Bodied - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bodied Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 14, 2019
A lot of forced tricks. The identetarian satire bits rang kind of cheap and hollow (as irl I guess), identetarian grievance bits often felt much the same way, though in a largely unintentional way. What I'm thankful for is that it made me confront the apparent paradox of my disliking rap battle culture, but enjoying the many comedy central roasts for example. Don't remember giving this much thought before.
Cause it can't just be my dislike of insults/confrontation. Identitarians are surely going to immediately scream racism and have at it, but my best guess comes down to two things. (1) A personal appreciation for well-crafted dark jokes long before poetry. White poetry, black poetry - seldom my thing either way. And (2) that yes, I find comedy culture to be more open. Nowhere near as stuck in those dumb fucking thug stereotypes I used to love so much as a teen. You can try to dance around this reality by caricarising the people who point it out all you want, but that doesn't make it any less toxic. Which brings me to the other snippets I appreciated here. Where on top of making weak excuses for it, the movie showed examples of those old boundaries being pushed. Because, as the film perhaps hints at, but doesn't make clear enough - the answer to this problem is the opposite of censorship.
Also, can Worthy look any more like Domhnall Gleeson? Jesus Christ!
½ February 26, 2019
loved the cameos, thought the battles were great. Sick of the whole nerdy white kid story and think there was too much unnecessary social commentary. its not like there is a whole society out there being offended by battle rap. but it was fun
February 25, 2019
The greatest Rap movie in a long time, Damn
½ February 10, 2019
This movie clearly did its research you clearly do not need to look up and see if it is accurate. If your a little tired of sjw culture and wish they ever interacted with rap culture this might be the movie for you.
February 7, 2019
best movie ever in this genre
February 4, 2019
Best rap battle movie in 2018
January 23, 2019
Movie of the year!!!
January 23, 2019
It's more than just rhymes. So this is about a very white college kid named Adam (Calum Worthy). He is doing his college thesis on battle rap, and while doing some research, he gets challenged in the parking lot. Turns out that he can turn a phrase on a dime, and he finds himself getting pulled into this lifestyle, for better or worse. Now this has been on my radar for over a full year now. I heard my critic friends talking extremely highly about it... but I had zero means of actually watching it. I couldn't even rent it if I wanted to. Well, out of all the services out there, YouTube actually ended up landing the rights for it. I really wasn't ready to add another paid subscription to my monthly bills... so I signed up for a free trial to their premium services and promptly cancelled it once the end credits rolled. Not surprisingly, this was produced by Eminem; a young man who looks like he could be in the Gleeson family, and he just so happens to battle rap, who else do you think would be backing this? This is a very tight package of a film, and if you have any sort of love for rap and/or hip-hop, this will have a whole additional layer for you. The commentary here is well thought out and pointed, and even though I will say that I think that Blindspotting did it better, this covers similar ground and the two movies combined would make for one of the best double features you could possibly put together. Another element I feel really works is in this is the editing; there's so much extra that didn't have to be there, like the hand trace visuals that follow character movement, or the fact that it shows win-loss ratios at the bottom of the screen like it is a boxing movie. It gives it that extra bit of pizzazz, and when you break it down, what these rappers are doing in this isn't all that different than a heavyweight fight. They are all going blow for blow, and the crowd recognizes when they have just witnessed a knockout. Bodied plays on stereotypes, but I would say in the best way possible. The story explores an entire subculture, and one of the most interesting elements I found about it was how respect works in these warehouses. Once that line is crossed, you can identify it almost immediately, and it makes the tension ratchet up to the next level when it happens because you know it can get violent when it is done against the wrong performer. The rhymes are clever, and it ranges from laugh out loud funny to "he/she just said WHAT". This is a really good little film, and it is worth doing a free month trial on YouTube Premium to watch it.
January 5, 2019
Great movie with nice twist
½ December 30, 2018
I could do without the white savior ending, which was sort of inevitable given he's the film's protagonist and must undergo this journey; otherwise, Bodied is *masterful*, and I will be watching it again.
December 23, 2018
I watch both battle raps and movies. This movie got bars but most of the time cringy. Straight story and the lead actor is annoying and looks like he's been copying some other dudes acting. Multiple loose ends. It's corny, no need to hide it in a metaphor.
December 19, 2018
Lighthearted fare with a provocative edge.
December 8, 2018
BEST FREESTYLE BATTLE RAP MOVIE SINCE 8 MILE
EVERONE SHOUDL SEE IT
December 7, 2018
Freaking amazing. Just watched it for free on youtube but damn I couldn't stop watching. Great movie.
December 5, 2018
Movie was amazing blew my mind and expectations would recommend it to anybody who enjoyed 8 mile or anybody who likes Eminem wow movie was so damn good!!!
½ December 4, 2018
The vast majority of the time, Joseph Kahn is directing expensive commercials and iconic rated-G pop music videos. That's why I like to imagine his (very few) films as those rare dark and cathartic moments in which--apart from his incendiary twitter account--the Korean-American unleashes all his controversial, corrosive and funny opinions about culture and entertainment.

"Bodied" is the most unlikely movie in this era in which people are reconfiguring themselves. We still struggle between perpetuating micro-aggressions or being part of a new, "woke" generation. Or, seen from the other more cynical and presentist side, between being funny as fuck or being "PC" androids that humorless over-analyze everything. These are very confusing times for those who value dark irreverent humor but also want to be a better person.

And "Bodied" deals with race and gender on a constant basis.

"Bodied" starts by being a ruthless mockery directed at every flank. It exposes academic patronization, privilege, cultural appropriation, useless white guilt, street cred poses, and even inner racism. The number of cultural references even exceeds the already frantic "Detention" (his wonderful previous Tumblr-movie). And it does so by unleashing laughter and wielding absolute impunity.

But even Kahn knows that the codes aren't changing by a mere caprice. Towards the end, he strategically muddies "Bodied" in an ambiguous puddle where there is no clear bearer of virtue. Well-argued opinions come and go. There is no clear answer. As one of the bars of one of the rap battles says: "you can be whatever you want to be if you're smart enough to argue it."

"Bodied" will create loyal cult followers and strong detractors with some really good points. Sometimes, like me, a little bit of both.

That's what great works of art and entertainment should do. I see more merit in that than in the pieces that only speaks to the converted.
November 30, 2018
Its really good but it could use some improvements
November 29, 2018
One of the greatest movies of 2018.
November 28, 2018
Corny appropriation of the battle culture but nice to see some real battle rappers in the movie.
November 28, 2018
I must watch that? using boxxy software app with activated built-in VPN
Page 1 of 2