasons Borat works is because it doesn't belabor its jokes. It delivers the punch-lines then moves on. The movie is set up as a road trip, but each stop over has its own set of characters and comedic set pieces. The variation keeps things fresh and the relatively short running length (less than 90 minutes) ensures that Borat doesn't overstay its welcome.
November 18, 2018
Horfði með Gulla, Rebba í Búdapest
½ September 20, 2018
Funny, and over analyzed. Definitely shows ironies and problems in america, but there are many movies that do this. Also say goodbye to borat since that character can no longer be played (massive success).

Update 2018: Despite not having a coherent story, this film still makes you laugh, if you enjoy this kind of rough, slapstick, vulgar comedy. Borat is a happy-go-lucky guy, with racist tendencies and heavy cultural differences, whom interacts with an americanized world, to really dig deep into what the american culture is - and ultimately, what defines current human interactions, tendencies, and behaviors.
½ September 7, 2018
Apart from the fight and pictures scenes, this movie is absolutely hilarious and quotable.
July 12, 2018
I think with repeat viewings this film does lose some of its shock humour but you can understand why this film defined a generation. The memorable moments now feel a bit overplayed but the hidden camera still scenes still feel shocking.
July 8, 2018
Watch this hilarious comedy all for the sake of Sacha Baron Cohen. His role as the whimsical and quirky Borat is an unforgettable performance.
June 16, 2018
this movie is straight up BRILLIANT!!! but seriously, looking at all these low audience reviews, how is this possible? are we as a nation seriously that sensitive? its ridiculous that people are so uptight about these things. and that's what made me love this movie even more. sacha is so deeply into his character that it is amazing to watch, and i adore how fearless this movie is as a whole to not be ashamed in any way. america needs more over the top humor like this, one of the best comedies of all time!!!
½ April 17, 2018
I regret not having watched this movie before. Could have done without the nude scene though.
April 13, 2018
Borat was hilarious. It made Americans look stupid in a way that asked the quesiton of patriotism vs blind nationalism. America was so worked up and had so much blood lust due to 9/11 that when this movie came out Cohen was able to exploit peoples fears and show the dangers of excessive hatred. He did so not in a preachy way, but by being the ring leader and leading people down rabbit holes that they would probably avoid had it not been for their prevailing sentiments of anger and hostility. His comedy style is the perfect execution of Hyperbolic humor and mockery. He even gives those that he mocks plausible deniability by being the obvious instigator/ culprit. This film shines a light on the down side of group thinking / herd mentality without getting on a soap box. America had a serious xeonphobia issue and Borat cast a "bogart" for all my harry potter fans out there on the entire situation.
½ February 20, 2018
OMG this is in my top 5 comedies of all time, so so funny!
February 12, 2018
Holy shit, this is the best fucking movie of all time. It isn't for you if you're a pussy, but if you're not easily offended, this will be the best movie you ever see. The movie's just about some dumbass from a foreign country doing dumbass shit, which is always entertaining, and the white people that get surprised by this foreign weirdo shit is funny as fuck, but don't watch it in school because there's a few parts where there are naked dudes so people will think you're gay or some shit.
January 6, 2018
Larry Charles' Borat totes a misleading synopsis that does not reveal the film's true colors. When Borat begins, and it is too late to turn back, the film delivers one of the most flamboyantly offensive comedies I have ever witnessed. That being said, if you are willing to let your morals take the back seat, the film is quite the romp.
December 16, 2017
One of the weirdest and funniest movies I've ever seen. This was one of the first R rated movies I ever watched and something about it just made me love it! It's non-stop jokes and Sacha Baron Cohen's very strange character make this movie worth a watch.
Page 1 of 2550