Blackbeard - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Blackbeard Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ May 4, 2017
170504: I understand this film does not accurately reflect history but perhaps we should just enjoy it as the entertainment it was designed to be? As TV movies go, Blackbeard is not too bad. Please note, if you considering younger viewers, this is a violent film and William Teach (MacFadyen) rules the Queen Anne's Revenge with bloodstained hands. I obtained this DVD at a garage sale and will now pass it on in the same manner. I do not regret having spent the time but Blackbeard offers no compelling reason to ever come back again.
½ May 9, 2016
A very average film that was easy to watch but a bit stupid and poor acting at times. Not one to watch again.
May 1, 2016
It is hard for me to review this. I have written about pirates and Blackbeard in particular. I have always thought his story would make a great picture. I still do. I found the story to be half-baked and contrived. There were hints that they may have known the real history of Blackbeard, but it did not make it into the film. So, forget the history. It fails completely. For example: Blackbeard was killed in North Carolina. He had held the town of Charleston hostage. Maynard was hired by Governor Eden was ther corrupt governor of North Carolina. Lt. Maynard was hired by Charles Spotswood, the governor of Virginia to hunt Blackbeard. Their final battle in North CArolina was fantastic! So forget history. How is it as a pirate story? Well, weak. Blackbeard doesn't seem to be that overawing. This might be ok for very young viewers, but then there is blood so that might be too much. Please give this film a wide berth.
½ March 16, 2013
While I wouldn't call Blackbeard a terrific and successful television movie, I would call it an admirable effort. The thing that really makes this film work is Angus Macfadyen, who I think does a pretty good job with the character. The film is a bloated three hour epic with a television budget, but I think they did the best that they could with what they had. The film also stars Stacy Keach, Richard Chamberlain and the lovely Jessica Chastain, prior to her success with The Tree of Life and Zero Dark Thirty. The film does feel a bit sanitized and doesn't find a clear focus, but there's plenty of hard work put into it. It's not the most interesting film you're ever likely to see either, so if you don't like swashbuckling movies then it probably won't be your cup of tea anyways. It's not a poor effort, just not great when it comes to the final product.
July 3, 2012
Blackbeard - amazing.
October 30, 2011
I thought this was pretty good for a Hallmark production, and the length was awesome. The pirates could have been a bit more piratey, but it was still fun.
September 1, 2011
Better than the last Pirates of the Carribean. TV movie. Deece. And I am pretty sure Bob Stoops is the 2nd British luitenant. Lol
August 25, 2011
Not quite as bad as I had expected / feared. True the acting isn't always the best (especially the woman is annoying), the British Soldiers seem to lose simple shootouts against any Pirates and Blackbeard himself is a fat little weirdo with a thick Scottish accent that makes him seem rather ridiculous rather than intimidating but in the end it's a great clichà (C) Pirate epic with lots of ships, swordfights, flintlock pistols and bad English grammar.
Quite enjoyable.
July 25, 2011
The easiest way to describe this movie is - a two part - cheesy, but fun pirate movie.
½ February 17, 2011
Uninteresting and WAAAAY too fucking long.
November 14, 2010
Blackbeard is a decent looking film considering it's made-fot-tv roots but that's about the only good thing going for it. Blackbeard is made out to be an evil pirate of the worst kind but you don't really see any evil until the the later part of the film. But that aside, nothing really happens in the film. There are a couple good ship to ship battles but outside of that, it's just people wanting to find a treasure but not really having a hard time doing it. The only "trap" is a bamboo snare and the "witty" banter the film tries for, isn't witty and almost doesn't count as banter though it is close to gibberish.
If you're looking for a straight up pirate film similar to the old films of the 50s, Blackbeard might be your thing, just don't expect too much from the actual story.
September 12, 2010
Disturbingly inaccurate yet fairly entertaining swashbuckler. Cheesy and cliché-ridden, with some downright stupid scenes and little respect for the historical events and names it derives from, but not as unwatchable as many seem to think. A fair tv flick for pirate enthusiasts such as meself.
½ April 2, 2010
A good Pirate Adventure about the legendary Pirate Captain Blackbeard with good Fighting Scenes
½ November 22, 2009
Jadå ! Piratar på 1700-talet. Det er alltid morro :-)
October 20, 2009
Amazing movie. Not very accurate though.
½ March 25, 2009
Not As Bad As I Was Expecting. Decent Enough For TV. Macfadyen Was Pretty Good As Blackbeard
½ January 26, 2009
You can't give a 0 star rating, but this film deserves it. It is GARBAGE!!!! It has nothing to do with the actual story, and it rediculously cheezy. This is as accurate as Disney's Pocahantus. The acting is terrible too. I didn't even think it was entertaining. If you find a copy, burn it with fire and send it back to the depths from which it came!
½ January 24, 2009
película de esas televisivas que proveen un rato de mente en blanco
½ January 11, 2009
Un TVfilm de Pirates (par le realisateur des The Land that Time Forgot ... waho !). Bah le tout se laisse franchement regarder et, meme s'il presente quelques longueurs (pour un metrage de 2h50, ça reste quand meme assez agreable a regarder) et un scenario bien trop manicheen (production TV oblige), Blackbearb reste un petit film d'aventure bien sympa, assez bien rythme et bien interprete (Barbe Noire en tete !) devant lequel j'ai passe un bon moment.

C'est le principal !
October 13, 2008
The first half was almost decent, though the romance was very annoying. But by the second half, anything that had been remotely good had been disgarded, and instead a terrible script and terrible directing was all that was left. The acting left much to be desired as well.
Page 1 of 3