Blind Mountain - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Blind Mountain Reviews

Page 1 of 6
July 6, 2015
A grim portrayal of life in China.
½ April 10, 2015
A grim story about a young woman being kidnapped and forced into marrige.
Very realistic and sad stuff that are acted out by non-actors to make it super realistic.

Semi-tense at all times and the nerve is gutwrenching and raw. Some interesting turns as well, even if they are quite easy to figure. It looks all right without having the greatest imagery or camera work. It feels genuine if anyting.

A dark flick that's provoking and shocking. Especially since things like this actually happen.

7.5 out of 10 eggs.
½ September 6, 2014
Chinese director Li Yang has courage to expose social problems in modern-day China. I was impressed by his first feature (Blind Shaft), and this movie is a strong follow-up. While the theme may not sound particularly appealing to Western audiences, make no mistake - this is an excellent movie, with gritty realism, convincing performances (despite featuring mostly non-actors) and a tense plot that keeps you on the edge of your seat. It leaves a haunting impression for days to come.
May 9, 2013
This film was crazy! Heartbreaking to think that this happens in real life.... real tragedy :-(
½ May 2, 2013
Such a sad but true movie.... Difficult for me to finish watching it ... :(
ElCochran90
Super Reviewer
December 31, 2012
Bravo, China! Once again, its film industry condemns injustices with a wide open mouth, abruptly sending the executors of their own human laws to hell. It's the topic the one that matters much more than the technical aspects (even visually, though the photography is great). Yang Li: one more name to be added to the list of audacious directors.

97/100
½ June 26, 2012
The film was a bit draggy in pace but the film was very observant and shocking! In Northwest China, there have been cases of human trafficking in farming villages and this movie did a great job of impersonating the life of one of those victims! I liked this film even though it was a bit dark in nature!
April 19, 2012
I dont care to watch.
September 23, 2011
A harrowing and grim exploration of the rural countryside. A young woman (Lu Huang) thinks she is going to pay off some family debts by getting a job selling rare herbs from the countryside. She is drugged, and wakes up to be informed she has been purchased as a wife.

Then begins the thrilling escape attempts, as she drifts deeper into a life of unfairness and abuse. The movie is infuriating, because of how passive and ignorant the villagers are. They embrace the olden ways, and turn a blind eye to these activities. Multiple characters tell her to just accept it, to give up hope. It's down right creepy how uncaring they are.

As for the strong characters development, it's really good. A fine performance from Lu Huang, as she copes in her terrible situation. The story is rooted in realism, no ex-CIA agent father is coming. (Taken)

It ends abruptly, but a through provoking and sometimes thrilling contemporary thriller from China.
½ November 24, 2010
Another depressing and brutally honset Chinese movie.
October 4, 2010
This is a film I had never heard of and selected ranomly. It's sometimes great to watch a movie with absolutely no preconceptions whatsoever. The result was a rewarding and frustrating experience which leaves you cold and angry after viewing it as there are so many times when the perpetually resilient central characters repeated escape attempts are thwarted on the last minute. The film starts so quickly and the pace never slows throughout and there is no music used, just simple imagery to get the story and message across, that there are corrupt, illegal businesses in China that can just make people disappear and there is nothing that can be done about it!
½ January 21, 2010
Obehaglig men väldigt ärlig och ohyggligt bra
November 5, 2009
Here's the thing about this movie. It's well done from the stand point of it has symbolism and a strong willed central character. I suspect that's why it has gotten such great reviews. I personally thought there were parts that were interesting, but overall there was a good 20 minutes that I felt was unnecessary and I also did not agree with where the movie ended. If you're loving the movies that I recommend, that you might want to stay away from this one.
½ October 29, 2009
Harrowing? Yes. Frustrating? Yes. Cathartic while still feeling the inevitable doom? Yes. Infuriating that this goes on in the world? Infuriating that the Chinese government practices censorship over the arts? Yes. Reminiscent of Funny Games in some respects. Recommended.
September 13, 2009
A very scary nightmare for female... ; _ ;
No dignity, no respect, unreasonable, unfair. Insanely disturbing 'cos this imprisonment is not about one or two psycho's individual actions, but a wide-spread phenomenon known and assisted by the whole village, which even the police can't do no-nothing about it. You can imagine the helplessness the captive felt.
But the pace of the film is draggy and the storyline is too linear, like a one-sided story... The ending is a bit abrupt too..
-Su-
June 21, 2009
Arketa kalh tainia (an exaireseis thn apaisia ithopoiia) gia to emporio gynaikon i mallon sizigon pou pithanotata den einaik mono provlima sthn Kina. Tainia pou se "enoxlei" kai se provlimatizei omos den se kathilonei.
June 16, 2009
More predictable than "Mangshan" but still in an interesting movie.
jimbotender
Super Reviewer
May 9, 2009
Second part of an unofficial trilogy by Yang Li,the shadowy prelude is moving into a lavishing tale of filthy spiritual tone!Should I repeat that?Better watch this exploding torture yourselves,the torment of unfair treatment,aye,where the mountains fear to roar..
½ April 29, 2009
I've written this alot lately, but didn't like the ending at all. This movie is a good cultural movie about a resounding problem in China. The story is very intriguing, but the acting is horrible in the movie. And again I have to go back to the ending...in some movies it just doesn't work to close the movie on what is essentially a cliffhanger. What happens next?
March 29, 2009
Blind Mountain told a story and presented an issue that is still an on going in some small country sides in China. The complex issues and hard to resolved solution lie underneath the surface of the story, people who watch this film have to dig deep to appreciate the value of this film,
Page 1 of 6